The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joycelyn Theard Is this you?

Filter Reviews

41 Ratings • 13 Comments

4.0
  • 27
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Easy Appointments
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Wait Time
28.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joycelyn Theard?

Showing 12 of 41 Ratings

THe Best in a Bad Situation

Posted on November 14th, 2017

I have seen Dr. Theard for several years. My health is very complicated, but I know that I am in the best hands with Dr. Theard. I've seen her in the hospital and in her office. She is just the best doctor .

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Politics

Posted on October 5th, 2017

Length between visits are to long. When requesting to get back in when you have no improvements and they refused to set an earlier appointment. Took 5 weeks to get results of test and medicines. I suffered for 12 weeks. Did not get an accurate diagnoses.

Wait time
15 minutes
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doctor!

Posted on April 25th, 2017

I am very satisfied with Dr. Theard and her staff. Dr.Theard is a very thorough doctor and has the best personality. I highly recommend her!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

HORRIBLE DOCTOR!!

Posted on December 28th, 2016

I went to see Dr. Theard for dysphagia and severe stomach pain. She did an endoscopy, was extremely rude to both me and my husband and told me to go home and that I was fine--at this time I was living on a liquid diet due to the dysphagia. However, after getting with a new GI doctor, we have found that I WAS NOT fine and have an esophageal stricture and bile duct obstruction. Telling me to go home and ignore my symptoms just shows how incredibly ignorant Dr. Theard is.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never met the Dr.

Posted on October 13th, 2016

It's hard to review a Dr. you don't meet. Her PA sent me to get several radiology tests. I got the results from the staff, not the Dr. or PA. They said I needed surgery and that was all they knew. They could not answer any of my questions. I don't feel comfortable getting opinions from the staff. I'm getting a second opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A very good doctor

Posted on August 17th, 2016

I have been seeing Dr.Theard for many years , she is the only doctor who after seeing many other doctors,was able to give me an accurate diagnosis of my liver problem and put me on medication that has slowed the progression of my disease. I would recommend Dr. Theard to friends and my family ,she is the best.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Unsatisfied

Posted on October 6th, 2015

Saw her for a colonoscopy. Her male nurse was great but she was brusque. Afterwards an assistant went over results with me and I was told I had a polyp. Assistant had no good info about it for me and could not answer my questions. I am having another colonoscopy with A DIFFERENT DOCTOR

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 6th, 2015

The NP DIDN'T call in my prescriptions OR getting preapproval for CT. Pointless. Don't visit!!!!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Doctor

Posted on July 8th, 2014

I had a severe abdominal problem that was affecting my life in a very negative manner. She took me as a new patient, treated me and solved my problem in a matter of days. I am extremely grateful because she turned my life back to normal. The front desk receptionist is very nice and the office location is great with a lot of convenient parking. My overall experience with this doctor and her office was fantastic and I wholeheartedly recommend her.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

She is the best!

Posted on September 25th, 2012

My whole family have been her patients for many years, all maintenance so far, no other probls but I just love her cheery nature and her staff is just as wonderful - everyone smiling and being so helpful !

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 10th, 2011

Contrary to other reviews, I did not find Dr. Theard to be a good diagnostician, and her bedside manner was nothing short of unfriendly. After waiting an hour and half to see her, no apology or any explanation was offered. She insisted I had gall bladder disease which turned out not to be the case after I went through all of the tests she recommended. She asked if I had an occult blood test recently which I had only 1 month previously at my GYN. She did one anyway without a nurse in the room. Very awkward and strange. Definitely would return or recommend this physician.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 31st, 2011

Yes I have had to wait a while each time I have gone for a visit, but I would MUCH rather have a doctor that truly listens to me, considers everything carefully, and does a GREAT job diagnosing and caring for me! I would NEVER trade that for someone that gets me in within the first 5 minutes and then hurries me through so he/she can get to the next patient in 5 minutes without really taking care of me. I would wait days for her if necessary! She is the best doctor we have EVER had, and she has treated all of my family and many friends of mine as well, in all stages of life, and with the BEST care!

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joycelyn Theard is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.