Dr. Joseph Hooper MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.9
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.1)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Wait Time 21.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 15th, 2015
Terrible everytime smells like BO
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
acts like a penishead i gave him 5 stars for dickery
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2015
Very good doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Having just moved here a few months ago, I did not have a PCP. Dr. Hooper had the least 'new patient wait time' so I made an appt. with him. I was a little skeptical after reading reviews about him but personally, I like him a lot. He spent a lot of time just talking to me, complimenting me on my honesty about my health history. He is very dry and not very warm and fuzzy but hey, I got blankets for that! He is not a hand holder and I like that about him. He was quick but thorough. He gave me all the time I needed to ask him questions and I look forward to seeing him again. I'm so glad I found him and I will recommend him to anyone who asks about a PCP. Also, his nurse, Lace, is awesome! Like him, she had all the time in the world for my questions and she is very gentle (I won't tell anyone how I got the bruise, Lace!). I hope Dr. Hooper gives her a BIG Christmas bonus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Rude doctor.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I waited in his room for 30 minutes before he walked in. He was rude. He literally glanced at me and gave me a diagnosis, muttering it out of the corner of his mouth. When I asked him to repeat it and explain he gave attitude. He prescribed antibiotics but when i asked for different solutions he told me he wasn't going to "Waste his time" since I had no insurance at the time (I have it now. I was recently divorced and was in the process of getting covered). I will NEVER see him again. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 25th, 2014
New Patient Appointment
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I remember 2 years ago when I went and saw him for my appendix and he was the most sweet genuine caring guy until yesterday when I took my boyfriend to see him and he had the worst attitude ever. I thought very highly of him and referred many people to see him and now I think otherwise. He came in the room with an attitude and sat down threw his hands up with a sigh and said what can I do for you. He talked very rude to my boyfriend whom was the patient and before leaving he told us that he would not loose any sleep over him!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 27th, 2012
Patient Care
Wait time
15 minutes
As someone who has seen Dr. Hooper on numerous occasions, I feel that he has a dry personality that contributes to his poor bedside manner. Depending on the appointment time, he does rush patients. He is quick, and I feel that he is thorough. I would suggest seeing a couple of different providers at the group before deciding on one. The support staff there is friendly and helpful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 9th, 2011
AVOID
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
-As someone who has been in the healthcare field for years, I have worked with a fair share of doctors. As a patient, hands down I think Dr. Hooper is one of the least caring and less knowledgeable physicians I have been around. Well, maybe it's because my appointment was on a Friday afternoon. Wait, last I checked the quality of the care you receive should not depend on what time of the day it is. If you want higher quality care (and your money's worth) please don't waste your time with Dr. Joseph Hooper.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2011
VHVery Pleasede Listened To Me.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hooper asked questions and listened to my complaint. He viewed and made recommendations so fare as the meds that were previously given to me by a prior doctor. He prescribed meds for me, and encouraged me to let him know of any complications should any surface. He showed compassion. In essence, I find no problem with Dr. Hooper and am most thankful that I have him as a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst Doc that I have ever been to. Misdiagnosed my herniated disc as hip bursitis. Gave me a strong NSAID and didn't perscribe stomach meds (which is standard) so now I have muliple health issues and sent me to a specialist who is semiretired because of how poor he does. This guy should not be practicing medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2010
a WASTE of time and money!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His bedside manner is HORRIBLE! I went in with pnuemonia and a stomach virus. After he looked over my chart briefly he said "Oh you have a stomach virus too..Great." and then proceeded to cover his mouth the rest of my visit. He does not look at you when he talks to you and acts like he doesn't want to touch or come near you and just trys to rush you out the door. Any time you try to discuss something with him he cuts you off. You leave his office feeling worse because not only are you sick but now you've just wasted money and time on him and received no help. His office staff and nurse were great! He could definatly use a good lesson from them on how to care for a patient. I will never go back to him again and I suggest that if you are sick not to waste your time either!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2010
Highly Recommend
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although the receptionist was a bit rude, Dr. Hooper made up for it with his kind bedside manner and knowledgeability.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2009
Horrible bedside manner
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My usual GP was unable to see me for a last-minute appointment, but another physician in the group, Dr. Hooper, was available. Warning: if you have any anxiety surrounding doctor visits, stay FAR away from this man. His bedside manner was cold and he was very unhelpful and not receptive to my questions or concerns. When I left the office, I felt that he hadn't heard a word I had said. His main concern was getting me in and out of the office as quickly as possible. In order to get information regarding my condition and its treatment, I had to ask many questions in order to coax information out of him-- information that I felt should have been offered as the absolute minimum requirement of his job. Luckily, I had done a fair amount of research on my condition before my appointment, so I knew which questions to ask. I worry that the next person may not be so lucky. Please choose your doctors responsibly, and trust your instincts. If someone makes you feel like you are putting them out for asking them to do their job, don't accept this. I have seen 2 other physicians at this group, and they have been fantastic and wonderful to work with. The office staff is always polite and helpful. Overall, it is a great place, however Dr. Hooper is definitely the weakest link.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Hooper, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Augusta, GA.

Doctor

Dr. Phillip Kennedy

21 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Priya Deshpande

26 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Jay Tomeo

31 years experience

5.0 of 5