advertisement
Browse Health
Dr. Joseph Haas, MD
Addiction Medicine Specialist, Adolescent Specialist, Psychiatrist, Pediatric / Adolescent Psychiatrist
22 years of experience
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  •  
Total Ratings

74

Total Reviews

40

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 26 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 26 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
Write a Review
Aug 28th, 2016

His staff manager Nicole is absolutely amazing and such a sweetheart. There is a bit of a wait, at least half-an-hour, to see Dr. Haas, but he is a good doctor and is rather helpful.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Good Doctor show details Good Doctor
by Kimberly on Aug 12th, 2016

I was able to get an appointment very quickly, Dr, Haas was very nice and was able to come up with a treatment plan quickly. I have only had two visits with him so far and am pleased already. His assistant Nicole is extremely nice and helpful. I would recommend him. :)

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Jul 25th, 2016

Really really goes out of his way to help me. Goes above and beyond. He has changed my life in a such a positive way. Have been a long term patient with him for maintainance care.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Not a real Dr. show details Not a real Dr.
by Randy B. on Apr 26th, 2016

We use this fool for medication only. My daughter sees another therapist for real help.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Jan 3rd, 2016

All this doctor cares about is inflating\his rate to the insurance company, and taking your montages why he follows up with you. So he can get your money.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
GRAND PARENT show details GRAND PARENT
by J MYERS on Dec 3rd, 2015

Phoned on a Friday after hours, left detailed message regarding 4 YOA grandchild having a melt down over not being allowed to watch cartoons, child was screeming, crying for 20 minutes, put to bed, continued to scream and cry; left phone number and name for practice to phone me on Monday..... here is it now Thursday, 4 working business days later, NO PHONE CALL, NO CONTACT FROM PRACTICE, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, JUST IGNORED MY PLIGHT AND BLEW ME OFF; poor representation of the secretary's responsbility and very poor that the Dr does not do any follow up or thru on phone messages. AVOID THIS DR AND LOCATE SOMEONE ELSE THAT HAS SOME MANNERS AND UNDERSTANDING.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Unprofessional and rude show details Unprofessional and rude
Jul 30th, 2015

Haas is very unprofessional. He rushes through an appointment and I walk out with unanswered questions. He changed my meds from a previous doctor although I was feeling well. Now I'm not doing very well with depression but he insists its my thyroid. My thyroid levels are normal. I have no respect for him and I won't be going back.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
by Josh on Jul 22nd, 2015

I had a good experience with Dr. Haas. He was the only doctor in the area to get me in as a new patient within a couple days. Every other Dr. had like a 2 month wait which doesn't really help with mental health issues. He changed the meds I was on from a previous Dr. and I feel much better.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Great doctor show details Great doctor
Jun 30th, 2015

I enjoy Dr. Haas' ability to listen and provide great counseling, though it is not what one wants to hear at times. I recommend this great doctor!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Jun 21st, 2015

This guy is a quack. Telling me not argue with the neuroscience on a specific subject. Unfortunately, for him, I have found the complete opposite of what he's telling me and I think I know how I feel better than he does.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Jun 16th, 2015

very into himself, no real concern for one's issues

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
thank you show details thank you
Jun 10th, 2015

This Dr helped me a lot. changed my meds and I feel better.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Great Experience and Doctor show details Great Experience and Doctor
by John on Jun 10th, 2015

I have been seeing Dr Haas for quite sometime now and have always had an excellent experience, he seems to care about what I have to say, and I have to say I LOVE his office manager Nikki, she is so nice!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
May 31st, 2015

All I can say is this guy is a jerk and did not help me at all!!!! I ended up in the hospital. He thinks he knows everything and obviously he did not know what was going on with me. I tried to tell him. He is a loser and should never ever be practicing medicine.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Embarrassment to the Medical Zprofession show details Embarrassment to the Medical Zprofession
by Angelo Mysterioso on May 8th, 2015

This doctor did not make eye contact once. He is not a doctor who will make you feel well taken care of! His bedside manor is not good and took away medications and had to go to the hospital after a week of his therapy for heart problems. He lacks patience, he is rude, does not listen to what you have to say without a sarcastic remark! I would stay away from this doctor if you have anxiety and depressive issues! He made me feel worse when I left the office! Do NOT go to this doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
psychic, not a psychiatrist. show details psychic, not a psychiatrist.
May 6th, 2015

I don't get to say much - he tells ME all about how I feel and what I am thinking. Maybe he should be a psychic, not a psychiatrist.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Apr 6th, 2015

Overall a great doctor he did have trouble looking in my eues

  •  
Sexually abusive dr! Warning! show details Sexually abusive dr! Warning!
Dec 26th, 2014

This doctor saw me for almost two years I opened up to him about everything my marriage my sex life I was even pregnant during a period of the time I was being seen by this pseudo doctor... Then he decides to proposition me and when I decline drops me as a patient. Unless you want the rug pulled out from underneath you the only thing guaranteed by seeing this Man is a series of unfortunate events. Classic case of a sick man trying to take advantage of "sick"/vulnerable people. He's on borrowed time.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
X Patient show details X Patient
by Julia Miller on Dec 8th, 2014

