Dr. Joseph Smurda MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 12 reviews

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 8.2 minutes
  • Promptness

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
September 4th, 2012
not freindly office staff
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
call to make appointment,just to get a medication very expensive visit prefer to go another doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2012
Great Doctor
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not really sure what the negative reviewer is saying. Dr. Smurda is attentive, empathetic, understanding, returns phone calls promptly, and has been a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2012
Rare empathy with a sense of humor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After seeing a few psychiatrists I wouldn't recommend over the years before I found Dr. Smurda, I was thrilled to find a competent physician with a great chairside manner, including a sense of humor. He has a lot of experience with difficult to treat conditions, he's very knowledgeable and, unlike my previous psychiatrist, doesn't jump immediately to a new med if I hit a rough patch, preferring to tinker as little as possible with my meds. He takes me seriously but doesn't hesitate to laugh when it's appropriate. Dr. Smurda is a great team player, calling my therapist after each of my appointments and responding to other treatment team members promptly. I can't think of a situation in which I wouldn't recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2011
Thank G-D for Dr. Smurda
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was having a difficult time coping in several areas of my life. I had been to two psychiatrists before seeing Dr. Smurda. The previous two rushed the evaluation session, treated me like I was one of many on a conveyor-belt going through their office and I felt no connection or empathy from either one of them. Dr. Smurda took his time doing the evaluation; was extremely empathic to the difficulties & sensitivities of my particular situation and clearly prescribed the correct medication, because I got through this trying time faster than I thought possible. He is truly the BEST!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2011
exceptional md
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He treated me with kindness and respect.He talked with my other doctor to coordinate my care because I have a number of medical problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2011
Kind and Sensitive
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was very sensitive and kind when I told him about difficult subjects. He is very experienced and has treated more than 10,000 patients (one of the residents told me). I saw him at UCLA where he volunteers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2011
Top Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was very easy to speak to, even on sensitive subjects. I know that he volunteers at UCLA and has worked in homeless shelters. He clearly loves his work and went the extra mile to make sure I got better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2011
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is rude, insensitive, unexperienced and totally money oriented.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2011
Overall great experience
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I am very happy with Dr. Smurda. He is knowledgeable, doesn't jump to conclusions, doesn't rush to change meds and always prescribes generi ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2010
Remarkable physician
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smujrda's follow up is the best I've ever seen. He's attentive and thorough and listens to what you are saying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2010
He is the best.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
simply the best at what he does
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2010
One of the very best
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an exceptional doctor, in every way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Smurda, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Lidia Zylowska

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Harvey Sternbach

39 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Linda Moghtader

32 years experience

4.1 of 5