The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joy Mcelroy Is this you?
  • 11
  • 1
  • 4
  • 0
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joy Mcelroy?


22 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2017

Great Doctor

Dr McElroys bedside manner is perfect! She knows exactly what she is doing in her diagnosis and treatment. I had to wait to get an appointment, but well worth the wait. My skin has never been so clear and my rash cleared up within days of taking the medications and using the correct facial products.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

Wonderful bedside manner. She diagnosed my psoriasis and gave me the right meds to clear it up.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 17th, 2016

Skin Cancer Scare

I had bumps all over my shoulders and my legs and it became a concern as I have lived in tropical climates most of my life. Dr. McElroy, alleviated my fears and concerns very quickly and assured me that they were not cancerous. She painlessly removed them( about 30) and shortly sent me on my way. Ever since then I use sunscreen every single day. She educated me in a way that I clearly understood and gave me comfort in knowledge to be able to not only enjoy an active outdoor life but to do so safely

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2016

Dr.McElroy, is a very pleasant and excellent dermatologist, I was having serious skin problems while visiting Hawaii and she was extremely helpful in her diagnosis and treatment of my ongoing problems. My dermatologist back home was pleased with her recommendations as well.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 25th, 2015

Wonderful Doctor

Dr. McElroy is a wonderful doctor! She takes time with her patients and is very personable and easy to talk to! She is very kind and caring and thoroughly explains what the problem is and treatment! I would recommend her to anyone in Kona! I think she's a wonderful and very competent Dermatologist!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

July 6th, 2015

Knows her skin!

This MD knows her medicine and she is very personable. She gets to the business of your skin and communicates well what she sees and can do to help. I liked that! I have yet to go in to have a map of my skin made, I intend to do this. She gives out samples of expensive medicine so you can try first. She is also a strong patient advocate and will help you get what you need from insurance companies as possible. This doctor knows what is important to patients and follows that guide.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2013

Amazing Results!

In early 2012, I started losing pigmentation in my skin so I went to Dr. Joy Mcelroy. She examined the area and prescribed an initial treatment. After the prescribed period, I returned to Dr. Mcelroy because it seemed as though the condition was getting worse. Dr. Mcelroy then prescribed an alternate treatment, and within less than a month, my normal color began to return! Within about two months, my skin had returned to normal. I was SO thrilled, because I thought that the depigmentation would continue over my body. And here I am more than a year later, and my skin remains normal. I am extremely impressed with Dr. Mcelroy's skills, knowledge, professionalism, warmth, and humor. She is an excellent dermatologist who knows her stuff. She was VERY thorough in explaining my condition and the possible treatments and their side-effects. She has an excellent bedside manner. She is also very funny -- had me in tears during one visit. I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Joy Mcelroy.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2012

Wasted my time

They had me wait for over an hour and then told me it would maybe be another hour. I left without seeing Dr. McElroy because of other pressing business. When I originally asked about wait time, staff was deceptive and put me in a room where I waited more, then put me in another room and finally admitted they were WAY behind schedule. Since they could have told me this when I called to reconfirm my appointment, I do not trust this doctor to look out for my interests.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

1.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

1.0 Rating

June 30th, 2016

1.0 Rating

June 17th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joy Mcelroy is similar to the following 2 Doctors near Kailua Kona, HI.

  • Dr. Richard Ostreicher

    Dermatology

    Kailua Kona, HI 2.91 mi

    3.8
    (6)
    28
  • Dr. Monica Scheel

    Dr. Monica Scheel

    Dermatology

    Kailua Kona, HI 6.74 mi

    4.3
    (19)
    18