Dr. Joseph Lamelas MD Patient Reviews

  • Vascular Surgery Houston, TX

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 48 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.2)

48 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    81%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    2%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 25.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2017
I had to have my heart valves replaced.in Miami, Florida in 2012 and I was a basket case......I had no family and arrived there by cab from Jupiter, FL Care was the best.....
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I could not have been treated better and was disappointed to find he moved to another state as I was referring friends. He did not have to break open my chest and there was no real pain....minor discomfort. I cannot comment on the excellent care of the doctors and nurses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 13th, 2017
I had minimal invasive mitral valve repair surgery with Dr. Lamelas it went perfect, I would use him again and again and I highly recommend him to anyone need mitral repair.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 4th, 2016
What a disappointment!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The say he is one of the best surgeons in Miami. Perhaps that is why, after two (2) cancellations for two consecutive weeks, the day of the appointment we had to wait three hours for him. And after 2 weeks and 3 hours waiting for him, we only had the chance to talk with him for 3 minutes (his assistant was with us 10 minutes). I got the impression he was exhausted and he just did not want to deal with us anymore. For me it was important to feel he was not just knowledgeable, but also that he would be able to listen to my concerns... That I was important as a human being too. :(
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lamelas repair my mitral valve three weeks ago. My surgery was successful and also my recovery. Very grateful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2016
The Best
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Changed my aortic valve and has given me 15-20 more years. People from all over the world scramble to get this talented surgeon to save them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
One of the best Drs. I've found in S Florida
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my life, He was recommended by top Beverly Hills Cardioligist. I met his associates, all caring and great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
I do NOT recommend this surgeon. Please read this review.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My cardiologist referred me to Dr Lamelas for minimally invasive Valve Replacement Surgery. The experience was definitely a negative one. 1) The first problem occurred when Dr Lamelas ordered a very invasive pre-op test that I did not need. I questioned the need for this test and called my cardiologist, the cardiologist agreed with me that I didn't need it. Dr Lamelas retracted the order and said he had another patient with the same name and had confused the files. This is frightening!! 2) After I had been taken to the OR, the OR nurse called my family to the waiting room phone to ask if any of them had copies of the tests that had been performed prior to the surgery. Don't they have that before I am taken to the OR? 3) About 8 weeks after surgery my cardiologist ordered an echocardiogram to check on my valve. The Echo shows that the valve is a "mismatch." (That is the terminology on the Echo report.) The valve is not the right size. There are regurgitation consequences to this mismatch. 4) I was never told that I cannot ever have an MRI. Even though I have a biologic valve, there is a small stent in it, which has metal. I should have been told this crucial information during the follow up visit to the surgeon's office. I have to say that Dr LaPietri, who is one of Dr Lamelas' partners, was very good during the daily visits while I was in the hospital. The office staff is hit and miss. Most of them are courteous and professional some are not.

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2013
Mitral Valve Repair
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very competent, able to do procedures that other drs wouldn't attempt. Highly recommend dr Lamelas for mitral valve repairs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Lamelas, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.