ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Julia Kaplun Is this you?
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Julia Kaplun?


14 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 11th, 2017

The most caring Doctor I've ever seen

I have seen many endocrinologists and by far Dr. Kaplun is the most amazing doctor. She explains everything thoroughly, she speaks to you like a human being and addresses even the silliest of complaints. This doctor goes above and beyond on every level. Normally, I will receive a personal call from her the very next day after seeing her. This last time she called me that very evening to give me the blood work results. This doctor is one of the most caring doctors of her time!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2016

former patient

Number of years ago, I was a patient of Dr. Kaplun for a short period of time. My thyroid was overactive. She recommended to destroy my thyroid with radioactive iodine, within a month or so of medication treatment, saying that I had almost no chance of recovery. She was not a good listener, and did not seam knowlegable. I found different doctor. Now I've been well for several years. I'm glad I left Dr. Kaplun.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2016

Heard she's a great Dr, but couldn't get past the office staff to see her :(

I have been struggling for some time with the answers and lack of help from my current endocrinologist. Someone had told me Dr. Kaplun was wonderful, however her office is about a full hour from my home. I at my wits end called Dr. Kaplun's office on a Wednesday. The first thing I asked the receptionist when she answered the phone was "Does Dr. Kaplun just look at the TSH levels or does she examine the whole picture?" The receptionist confirmed that Dr. Kaplun was very thorough and really takes her time to figure out whats going on with a patient. I thought THIS IS THE DOCTOR FOR ME - FINALLY MY PRAYERS WERE ANSWERED. I said "OK I need an appointment" The receptionist at the time said "We actually have a cancellation tomorrow at 10:00AM, we'll call it an emergency appointment" (Wednesday's tomorrow is Thursday). I wrote everything the receptionist said down, time, what I needed to bring and detailed instructions, because she stated GPS would not get me there. I was very excited to go to this doctor, I didn't want to mess anything up. I got off the phone with Dr. Kaplun's office and proceeded to attempt to get my records from my current Doctor sent over. After a couple of calls and some messages left at my current doctors office it was the end of the day and the receptionist from Dr. Kaplun's office called me and said she was also having trouble reaching my doctors office for the records. She had the wrong telephone number, which she thought she got from me; but I was sure I was clear I had given her the correct number (but I didn't care, all I cared about was getting into the right doctor). I took off from work Thursday morning to go to my new doctors appointment, traveled an hour there and when I walked in the door the receptionist says "Can I help you?" so I said "Yes I have a 10:00 appointment with Dr. Kaplun". She then says "Dr. Kaplun isn't here on Thursdays" My heart sank :(. She looked in her computer and said "Your appointment is Friday". I was just so upset, angry, sad, confused I walked out! On my hour car ride home I cried the entire way and then I left a message about how I know that I had heard the first receptionist tell me the appointment was "Tomorrow, not Friday". I stated in my message that they could call me back if they wanted. As a thyroid patient you are continuously made to feel like you are wrong or crazy or being paranoid if your lab work shows the doctor you are fine, this is the reason I was attempting to see Dr. Kaplun in the first place. I wanted someone who would help me with the whole picture. Dr. Kapluns Office Manager called me back and said "You asked for a return call?' I explained to her how upset I was that all I was looking for was help and that what happened to me was not right. SHE DIDN'T CARE! All she wanted to tell me was that the first receptionist (Who was really nice, don't get me wrong) had been there a great many years and mistakes like wrong appointment days and times just didn't happen there, she went so far as to state I had given the receptionist the wrong telephone number to my current doctors office. NO APOLOGY or even so much as a comforting word from her. SO ONCE AGAIN I THE THYROID PATIENT IS THE CRAZY ONE! So although Dr. Kaplun is probably a very good doctor, I myself was unable to get past her unkind OFFICE MANAGER to see her :(. I was already at a very fragile stage and this just pushed me over the edge. You need a hard shell to get in to this office

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 11th, 2015

The Best

I have refer everyone I know who needs an endocrinologist to Dr. Kaplun. She is incredibly responsive to her patient's needs with both her knowledge and compassion. You do not feel like a number with her. In addition Dr. Kaplan does not hesitate to call with results of tests even on her days off. She is a true gem in this age of factory like medicine.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 10th, 2014

GREAT DOCTOR!

If you have to go to a Endocrinologist, Dr. Kaplun is who you should go to! She is very caring and compassionate! Even if something doesn't have anything to do with Endocrinology and you had a procedure or test done and she knew about it, she would call you! I don't usually write good reviews, only bad reviews so I can tell people who they will have to deal with so that's why I didn't write sooner! I have to tell you This Dr.> Dr. Kaplun is so caring which you don't get too often! Nice too! She is so nice that I feel like I just want to make an appointment with her just for no reason! She is GREAT!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2013

After getting bloodwork back from my primary doctor and being very upset and anxious with the results, Dr. Kaplun took me in for an appointment the very next day as a new patient! Other offices I called couldn't get in me for 2-3 months as a new patient which is ridiculous. Her office staff was very friendly to me. Dr. Kaplun spent a great deal of time with me going over my condition and making me feel at ease. She called on a Saturday morning to go over my lab results instead of making me wait anxiously over the weekend. She assured me that if I had any questions or concerns between then and my next scheduled appointment that i could contact her or pop by the office. She really went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable! She is great.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 25th, 2011

love dr. kaplun

A truly compassionate doctor that cares about you. My favorite doctor yet.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 9th, 2009

Dr. Kaplun is lovely, easy-going and reassuring. She does not keep a patient waiting; overall, just a delight!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 11th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2016

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Julia Kaplun is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Suffern, NY.

  • Dr. Yuriy Gurevich

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine

    Suffern, NY 0 mi

    4.7
    (15)
    10
  • Dr. Alfred Becker

    Dr. Alfred Becker

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Suffern, NY 0 mi

    3.9
    (24)
    51
  • Dr. Valeria Silberman

    Internal Medicine

    Suffern, NY 0 mi

    3.9
    (11)
    31