Dr. Joseph Mims MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Atlanta, GA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (-0.3)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    16%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    16%
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
a wonderful experience with this physician, highly recommend him to anyone in search of his gifted hands, he make you feel as if you were the most important person / patient he has ever care for, this quality seem to be the missed ingredient in todays healthcare,...... Dr. Mims "Thank You" for being that shinning LIGHT that is so needed and respected in today's healthcare.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2013
Self employed
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mims is very caring and kind. He did a follow in the hospital as well at home I was very please with surgery on removing my thyroid and keep my husband and family inform
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2012
thyroidectomy
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mims determined that the growths around my thyroid were extensive and recommended total removl of the gland. He found fist sized growths down in my chest neat my heart and adjoining the trachea. He successfully removed all with the consultation of a cardiac doctor but without having to open the chest. After about 10 days I am back to wrok and feeling a lot better than before the surgery. Great Surgeon. I would recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2011
Incompetent nonlistener
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A pleasant, quiet guy, Dr. Mims never listened to me, but his positive attitude fooled me. His surgery was a failure, making my condition worse. (He wrapped the fundoplication so tightly around my spincter muscle that I am uanble to eat solid food -- for the rest of my life!) When I confronted him on this after months of trying to talk to him, he lied and feigned a lack of understanding. I should have sued.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 19th, 2011
wrong diagnosis
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He assured to us that two surgical clips floating/free moving in the pelvis area does not cause infections or pain. He told us just to forget about surgical clips. Consulted to an ob-gyn and found an infected ovary. Ob-gyn thinks that the surgical clips is touching ovary and causing the infections.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr Mims to be very caring and knowledgable. He listened well and was genuinely interested in me. His office staff responded well to me as well as others as I waited and watched. He is well regarded by his medical colleagues, from whom I was referred and he was on target with his surgical approach and results. I have a great deal of confidence being in his practice. Also, he is now serving as Chief of Staff at a highly esteemed and cutting edge hospital with a medical staff of many nationally recognized physicians. It is good to see their confidence in him as well, and that spoke volumes to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 30th, 2009
Learn to listen and to respond appropriately and professionally
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mims is pleasant but he speaks little and listens less. Having performed surgery that did not work, he did not listen to my statement that I had experienced no improvement. He was dismissive, saying I should not be negative. I finally convinced him with the evidence of radiology. The part of the operation (Heller myotomy for achalasia with fundoplication) that has permanently blocked my esophagus was the optional fundoplication. I told him in the beginning I did not want this as a I had no problems with reflux. He said he always did a fundoplication just in case because reflux might happen later. I said OK but I should have insisted and done some research--ACTUALLY HE SHOULD LISTEN AND DO SOME RESEARCH. I now find out most complications are caused by the fundoplication, not the actual myotomy. What is worse is that I wrote and complained. He responded with lots of time, but when I researched his answer I found he either is not up to date or lied to me when he denied that the word "wrap" is used to denote this procedure. I don't want to talk to him ever again. I don't trust him and if 2 years had not passed I would try to sue him especially because of his not giving me good and true information and responses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 6th, 2017

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 16th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 12th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Mims, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.