Overall Rating

3.9
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.9)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    64%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 20 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

4.0 of 5
September 29th, 2016
Good Dr.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Having seen my share of Drs this is one of the better out there. Takes time to listen and explain as much as you need. Like everyone else he has his views and opinions which don't always match mine but we've been able to work past those instances. I'd recommend him to folks needing his service.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 9th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very frustrating experience. Confirmed twice with staff that my specific insurance plan was accepted and was told they had contacted my insurance company, only to receive a bill months later for the entirety of the visit and finding out that they were out of network. Further, they offered no assistance when I asked for some compromise/taking some responsibility for the false information I received. Thoroughly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2015
Another good visit
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very thorough and very informative. He answered all my questions in a manner I could understand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Nelson has been my neurologist for fifteen years. He has always been very helpful and friendly in treating me when I arrived at the hospital following my stoke and all this since the stroke. I recently saw him away from his office, and he was just as friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 20th, 2015
BEWARE!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
My experience with Dr. Nelson was absolutely terrible! I went in complaining of weakness and tingling in my left leg and he never even checked my reflexes or strength! What a joke. He laughed inappropriately while I explained my symptoms. His medical diagnosis was inaccurate. I called with my referral and was able to get an appointment the very next day .....that should have been a major red flag for me. The staff were kind but very unprofessional. The Nurse technician that took my vital signs was talking about "Catching the hiv" She used inappropriate language and fumbled while using the computer. It was just an awful experience and I have lost valuable time in reaching my recovery. Also.....its always a good idea to look up a physicians licensure with the state of Ohio. Dr. Nelsons proved to have some very sad and pathetic findings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 7th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Is knowledgeable regarding his area. I am satisfied with his observations and directions for improvement after my stroke
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 21st, 2014
I am a patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nelson was awesome.... he was a very good listener, was so interested in my condition...I would tell people if you want a good doctor... Doctor Nelson is the one to go too... the staff is friendly I would rate doctor and staff outstanding
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 19th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Dr Nelson is absolutely the worse Dr I have ever seen. He kicked me out of his office. He's mean and condescending. I will never ever go back to him. He has no compassion for people struggling with fibromyalgia. He's a jerk and has horrible bedside manor. Don't waste your time. He's old and grumpy! He certainly needs to retire.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2009
Derick Shumate
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nelson is an awsome Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joshua Nelson, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newark, OH.