Browse Health
Psychiatrist
33 years of experience
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

35

Total Reviews

20

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.7727272727273 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.5652173913043 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.5652173913043 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.4347826086957 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.2173913043478 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.4090909090909 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 35 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Awful  |  show details
Aug 25th, 2014

She really does more damage than good for teenagers in depression. She sent me to the hospital with my daughter without doing a suicidal evaluation just because someone knocked on the door to say my 30 minutes was up and my daughter was crying (for help). She should lose her license to practice! (PS My daughter was fine; just in need of someone to listen to her)

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Patient  |  show details
by Jenna on Jul 31st, 2014

It is mind boggling how anyone could give this woman any more than 1 star (and even that is pushing it). It is impossible to get her to respond to emails and is of no help at all with depression and has infact made it worse. She should leave the practice for good because she is hurting more than helping.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Patient  |  show details
by Robert on Jul 31st, 2014

Absolutely awful and incompetent. Avoid at all costs! She is not empathetic, doesn't listen, and doesn't know what is best for her patients. Doesn't respond to emails when requesting letters and the people at her secretary front desk are even more rude. She does not deserve your money because she does not provide help patients really need. It saddens me that there aren't higher up individuals that can take action against her.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  ex patient  |  show details
by Mary on Jan 23rd, 2014

the office staff are idiots. It took five phone calls to get an appointment. Each time it was "What is your insurance information? Name? Why do you want to come here? We need to confirm your insurance and will call back within two days." Which they never did. Finally, an appointment is given then ..."We need your insurance information. We need to check that it is valid before the appt.". I ask for the address and directions and was told "We are in Huntington." so I asked what street "Park.". Eventually, I got the address. I again asked for directions. "We are on Park in Huntington." And, oh, yes, according to two people on the office staff, "Xanax is not a medication. It is a tranquilizer. No tranquilizers are medication."

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Kanji saved my life  |  show details
by jamie j on Sep 11th, 2013

I met Dr Kanji threw a friend back in 1999. She is very down to earth and listens. I ended up seeking Treatments from her a few years ago. I'm stabilised now and Going back to school. Thank you!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Mr. McDonald hit the nail on the head on Jul 3rd, 2013

Any decent rating was clearly written by the doctor or her family. Over an hour wait and the visit is under 5 min. This doctor will give you whatever you want as long as you pay, cash only?? I guess my copay isn't claimed. Forced to go the the Atrium pharmacy is totally illegal which I plan to report. The are washing each others hands at our expense. This doctor cares about nothing but the money you are pulling out of your pocket. For all of you who really need psychiatric help I urge you to choose a doctor who really cares about more than her business with the next door pharmacy and the cash you are pulling out of your pocket. Who said this new staff was helpful and friendly? Dr Kanji must have wrote that too. The staff is also a patient!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Danielle K on May 25th, 2013

Great doctor! Nobody else would talk to me and listen to the issues and help me change my medications! Everybody else just wanted to leave it as is! Easy to make an appointment with like the next week! She is quick when she is just doing medication management as all doctors are but as a new patient she took the time to listen and try to help!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  MCDONALDS: "HOW CAN I PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY"  |  show details
by Indian drug lord on May 8th, 2013

2 Hour wait on line for lunch. Hi maim, I'd like to order one happy meal with a side of Valium and instead of the toy can i have 10 tablets of Viagra, Plus One EXTRA large Big mac make that a super with extra extra xanax, Please do not forget the sweet and sour source and the medium french fries with the AdderalI this time, I also need a small fountain coke with 30 Ambien. Is that all SIR? Um no sorry i guess ill take the cybalta so it makes it appear like im not getting ALL narcotics. Ok your total is $80 sir, cash only no checks or medicaid. Please walk down the stairs to the right into atrium pharmacy and you order will be up in 30 minutes. Thanks Maim have a great month see ya in 28 days. SHE EVEN HAS A SIGN QUOTE ALL CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES MUST BE FILLED AT ATRIUM PHARMACY ON THE LOWER LEVEL. How illegal and a way to price gauge i wonder?? I got sick of there outrages prices and unwilling attitudes to help fill a rx a few days early so i didn't have to drive a hour back. They made me come back the next morning, really guys? They never helped. I then always took her scripts to my pharmacist who fills them within 2 minutes, The last visit i had enough of her playing Russian roulette lowering with my dose's every visit. We all know investigations are pending but don't the dr;s realize it makes them look worse but lowering people off so drastic and within 3 months having them find a new DR, This is a sign of a Guilty consonance and red flags go up even more, What is the good doctor hiding? Utter Joke

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  DEA  |  show details
by Mary Claire on Apr 27th, 2013

Well she had me on zanax , restoril and celesta and as soon as she told me the dea got wind and was investigating her she dropped me down from 75 2mgs to 75 1mgs and the next visit 30 1mgs. She's a drug pusher with a history of problems with the law for writing drugs like methadone, Stay far away they even will charge you copay's when you really don't have one and she has even double billed my insurance and made me pay $120. I got the statement in the mail and seen the charged them on the exact date. I reported her.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  REally nice lady who cares  |  show details
by Scott on Mar 28th, 2013