All the reviews I have read about this Dr. are TRUE .... In less than a month he has taken $140 from me and given me less than 50 of the suboxone over a period of 3 - 1/2 weeks.... I came from MI. with the previous Dr. bottle that says 4x a day..... He cuts me to 1/2 - 2 x a day.... Really? It took me months to get to a comfortable place with the suboxone and that's what I'd expected to continue with...... He's wanting nothing more than to get his patients in the office as much as possible to charge office fees while doing as little as possible to help them....RUN FAST OR LOSE YOUR CASH !!!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Unethical doctor show details Unethical doctor
by ANONYMOUS on Oct 23rd, 2014

Although he helped me initially, when my insurance changed, this doctor refused to comply with the changes. He wanted to keep my insurance debit card on file...which is as good as cash... and charge me hundreds of dollars over and above what I was supposed to pay him, per my policy. He thought he could pull one over on me, thinking I must be a real idiot. And my visits lasted for ten, maybe fifteen minutes at most. After this episode, I reviewed past billing records before my insurance changed, and noticed that he billed hundreds of dollars to the insurance company for ten minute visits. Do not go to this person, who clearly takes advantage of insurance companies and patients. There are more honorable doctors out there.

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Do not recommend as psychiatrist show details Do not recommend as psychiatrist
Apr 29th, 2014

By way of background, I've been dealing with depression and anxiety for almost 20 years, and it's very manageable with medication. I went to this doctor when I moved to the area, as I needed a new psychiatrist. Although I was able to get an appointment quickly, the overall experience was bad. Dr. Haas interrupted me constantly to finish my sentences when I was describing my symptoms and medical history and most of the time he was wrong. He was very arrogant and condescending in his demeanor. When I explained that I have different reactions to a specific brand name medication versus its generic, he told me that was "medically impossible." When I informed him about the issues that have been investigated over the last 7 years with the differences between brand name v. generic psychiatric medications (see the 2007 issues with Wellbutrin, for example), he demanded that I show him the studies and became very rude and sarcastic. Then, although he gave me a brand name prescription, he ignored the pharmacy's three separate attempts to reach him for additional authorization (which resulted in me not having any medication whatsoever).

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Not good at all show details Not good at all
Apr 10th, 2014

This Dr. If you want to call him that was so unprofessional. I took a drug test and he said I tested postive for weed. Off a droplet of what I left in the cup? It's because I told his secretary. This guy has no clue what he is doing. I left that office today on tears!! My Dr is away for a few months. I had to make an appt. this with this clown. He was close by. My MISTAKE!!! He talked down to me...basically called me a drug addict. I am on Suboxone and I am currently tapering down. I have major back isssues that he dismissed. I am also perscibed Klonopins which any Dr knows that I can have withdrawal systems!! Which he didn't prescribe me?? Are you joking? He has no idea what I have been through. I felt worthless when I left. I was crying when Ieft. Really this so called Dr. is POS I am going to call the board and report him!!I Will not be going back. Do NOT go to this DR!!

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
HOW CAN THIS MAN KEEP HIS LICSENSE TO PRACTICE????????? show details HOW CAN THIS MAN KEEP HIS LICSENSE TO PRACTICE?????????
by Michael T on Apr 4th, 2014

After reading these reviews I don't think I need to write another bad experience. How can the State continue to let him practice? Where do you report DR's that ABUSE the system? and take advantage of patients? This man is no pyschiarist he is in it only for the $$$$ and is actually a negative influence on his patients. PLEASE SOMEONE show these reviews to the State licensing board

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
GREAT DOCTOR! show details GREAT DOCTOR!
by David C on Feb 2nd, 2014

Feb 2, 2014 Permit me to make a short evaluation of this Doctor. He is absolutely the only doctor that has gone above and beyond the call of duty with me, I have had three other doctors in the past 18 years. There is just no comparison.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Very rude doctor show details Very rude doctor
by Steve S on Dec 3rd, 2013

After a 45 min wait , got to see this doctor for 10 minutes. Talked to me for 15 minutes and gave me a prescription without a word. Told me to " quit whining"

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Jul 24th, 2013

DO NOT GO TO THIS DR he is only about money and not ur well being

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Disappointed show details Disappointed
by Anne Knapp on May 12th, 2013

I had never been overweight in my whole life. This doctor gave me some pills (risperdone). Within 6 months I had gained 50 pounds. This caused joint problems from being overweight. I do not recommend this doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Don't ever see this "shrink" if you want to get better! show details Don't ever see this "shrink" if you want to get better!
by JG on May 8th, 2013

What a travesty. After waiting 45 minutes, Dr. Haas quickly rushed my first visit with my daughter who had never seen a shrink before. She called me crying afterwards......he didn't listen to her, bullied her, and even said, "why are you here today because this isn't a therapy session and I am not here to council you. (please refer to his website, pinellaspsych.com where he state that he does therapy! My daughter was in tears. I had even called the office ahead of time to let them know she was having a tough day. So, if a young adult can quickly refer to Haas as being, a bully, not listening and narcassitic, then PLEASE don't make your kids mental health worse by seeing Haas.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Feb 23rd, 2013

