ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Julio Davalos Is this you?
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
29.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Julio Davalos?


25 Ratings with 13 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

In 2013 Davalos, working for Chesapeake Urology Associates, bungled a urethrotomy by slashing into the sponge, then discharging me without doing anything to rectify the damage or stop the massive hemorrhaging. Within an hour, fearful of bleeding to death, I ambulanced to Mercy Hospital Emergency Room where it took 12 hours to staunch the bleeding and relieve the pain , plus two more days in the hospital to recover. To this day no record of this event has been permitted to appear in the Chesapeake Urology operating reports. It produced the most intense and enduring pain I have ever experienced in my life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2015

Amazing doctor and an even more amazing man.

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Davalos. He took the time to sit down and explain everything he was going to do, what everything meant, what could possibly happen and what to expect. Not only did he do all of this but he also took the time to reassure me that everything was going to be okay and he was very confident in his ability to handle my multiple surgeries. I can't say how much this man has changed my life and how very thankful I am.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2015

A Doctor to be Admired and Appreciated

I was searching for a physician who performs a HOLEP procedure on an enlarged prostate. Without physician help or recommendations we were able to find Dr. Davalos through a call to Chesapeake Urology. In our initial appointment he informed us of surgery options,and was very honest about his ability to use HOLEP on my condition. He gave us his full attention for as long as we needed him to answer questions. After gathering sufficient information he performed the very successful surgery within 2 weeks of the decision. I found him to be approachable, skillful, and possessing a great bedside manner. I recommend him without reservation.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 9th, 2014

Urological disaster

Julio Davalos bungled a urethrotomy , provoking massive hemorrhaging and sending me within an hour of my discharge from Chesapeake urology Associates in Glen Burnie I was taken via ambulance to the emergency room of Mercy Hospital, in Baltimore. It took 12 hours to clear the blood clots in my bladder, all with excruciating pain. I was then required to stay 36 more hours in Mercy Hospital for convalescence and observation. A devastating experience--the most extensively painful and frightening of my life. No explanation of what was done during the procedure to make this happen has been obtainable. Why it it happened remains a secret closely held by Davalos and Chesapeake Urology--raising suspicions of malpractice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 10th, 2014

Massive hemorrhaging-a urological disaster.

I employed Davalos--employed by Chesapeake Urology Associates in Glen Burnie, Maryland to do a urethrotomy--or DVIU. Two previous DVIUs had been done by a different doctor without incident. . Davalos failed attempt was an excruciatingly painful disaster. Ten minutes after leaving his office I began to be soaked in blood. A half hour later blood clots the size of golf balls were filling my pants. I was taken by ambulance to an emergency room. The pain grew to agonizing dimensions as clots continued to form and fill my bladder and to prevent urination. It took the ER 12 hours to syringe away the clots and partially reduce the pain--which continued even after as spasms. Even injections of morphine were not entirely effective in reducing my suffering. I was hospitalized for another 36 hours for continuing treatment. To this day neither Davalos nor Chesapeake Associates will divulge what Davalos did that produced the massive bleeding. It remains their tightly held secret. Avoid both.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 28th, 2013

The only reason I am able to give one star is for Dr. Davalos' empathy during such a difficult time. My mother in law was scheduled for surgery to have kidney stones removed 2 mths ago. The surgery ended in a fatality at the hands of this doctor and was ruled an accident. The impact that this tradgedy has deeply affected her family and friends. While this review is not to damage the reputation of this doctor, I believe prospective patients deserve the right to know.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2011

Charles E. Pettry

Dr.Davalos is one of the best doctors i have ever had. I wish all dr.'s were as caring and devoted to their profession as he is i found him to be caring,professional and very accurate on his diagnosis with an execellent beside manner along with doing everything he possibly could in order to help me as a person not just another patient.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 2nd, 2011

Not pleased

Dr. Davalos appeared concerned and knowledgeable during early visits. He took the time to explain the diagnosis of bladder cancer and answer questions. An appointment was made for surgery for the next available time, which was a couple of months out. On the Friday before the Tuesday surgery no contact was made to do any pre-surgery admission. So, a call was placed. Come to find out the surgery was no longer on Dr. Davalos' schedule! After some irate words, the staff agreed to reschedule and keep the same date. Only a few months later another surgery was needed after a scope revealed more cancer. We also found out then that the pathology from the first surgery actually showed a High Grade cancer, when we had been told it was Low Grade. We were told it needed to be done in 2 weeks, and someone would call with the appointment time. Over a month later, still no word. It took another irate call to push to get the surgery on the schedule ASAP. Just a few weeks later there was bleeding, so another scope was done just recently. The cancer had spread. After the scope, Dr. Davalos did not stop in. Discharge information said to call his office to set up a 2 week follow-up appointment. When the call was placed, the staff informed us that Dr. Davalos is no longer in practice! This is only a couple of days after the scope was done. Really makes us wonder about the kind of care he was providing after all.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2011

Nurse

This Dr. had passion and is willing to listen and explain the course of treatment no matter how long it takes for the patient to understand the medical or surgical need. The office has suffered from staffing issues that seem to be resolved. He has a great caring staff!!! Special thanks to his office/nursing staff.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2011

Dr Davalous,A Good Guy and Great Doctor

Hi , I came to see Dr Davalous,after looking for one in Huntington,and decide to see Dr Davalous,and I must admit he is great,never had any kind of problem,he caring, answers all question, explains things completely, great staff, his nurse ( Rhonda ) super,just can't say enough, about him not sure about his other problems but it doesn't effect his work ,I appreciate all he does for me and will always see Dr D

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2010

I had been told a lot of apparant misinformation concerning Dr Davalos, most not so good. In my case I found him to be very concerned with my case and very responsive to my needs ,anytime night or day weekend or not I always recieve a call from him or his nurse I have had 4 surgerys this summer till now Christmas 2010 and even on Christmas Eve and his office closed he and his nurse came in and addressed my needs. I am very satisfied and appreceritave for his service

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 6th, 2010

DANGER

I did some investigating into this MD after he screwed up my surgery. I looked into his family and legal problems and his wife is a known drug addict. I will never subject myself to such danger again.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Julio Davalos is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Glen Burnie, MD.

  • Dr. Nikhil Sheth

    Urology

    Glen Burnie, MD 0 mi

    4.8
    (5)
    44
  • Dr. Kaiser Robertson III

    Dr. Kaiser Robertson III

    Urology

    Glen Burnie, MD 0 mi

    4.6
    (5)
    22
  • Dr. Alice Tsao

    Dr. Alice Tsao

    Urology

    Glen Burnie, MD 0 mi

    4.4
    (5)
    16