Dr. Joy Vanterpool MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Santa Maria, CA

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 1.0)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 39.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2017
She listens
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Vanderpool has been my primary care physician for 12 years. She listens to me which is very important. She takes her time with each patient so I know there will be a little wait time, which is okay with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
Wonderful, caring, and experienced primary provider
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been attended by Dr Vanderpool for three years. She provides quality time with you by explaining, processing any medical issues. I feel well care by her than from any previous primary doctors I ever had. I always have questions and she doesn't dismiss them like may drs do, so I don't feel that I'm bothering her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
No Show- Joy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has no clue what time management means. I have been frustrated with her for over a year now. However, my appointment last week she didn't even show up to the office and they had no idea where she was. I waited over an hour- they kept my copay..and I am hoping they don't try and bill my insurance. Not going back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 20th, 2015
Excellent and Thorough
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Vanterpool has been our family Doctor for many years. The staff is quite nice and the Doctor provided excellent care; however she seems overbooked and often it is difficult to get in to see her. The wait times can get excessive as well, but overall worth the extra trouble.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 26th, 2013
Worth the wait
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yes, sometimes it takes a while to get an appointment... Because she has a long list of other people who are also willing to wait to see her. When you get there, you might have to wait an extra 30-60 min. to see her because she is so thorough with ALL of her patients, (including the dozens of people she saw befoe you) and patiently answers every single question you have. If you're looking for a doctor who babies you and tells you what you want to hear, find someone else. Dr.V is a no nonsense, Black-and-white, get results kind of doctor. Dr.V sees me and most all of my medical-background family members, so take from that what you will. We LOVE Dr.V !!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2013
caring, compassionate, has become an excellent health care provider
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She has been my health care provider for over 9 years and except for just a couple of times she has spent more time with me then any other dr that I have seen
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long wait. However, a very caring and detailed doctor. Highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2011
Waiting 1.5 hours for prescription
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is sweet as a person but either overbooks or is MIA.She is the type of doctor you only wanna see if your dying but ER might take you in quicker.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 21st, 2011
2 hour wait and rude office staff
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Vanterpool is very very busy. Her front office help is rude and annoying. I waited for almost two hours for my scheduled appointment.

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2011
This Dr. is to busy
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When visiting Dr. Vanterpool the wait time is over a half hour and then when I do see her she is in and out before I can even address my questions. She appears way to busy to spend time with her patients. Her bedside manner is cold and aloof. If I call on the phone to speak with her she will not return my call but uses a third party to deliver a message. However she often will wait two or three days before answering. She shows little concern for her patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Vanterool pays much attention to my lab work and always listens to my concerns. She is encouraging and sends me to a specialist if she believes that doctor could better treat me. In the six years that she has been my doctor she has taken many patients on, so is not always as available, but she is overall the best practitioner I have ever had. Many in my county office are seen by her, as is my family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2011
Compassionate, intelligent
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really enjoyed the way she approaches medicine. She gets down to what it is that is bothering you and offers different options. I don't mind waiting, because I bring along something to read.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joy Vanterpool, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Maria, CA.