Please consider another provider for your mental health care. Initially Dr. Haas seemed attentive, but after a few sessions (that were intended to deal with my anxiety), it became quite evident he was everywhere but in session with me. At times, it was so obvious that he had heard nothing I had said, that I was embarrassed for him. It seemed his personal life and experiences were at the forefront of therapy. I have had anxiety, depression, and family dynamics problems for years, yet the discussions always came back to be about Dr. Haas. He also grew quite pompous. I expressed that I was upset about a recent weight gain, and Dr. Haas immediately prescribed Phentermine (amphetamine like med), and not exercise. This was not a drug for someone with anxiety. I am leery to seek any mental health care or start over again with a new provider after my experiences with Dr. Hass.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Stay away! show details Stay away!
Sep 14th, 2012

I never do any ratings. But after reading the experiences of others, I have to echo the same feelings. Dr was more concerned w/ stock market and getting my out than actually helping. Almost seemed like my appt was a distraction to him. Never really felt like he cared or was interested in helping. I eventually decided it was just a waste of my time...wish I would have learned than earlier! Stay away!

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Lacks the capacity to listen show details Lacks the capacity to listen
Aug 23rd, 2012

You really should not be in Psychiatry if you lack the capacity to listen. Before I was able to finish answering a question, he would ask another question. Then comes to a conclusion of what I need without knowing the full story. I ripped up the prescription he gave me before I even left the building because he decided to prescribe me something I tried telling him would not work for me. Trust me, you want to find someone else!

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Arrogant show details Arrogant
Jun 18th, 2012

Arrogant, uncaring, greedy slineball.

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
All about the money show details All about the money
Jun 6th, 2012

To see him related to some mild depression and anxiety issues..Not really seeking medications...spent 20 minutes with me, wrote a script for Prozac for 30 days. I metioned my job causes me stress..he suggested I find a new one..I am 65 years old and ready to retire in January...Supposed to see him in 30 days...Has my credit card number...scary. At least 6 signs hanging in office about payment/money. I have insurance. This guy is a creep at best and dangerous at worst.

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
VERY GREEDY AND UNETHICAL DOCTOR!!! show details VERY GREEDY AND UNETHICAL DOCTOR!!!
Mar 5th, 2012

THIS DOCTOR IS THE ULTIMATE IN GREED AND ZERO ETHICS.I WENT TO HIM FOR SUBOXONE DETOX IN A VERY BAD WAY. OFFERED TP PAY HIS DETOX FEE. HE SAID NO< THE HOLE TREATMENT IS A "PACKAGE" over $2000. TOLD HIM I DON"T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY. VERY RUDE OFFICE MGR ASKED ME TO LEAVE

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Absolutely the worst psychiatrist I've seen!!! show details Absolutely the worst psychiatrist I've seen!!!
Mar 2nd, 2012

I went to this Doctor for an Oxycodone problem. Waited close to an hour. Finally his Office Manager demanded an ungodly amount of money for a package deal???? Payed her over $1000. Saw Dr Haas for 10 mins, told me he couldnt help me and pretty much showed me the door. Kept the money!!What a ripoff!!

Mark as Helpful  | 8 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

You obviously have us confused with another Doctor, because we have NEVER required a patient to pay for a "package deal" Those are not our fees, and we do not have package deals. I am sorry that you are upset, but making false claims such as these are sad. I do hope that you have been able to get the treatment that you need and are doing well.

Feb 18th, 2012

this man is assuming and reckless i would rate him as a danger to anyone following his advice.LOVE your children give your lives to them no job, vacation or car is worth more than the time you spend with your child.They need your time not to be calmed and put in a corner.no matter what you do in life there is nothing you can do to surpass raising your child.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Addicts STAY AWAY! show details Addicts STAY AWAY!
Nov 11th, 2011

I saw this dr for a long time, I wasted A TON of $ on him, I was addicted to opiates and sought his practice out for subutex, He is clueless when it comes to addicts. I was drinking a fifth of grain alcohol a day and every time I saw him he didnt even notice. He bills my insurance for full psychiatric sessions, yet only spends enough time to write my script. My partner said I just switched one drug dealer to another. My partner also said I paid for his car. I have seen many addiction specialists in my life and he is the worst! I just wish I hadnt wasted thousands of dollars on his so called treatment. Subutex...STAY AWAY from it and Dr. Haas!!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Abrupt session show details Abrupt session
Dec 27th, 2010

during session, a personal business issue of his immediate concern came up. Not really, it affected me toit could have waited but ended my meeting right then and there. I have yet to reschedule.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Uncaring doctor show details Uncaring doctor
by nonamegiven on May 13th, 2010

He charges a fortune even to the unemployed and uninsured. He made suggestive comments to me, despite he is married with children. Talk about lack of ethics!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Sep 21st, 2009

dr.haas was able to see me as a new patient the very next day when i told him it was urgent..he did a very thorough evaluation and i felt very comfortable with him. very nice relaxed office setting.. i left feeling very hopeful...definitely would recommennd him to friend or family