The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joy Gelbman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joy Gelbman?

Ratings and Reviews

15 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 15 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 28th, 2016

Attitude to patients, possibly competence, lack of diligence, posturing for billing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2016

How awesome Joy Gelbman is!!!!!

Joy is awesome at making me feel comfortable when I am nervous. Joy is an excellent doctor and always treats me with respect. She is funny and can always make me laugh. Joy is very smart and always knows whats wrong.(If there is something wrong.)Joy is a very good doctor and I highly reccomend her to cover your medical needs.:) :D ;o!!!!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 7th, 2015

Agree with overall picture

I'm sure Dr. Gelbman is somewhat competent - she did, after all, land a position with Weill Cornell. That said, our own experiences with her have been most unfortunate. I believe she may have that ego issue that, while understandable in a cardiologist in general, sometimes puts the patient in a detrimental position. This doctor seems to not be able to say "I can't figure it out, let me ask someone with more experience". We had two separate encounters with her, and both left much to be desired. I also feel her bedside manner is lacking. I would very much recommend getting a second opinion on any and all of her suggestions. She also seems to not be very much into actually reviewing a patient's history. While I understand it must be quite boring, but assume it's part of the job. I didn't leave a negative after our first range of encounters, but after the second I'm convinced it's a pattern. I will llok elsewhere and suggedt you do the same. It almost seems her practice is a hobby. Like needlepoint.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 4th, 2015

So many cardiologists in NYC, do yourself a favor and see someone else...

Missed a critical diagnosis during several visits (putting my life at stake) where I clearly explained the symptoms. One diagnosed she cared more about getting an office visit than getting me to a suitable specialist.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 8th, 2011

Fine for textbook cases

Dr. Gelbman was accurate in cardiac diagnosis and spent time explaining and answering questions, but had no interest in investigating the overall picture associated with the problem to get to the root cause of an admittedly unexpected cardiac issue. Her proposed follow up care was "textbook" and rather rigid for a case that was anything but. Consultation with another cardiologist uncovered an unusual, but not rare, condition known to cause as one of its symptoms continuing and progressively more severe cardiac problems if not addressed. She's fine for those with typical heart disease and no other underlying conditions. The staff was courteous and helpful.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 14th, 2009

explains everything, caring, seems knowledgable

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 30th, 2016

5.0 Rating

May 28th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

April 11th, 2016

4.0 Rating

January 28th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

January 2nd, 2016

4.0 Rating

August 18th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joy Gelbman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Catherine Small

    Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    36
  • Dr. Thomas King

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    29
  • Dr. David Berlin

    Dr. David Berlin

    Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.2
    (3)
    17