I have been seeing her for approximately 6 months . She got my depression under control. I finally have my life back after months of feeling terrible.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Bad Reviewer Isn't Familiar With Psychiatry  |  show details
Nov 15th, 2012

Dr Kanji is a GREAT psychiatrist. On my first visit she spent about 45 minutes with me learning about what I was having problems with. At the end she prescribed me with 2 medications, both of which I am happy with and are working great for me. After the first visit, I just visit her for my medication refills. It's a 5 minute visit. She asks if there are any problems and then simply gives you the prescriptions.THIS IS WHAT A PSYCHIATRIST DOES!People that are leaving negative reviews are looking for this woman to counsel them. She is not a PSYCHOLOGIST. If you want to talk to someone about your problems, go to a psychologist. If you want both medication and to talk, go to both a psychologist and a psychiatrist.I travel 45 minutes to see Dr. Kanji once a month and there are plenty of Psychiatrists closer but I wouldn't change. After decades of suffering, Dr. Kanji got me on the medication that made me feel normal again!

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Good Doctor  |  show details
Jun 25th, 2012

Dr Kanji is a good doctor, she helped me alot. I wait around 30 mins too see her. I recommend her. Shes not a drug pusher don't believe everything you read ( most these comments are from unstable people, after all that's some of the patients she treats)

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Experience  |  show details
Feb 21st, 2012

I have been seeing the Dr for awhile now. She and the new staff are amazing. She takes her time and truly cares.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Very confused by ratings  |  show details
Feb 21st, 2012

I have been seeing Dr. Kanji for over a year now and I might wait a little longer in her office, but she helped me very much. Also she doesn't rush anyone out of her office..she is there to prescribe you medicine and if you need to speak with her further she never pushes you away. And as far as the staff change and what not.. mind your business..its hers to deal with.. I have no problems at Doctor Kanji what so ever.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 26th, 2012

The office is busy, but staff is friendly. You will wait your turn accordingly. Dr. Kanji has her own style, which takes getting used to, but she is focused and direct and she certainly practices sound psychiatry. Therapist she is not. This was my first visit. I will go back.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 12th, 2012

It is fairly easy to get an appointment with Dr Kanji, which is good if you are having an emergency or need last minute visit. However, be prepared to wait long periods of time for an appointment that lasts all of 5 minutes. I don't mind being seen quickly, but she hurries too much because she is way over booked.The connivence kept ime coming back. Also that she would prescribe enough refills for me to go away to college and see her on breaks. While I liked this at first I now realize that, it is not the appropriate way to manage and check in while taking the medication I do.Last visit, I tried to talk to her about switching a medication but she only supported I go to a higher dose. She did not care to listen or hear my rationale. I had seen a counselor regularly and had a visit with another psychiatrist at school (one who actually spent 30 minutes talking to me) both suggested I look into a lower dose of different medication, since it was not working for me anymore. She would not hear any of it, claiming that a higher dose was the answer. She seems too medication driven, which is only a piece of treating many psychological conditions. The fact that she only takes cash is not only inconvenient, it is sketchy. As a long time patient, I have finally decided that I have had enough of the same experience every time and will not be returning. I suggest you do not see Dr Kanji unless you need to be seen right away, then switch to someone else as soon as possible.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Nov 28th, 2011

You are going to wait in every Doctor's office, but when you get in to see Dr. Kanji, she will give you as much time as you need. I don't see how she can get a bad rating, she is a caring doctor!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  okay  |  show details
Oct 19th, 2011

it seems like all the people on here went for anger issues... she's not exactly my favorite person but she's good at her job. of course she prescribes medicine, shes a psychiatrist thats what her job is. if you really need help the best, most successful treatment for all psychological problems is to see a therapist/psychologist AND a psychiatrist. the reason she doesnt talk is because if you did what you were supposed to and talked to a therapist you would have an easier time describing your problem to her. a psychiatrist is only to give you meds, she never claimed to be talk therapy too thats why she has therapists in her office. you have to see both if you need help. its not her job to talk to you, its her job to diagnose you and give you medicine. THERE'S A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PSYCHIATRY AND PSYCHOLOGY. also, if you dont want to wait a while, might i suggest going in the morning when theres less people.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  She's a good doctor  |  show details
Mar 16th, 2011

She's not a therapist, she's a medicine doctor. She knows what her patient's need and she has psychologists and therapists that work with her. She tests her patients for various mental disorders. Among the psychologists and therapists that work with her, she is the one with the power to write the prescription. She's good for doing what she has to do.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Good experiences here...  |  show details
Jan 12th, 2011

I have found Dr. Kanji to be very knowledgeable and helpful to my whole family. The entire staff I have dealt with has been kind and accommodating. In my opinion, most of the previous complainers here have had a bad experience because of the nature of their problem perhaps. I think most of her patients would agree that they would not have had the success they had without her. I know everyone I recommended to her agrees.....

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse