Dr. Julian Klapowitz MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.3)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    19%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Wait Time 11.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 7th, 2016
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor. Have been seeing him for years and will gladly continue doing so for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 1st, 2015
Ms.
He is wonderful. I had to stop seeing him because he does not participate with my insurance. I've been lost evern since.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2015
If you get really sick, look elsewhere
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I used to love Dr. Klapowitz ... until I got a "mystery illness." I'd been traveling in the Middle East and elsewhere, and got a nasty, painful illness after. The initial symptoms passed after a few weeks, but the side effects - drenching sweat, fatigue, weight gain - kept on. He did some testing, but didn't listen to me that the results were abnormal - e.g., on the stress test, where you ride a stationary bike for 10 min, the administering doc said that I did "great." Well, I was a marathon runner, so I was very fit, and the way I performed was substandard FOR ME (plus, the floor was slick with sweat - not normal for a 10-min ride), but no one listened. I took myself to specialist after specialist, looking for answers; finally, an infectious disease doc told me that I had had some kind of virus, but it was too late to tell what it was, and suggested that I'd developed chronic fatigue syndrome as a result. So I went back to Klapowitz AGAIN. He'd been showing increasing frustration and skepticism, and was more than implying that my illness was psychiatric. Hey, if it was, I could deal with that, too - I just wanted an answer! So I had myself evaluated, and was told that no, it did not show the hallmarks of a psychiatric origin. On this final visit, and all I did was tell him the infectious disease doc's theory about chronic fatigue, and he cut me off, rolling his eyes and raising his voice and saying "I don't believe in that disease; it's junk medicine." Shortly thereafter he walked out on me, literally closing the door on my time as his patient. No goodbye, no "what's next," no "come by my office on your way out" (which was the norm for him). I was so hurt and ashamed - I felt like I was being diagnosed as an "overly sensitive woman" - that I couldn't get out of there fast enough. Those feelings turned to anger. How dare he? Plus, I was still sick. The symptoms lingered for almost three years before fading. I still have the excessive, inappropriate sweating (and yes, have had everything tested; no one can find a cause) and my metabolism slowed, but I was truly ill and needed Klapowitz's HELP, not his scorn. So he's a good doctor if you have something safe and normal and need less than 10 minutes of his time (he loses patience after the second question). If you get sicker with something that needs some sleuthing and you need support - save yourself some time and grief and look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2012
For years and years
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Klapowitz since he first started in the practice at Avenue Medical Associates, I think it's been well over 12 years and he was a newly practicing doctor. During one job I could no longer see him because he was out of network but when I went to my most recent position, my insurance covered him and I was so happy. No other provider was like him. He is a very nice person, he is caring and does his homework on my file before meeting with me AND takes time to talk with me in his office after each visit. I am an HR Manager and when my folks ask who my doctor is a gladly tell them about Dr. Klapowitz.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fine doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2010
highly recommended
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have been visiting Dr. Klapowitz for about three years. He is a very professional and so are his support staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2009
dr julian klapowitz
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A fabulous Dr
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2009
One of the Best In My Extensive Experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
The oncologist of a friend of mine, who survived advanced ovarian cancer, sends his children to Dr. Klapowitz. Waiting is something one does not have to deal with in terms of appointments or office visits. His attention on efficiency might put the hypochondriac off. But he focus attention on those who symptoms, family history and test results indicate concerns. Believe me. This professional with show up at your family members bedside out of genuine compassion. I have nothing but praise for this care giver.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Julian Klapowitz, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.