Dr. Joseph Housel MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 49 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (-0.1)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    2%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 13.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2016
Trucker
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff outstanding, Dr.Houssel personally called me at home after surgery to see how I was doing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Housel is excellent. He cares, and does not give up. The condition that I have, i have had for 20 PLUS YEARS, until now. no relief. Dr. Housel tried many different things over the past several years, until he found Something that really worked. He keeps up on every thing that comes out in this field. Watches his patients closely, I feel like I have my life back. His staff is top notch. and I can't say enough good things about this practice, his staff, and also Elizabeth Johnson his very capable PA.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2016
The best derm doc in Syracuse!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Hands down the best experience I have had with a doctor's office ever. The doctor, the staff, the facility, all top notch, excellent service, great treatment by the doc and his staff. Possibly the shortest wait time I have ever had with a medical professional. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2015
Great Office
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My visit with Dr. Housel as well as Liz the PA was terrific. She initially came in to see me, and he followed up with me during the visit . I was concerned about a dark mole on my back. He took a biopsy right then, and after getting the results of skin cancer I am scheduled for surgery. They both seemed to have a great bed side manner. I have already booked appointments for my 3 children to have their skin checked also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 22nd, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Housel after a practitioner at another office looked at a spot on my face and said it was skin cancer. I wanted a second opinion and I am so happy that I saw him. He is the most compassionate and knowledgeable physician that I have ever seen. The staff was great as well. Thank goodness Dr. Housel decided to open an office in Syracuse.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was recently referred to Dr. Housel from Binghamton for Mohs Surgery on a basal cell carcinoma on my nose. The staff was very pleasant when setting up the appointment and explained the surgery to me very thoroughly. When I arrived at the office I was met by Maureen the receptionist who greeted me with a pleasant smile. When I met the doctor he immediately put me at ease and again explained exactly what he was going to be doing. At each step he spoke about what he was going to be doing and distracted me with interesting conversation during the entire procedure. When he was done I could not believe how much better an experience I imagined surgery could be and I believe it is because of the amazing care I received at Housel Dermatology. I would recommend Dr. Housel to my friends and especially my family. He is a top notch doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional and knowledgeable! It was a pleasure, I will be sure to come back and refer everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2014
Unapproachable
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is extremely unapproachable. Once you tell him your concern you will not have an opportunity to talk to him. He over talks and puts down every concern you may have. The doctor has a persona that he is the professional and you have no right to question anything he says. I left there with my concerns in more question, no care given, and upset with my PCM for referring me to him. Do your research and find a doctor that has concern for his patients first and his professional achievements last. Seek care somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Housel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rochester, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Mary Mercurio

25 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Francisco Tausk

39 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lindsey Brodell

be the first to rate this Doctor