Dr. Joycelyn Theard MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology San Antonio, TX

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.2)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 32 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

1.0 of 5
December 27th, 2016
HORRIBLE DOCTOR!!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to see Dr. Theard for dysphagia and severe stomach pain. She did an endoscopy, was extremely rude to both me and my husband and told me to go home and that I was fine--at this time I was living on a liquid diet due to the dysphagia. However, after getting with a new GI doctor, we have found that I WAS NOT fine and have an esophageal stricture and bile duct obstruction. Telling me to go home and ignore my symptoms just shows how incredibly ignorant Dr. Theard is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2016
Never met the Dr.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It's hard to review a Dr. you don't meet. Her PA sent me to get several radiology tests. I got the results from the staff, not the Dr. or PA. They said I needed surgery and that was all they knew. They could not answer any of my questions. I don't feel comfortable getting opinions from the staff. I'm getting a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2016
A very good doctor
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr.Theard for many years , she is the only doctor who after seeing many other doctors,was able to give me an accurate diagnosis of my liver problem and put me on medication that has slowed the progression of my disease. I would recommend Dr. Theard to friends and my family ,she is the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 6th, 2015
Unsatisfied
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw her for a colonoscopy. Her male nurse was great but she was brusque. Afterwards an assistant went over results with me and I was told I had a polyp. Assistant had no good info about it for me and could not answer my questions. I am having another colonoscopy with A DIFFERENT DOCTOR
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
The NP DIDN'T call in my prescriptions OR getting preapproval for CT. Pointless. Don't visit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a severe abdominal problem that was affecting my life in a very negative manner. She took me as a new patient, treated me and solved my problem in a matter of days. I am extremely grateful because she turned my life back to normal. The front desk receptionist is very nice and the office location is great with a lot of convenient parking. My overall experience with this doctor and her office was fantastic and I wholeheartedly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 25th, 2012
She is the best!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My whole family have been her patients for many years, all maintenance so far, no other probls but I just love her cheery nature and her staff is just as wonderful - everyone smiling and being so helpful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 10th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Contrary to other reviews, I did not find Dr. Theard to be a good diagnostician, and her bedside manner was nothing short of unfriendly. After waiting an hour and half to see her, no apology or any explanation was offered. She insisted I had gall bladder disease which turned out not to be the case after I went through all of the tests she recommended. She asked if I had an occult blood test recently which I had only 1 month previously at my GYN. She did one anyway without a nurse in the room. Very awkward and strange. Definitely would return or recommend this physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2011
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yes I have had to wait a while each time I have gone for a visit, but I would MUCH rather have a doctor that truly listens to me, considers everything carefully, and does a GREAT job diagnosing and caring for me! I would NEVER trade that for someone that gets me in within the first 5 minutes and then hurries me through so he/she can get to the next patient in 5 minutes without really taking care of me. I would wait days for her if necessary! She is the best doctor we have EVER had, and she has treated all of my family and many friends of mine as well, in all stages of life, and with the BEST care!

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2008
Excellent doctor, but you'll grow old waiting...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding diagnostician, provides plenty of information. However, take a meal to the appointment. She is always HOURS behind schedule!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joycelyn Theard, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.