Dr. Justin Maccarthy MD, FRCSC Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology Clearfield, PA

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-2.1)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    47%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    41%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
believes he is gods wrath
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
poor outcome
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2017
incompetent
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
ruined my life health and future his practice of unconventional procedures ruined my health he is not to be trusted in ear care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2017
ruined my friends life severed a muscle behind the ear and caused permanent damage consulted a plastic surgeon to fix the problem and said it cant be fixed he is a butcher so don't go to him for any medical treatment
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent care received from initial visit, through my surgery and now as I recover. Great patient treating, excellent bedside manner. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't rave enough about Dr. MacCarthy. Long story short, I developed a month-long nasty ear infection over the winter and tried to find relief through a local urgent care clinic, my family physician, and finally at the ER. That's 3 doctors over the course of 3 weeks. I ended up having a ruptured ear drum along with an ear totally plugged with pus- I honestly thought I had lost some of my hearing. Plus it didn't help that my family physician acted like it was the most terrible thing she had ever seen yet wouldn't refer me to a specialist. After seeing my family physician on Friday, and my ear infection becoming worse by Sunday, I went to the ER. In the ER that Sunday night, the PA recommended Dr. MacCarthy. She told me to call first thing Monday morning, which I did. They scheduled me for an appointment about 4 hours later on that day. I saw the Dr., and he cleaned my ear right out. He prescribed me an oral antibiotic as well as some antibiotic ear drops- FINALLY, I HAD SOME RELIEF! I could hear for the first time in a week! I went back a week later for a hearing test and my hearing was thankfully not damaged at all from all that my ear had been through. Dr. MacCarthy is very thorough, personable, and really makes you feel as though you're getting the best care you can get. I'm so thankful I decided to go to the ER because she referred me here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 13th, 2015
Save your time and $$
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If there were a way to give him 0 stars I would. If you think going to Clearfield to see and ENT would be better than Dr. Roscoe in DuBois, don't waste your time. Go somewhere else. This office was TERRIBLE! The staff is completely impersonal, the whole facility is badly outdated, and trying to get any cooperation from them is futile. I had one appointment for a very simple situation and it was completely horrifying. I do not believe the Dr. has any interest in patients other than $$$. Like any doc you spend more time filling out paperwork so there is no way out of paying their ridiculous fees and more time in the waiting room for the doc to spend all of about 5 minutes asking questions and checking boxes on a paper before ordering more tests and making sure you have an appointment to come back and spend some more money. Spend the extra time and money and go see a "real" ENT in either State College or Altoona. I had a scheduled appointment and waited well over an hour past my appointed time with NO explanation given other than "it was busy".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fantastic! He takes time, listens and doesn't rush tooperate. He provides guidance and very good directions.I would highly recommend Dr. MacCarthy in a highly specialized field. He stays up to date by taking seminarsand attending medical conferences, and giving seminars.Wonderful physician/surgeon!

1.0 of 5
April 21st, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Justin Maccarthy, MD, FRCSC is similar to this 1 Doctor near Clearfield, PA.