The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joseph Ludwig IV Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joseph Ludwig IV?

Lung Cancer

Get the facts about lung cancer, including how many people get it and what increases your risk for developing it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joseph Ludwig IV?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
37.3 min

Showing 14 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 27th, 2015

An incredible physician, perhaps the best in the world if you need treatment for Ewing sarcoma

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2014

Excellent Doctor

Dr. Ludwig is truly an amazing medical professional. On first meeting, it is easy to be a little taken aback with so much information, but it is important to remember that he is a researcher and wants to give his patient as much knowledge about their condition as possible. He is extremely sensitive to the needs of his patients and their families and takes his time to answer all questions. He sincerely cares about his patients and I feel blessed to have had him as my oncologist. I know that my family feels the same way.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 21st, 2013

Unhappy is an understatement

Would NOT recommend him to anyone!!! He takes no interest in the patient, no consideration or respect for patients time , average wait time for him was 3 hours!! Doesn't even follow up with patients after surgery, in fact, he never even knew when my scans took place until I had to prompt him to give me the results. WORST oncologist in the world....completely agree with Vitals Guest below, I had the same experience. He also never spent more than 2 minutes with me and LIED to my face until I cornered him. No body should trust this guy. If there were negative stars, I would give him those!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2012

Dr. Ludwig is an amazing doctor and is an expert in Ewings Sarcoma which is a bone and soft tissue cancer. He was an amazing doctor for my husband and made sure that we understood everything and answered all questions before leaving the room. When inpatient he would come and see you and if not he sent his #1 PA Sue to see us. She was wonderful and could make the most depressed person laugh. Over all he has an amazing staff and i would recommend him to anyone!!!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2011

Excellent doctor!

Dr. Ludwig is encouraging, optimistic, informative, has great bed side manner. So glad to have had him.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 9th, 2011

Great Ewings Sarcoma doctor!!!

He is a wonderful doctor. Yes the wait to see him is long but you have to remember that he is one of the highest regarded Sarcoma/Ewings doctors in the US and he is WONDERFUL so you should expect the wait because he takes time with each of his patients and makes sure that all questions are answered before he leaves the room!!!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2010

Took the time to discuss my case with me. Affable, kind, excellent bedside manner displays caring. Very knowledgable.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 20th, 2009

Failed to answer my questions, failed to recommend correct treatment (I was seen at another Sarcoma Center after seeing him and needed further surgery), failed to review pathology, other studies. No empathy, compassion, I felt just like a number. I would have accepted his personality if he would have recommended the appropriate treatment.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2014

5.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2012

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 5th, 2010

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joseph Ludwig IV is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Luis Fayad

    Dr. Luis Fayad

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Hematology

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    4.3
    (22)
    31
  • Dr. William William

    Dr. William William

    Medical Oncology, Internal Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    3.7
    (16)
    12
  • Dr. Guillermo Garcia-Manero

    Dr. Guillermo Garcia-Manero

    Medical Oncology

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    22