inactive

Joseph R Berger DO Patient Reviews

Vitals cannot verify the address for this professional. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their address. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Review

2.6
  • 44 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 1.5)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    36%
  • Satisfied
    2%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    57%
  • Wait Time 19.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing doctor. He's kind, caring and compassionate. Have never had any issues with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2016
To each his/her own
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Berger has been amazing each time I've seen him. He is thorough and very responsive to questions and concerns. He is always prepared for the appointment and has reviewed files/test results prior to calling me into the room. His staff is courteous and I've always gotten a follow up phone call from his NP if I've been treated at the ER or have had testing performed outside of UPenn. I think he is a wonderful doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Amazing Experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I read the reviews before my appointment and I was concerned, but the were completely inaccurate. Dr. Berger was thorough, professional and very knowledgeable. I can see how some would be put off by his humor and personality, but I found it to be in line with my own personality. He spent time explaining my condition and next steps. He made sure I was comfortable with the information he gave me and invited me to contact him if I had any additional concerns before my next appointment. I would absolutely recommend him to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have read all of the reviews and was scared to see Dr. Berger. After I saw him I understand the reviews but I also saw a side of him that made me love him. He has a sense of humor that he just doesn't understand is inappropriate. If you can get past that then I believe he is a wonderful physician. He did say things that were totally inappropriate but when I called him on it he became very humble. The things that made me know he was a decent human being were that he moved to Philadelphia to help care for his elderly mother. He also stopped to assist a patient in the middle of seeing me to who was having trouble with his motorized cart. He has called me back consistently within 30 minutes of an urgent e-mail (very depressed). He does not badger me into doing therapies that I do not want to do even if this is mainstream MS care. I am not dismissing anyone else's experiences but if you can get past some of the things he says which I believe are a poor choice of humor, he really is a wonderful guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 11th, 2015
Dangerously arrogant
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do not subject yourself to this man's abuse. Berger is not just rude and demeaning he is a danger to Patients. I was later accurately diagnosed with a serious condition by another physician after Berger informed me after 10 minute appointment that I was a menopausal attention seeking woman with a stressful job. This man should not be allowed to practice medicine of any type. The fact that this person teaches medical students is most concerning given his callous disregard for people in pain/need and his lack of appropriate diagnostic procedures. He is arrogantly dismissive given how very little neuroscience can currently accomplish for very sick and dying patients nevermind how little the medical field knows in general about the brain. This physician is a menace and if you are unfortunate enough to have dealt with him just know he is the problem and that there are knowledgeable, humane and humble doctors elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 29th, 2015
I can't believe this man is a doctor.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've never seen a more worthless doctor. I would not recommend Dr. Berger to anyone, but especially women. I asked for a different doctor immediately after my appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Will not be going back
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I wish I would have read the reviews about this doctor before I saw him. He is extremely arrogant. He'll ask you questions and interrupt and talk over you while you're trying to explain. My jaw dropped reading some of the other reviews, as for me he at least recommended a follow up MRI in 6 months, but told me there was no reason to take the Baclofen, so I stopped it. Well now I'm in severe pain. There is an MS specialist closer to my house who gets far better reviews, so I won't be going back to Dr Berger.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent neurologist and attends promptly followup inquiries and visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 11th, 2015
Bad doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had worst experience with this doctor. He will make fun of your mediacal condition. Not interested to listen to your issues. Finally ask you to meet a psychiatric. Don't ever go to this doctor. Never expected this kind of doctors at UPenn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 11th, 2015
Don't ever go to this doctor. Waste of time and money
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I met Dr Joseph Berger. He is so aggregate, doesn't have patience, not a good listener...etc. he will not listen to your problems and pains. He will ask questions and wants answer in one word. Finally he if unable to analyze your problem then he will ask you to go to psychiatric. Please take my review seriously and save your time and money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 27th, 2013
Agree with everyone else!
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everyone else is spot on. I had been told by two other neurologists that I had MS but my mom wanted me to see an MS specialist. Although all the tests were positive, he said it was all in my head. He also made fun of my mother almost to the point of tears, because she only has a high school education. My fiance works as a maintenance man and I'm in the medical field--he told my fiance, "oh now I see why you're with her." Do not waste your time with him. Now that I see other people's comments, I know it's not just me and I will be looking for another neurologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2013
Told me I was faking my symptoms
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
With a stack of reports and positive test results for MS going back 10 years, he decided I was faking MS and referred me to a psychiatrist. I mentioned another neurologist in his own department had ordered a test and the result was positive for MS. He dismissed the result with a wave of his hand and ordered the test again. It came back positive for MS, but I now have a psychiatric disorder diagnosis in my history and have to go back to UK to get it off. Stay away!
Was this review helpful? Yes No