The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Julianne O'Callahan Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 4 Comments

3.8
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20 min

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

Lack of follow-up after miscarriage, unavailability

Posted on September 28th, 2011

I had been seeing this doctor several times. While she has relatively good bed-side manner I always felt that she wanted to get me out at the end of each appointment. I understand that she has a lot of patients so she may not remember what we had discussed in our last appointment but in my own job I work with several hundred clients at my workplace and I make an effort to remember our conversations. Maybe I just have a better memory. In any case, after struggling with a complicated pregnancy, this doctor never even once congratulated me or asked how I am doing, after several emails and phone calls. Her staff were the ones would call me even though I have not met her staff in person. I appreciated her staff a lot but am disappointed because she was the one I had been seeing. I am more than ready to find another doctor.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Greatest!

Posted on December 29th, 2010

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Misdiagnosed my problem

Posted on August 31st, 2010

I went to Dr. O'Callahan regarding two issues and then never went back: (1) I wanted to have a child but was concerned about the strong possibility that I might be a carrier of the cystic fibrosis gene and (2) one of my ovaries hurt a LOT every time I ovulated. Dr. O was very friendly and outgoing, which I appreciated, but she really missed the mark on my two issues. When I voiced my concerns about the CF gene, she gave me a lot of Happy Talk about how kids with cystic fibrosis can lead long, happy lives nowadays. When I told her that two of my family members had died of CF at a young age, she finally stopped her Happy Talk. Very disconcerting. The other issue was my painful ovary. Dr. O's answer was that I needed to exercise more. So, I had to go get another opinion. The second doctor did an ultrasound and found that I had a big hemorrhaging cyst on my ovary.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very caring, but no follow-up after a miscarriage

Posted on March 6th, 2010

Maybe I am expecting too much from my healthcare providers, but I really don't think so. I had an early miscarriage and was disappointed in the follow-up care provided. Well, the problem is that there wasn't any. Dr. O was wonderful about sitting with me to answer any questions I have. She has an amazing bedside manner. The unfortuate part is that the only information given to me was in answer to questions I asked. While I appreciate this, I would've liked to have had more pre-prepared support. For example, a brochure on miscarriage would have been nice. A referral to a local support group, books I should read, anything. All of this was overlooked, which I found rather disappointing. Lastly, after my hCG finally went back to zero, nobody from the office called me to check in on me. I would hope there would be some kind of follow-up with a patient who'd suffered a devastating loss like this. I understand that everyone is busy, but I find this to be a basic expectation of your caregiver.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on August 15th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on September 7th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 6th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on October 2nd, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on August 28th, 2014

One Star

Posted on June 25th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on March 11th, 2013

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on August 28th, 2010

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Julianne O'Callahan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Redwood City, CA.