ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karleen Swarztrauber Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karleen Swarztrauber?

Adult ADHD

Get the facts about attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in adults, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karleen Swarztrauber?

Ratings and Reviews

43 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    16
  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    16

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 43 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 4th, 2015

Highly recommend, especially if you have gluten intolerance or celiac concerns.

I saw Karleen Swarztrauber due to confusing neurological symptoms that continued after I had been diagnosed gluten intolerant and had discontinued gluten in my diet for over a year, yet the neurological symptoms persisted. She was able to help me significantly, including diagnosing me with celiac.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2015

She was the best Neurosurgeon I have seen. Would like to know if she will see me for post polio syndrome?

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 1st, 2013

Excellent doctor with holistic approach

Dr. Swarztrauber has been taking care of me for a year now. She is always professional and courteous. She is hard to get in to see and very busy and does run late sometimes. But I appreciate her approach to the whole patient and that she doesn't just throw drugs at you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2013

Beware - Unstable Doctor who needs to see Dr. herself

First of all, I feel vindicated by some of the other reviews. Dr. S yells(yes really raises her voice), shrieks and is indignant when you question her on anything. I think she needs to see a mental health professional and that is just being honest, not trying to be mean. Oh yes, to say she is "not truthful" is being nice. Here are some of the highlights : her office called me with someone else's test results. She came into the exam room thinking I was someone else -- and this was all after I had seen her 3 times for neck injection - day surgery procedures, so we had a history with each other. She called my primary care Dr. and told him she thought I was a drug seeker because she didn't read her chart where I told her I was taking vicodin for a neck injury. She said I "lied" to her about taking vicodin. I pointed right to my paperwork where I wrote it out as the generic name - hydrocodone- and that is where she lost it "well that doesn't say Vicodin, you didn't say Vicodin" And how ironic is this. We just moved into a new neighborhood in Hillsdale a year ago. Guess who is our neighbor? Yep. Dr. S lives right behind us. As a side note, she was ALWAYS, always at least an hour late for every appointment.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 15th, 2012

Lies & Consequences

Use this doctor at your own risk. I went in for neurological issues & doctor made correct diagnosis but also made several misdiagnoses totally out ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 15th, 2012

Lies & Consequences

Use this doctor at your own risk. I went in for neurological issues & doctor made correct diagnosis but also made several misdiagnoses totally outside her realm. She then caused me severe, excruciating pain during epidural steroid injection; pain that continues after two full years. To make things worse she added flagrant lies (yes, I said lies!) to my records that I can't get anyone to care enough to force their removal. Records stay with a person for life. Now I face higher insurance premiums because of her false statements, and may be refused totally in the future.I filed a complaint with Oregon Medical Board & all they do is protect the doctor. You can't sue a doctor unless another Dr will testify that there was negligence (fat chance).She exhibits bizarre behavior if you don't agree with her, to the point of shrieking at you. All I can do is post reviews & make references on Facebook. In my opinion she is very unprofessional for a Dr. I'd be glad to share more with you if you want specific details.My guess is that any flattering reviews here were written by her office staff.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2012

Should have gone sooner

I was referred to Dr S several months ago. After reading some highly critical reviews, I was afraid to go. Finally the pain won out and I made an appt. I admit I was completely prepared to walk out the door if I observed any unusual behavior. However, my experience was completely positive. I found Dr S 's manner to be friendly, informative and genuine. The office staff was pleasant and very helpful. As for the reviewer that was "diagnosed" as having celiac, I wonder if you would accept an ophthalmologist diagnosis of neurological symptoms. I find it refreshing that a neurologist would, for whatever reason, comment that you have symptoms of celiac. I would receive that information as a pointer, something to follow up on in the future. I do not have celiac but, much to my dismay, found that when I stopped eating gluten, my muscle and joint paint were reduced by 90%. To me, finding a neurologist that looks at me as a whole person, is a great thing.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2012

celiac

I was diagnosed as having celiac by Dr. S. Her diagnosis was based on just looking at me. A later blood test (ordered by a different doctor) confirmed my suspicions - I do not have celiac. Another doctor who knew about Dr. S's rush to judgment with me told me that she has a new patient who was also told, incorrectly, by Dr. S. that she has celiac. She misdiagnosed other conditions re me also.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2012

Wonderful

I had been struggling with pain due to spinal fusion for months and had massive swelling and spasms in my feet and legs. She quickly spotted the two unrelated issues and started me on a new diet and medicines, everything is now much better.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

September 9th, 2011

always seek 2nd opinion

I have had two outside opinions and they both have shook their heads at her diagnosis. Please be careful.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 8th, 2010

Not good with numbers.

Recommended a procedure for temporary pain relief, and stated the cost of $1,300. After the procedure bills rolled in for over $11,000. When questioned, her pissy PA said it was my responsibility to understand the full costs.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2010

intelligent and caring doctor

She is wonderful. She will not give up until she can diagnose what you have and support it with diagnostic tests for insurance purposes. Amazingly caring and intelligent. She is newer to the area (just a few years) but is quickly gaining a high reputation. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karleen Swarztrauber is similar to the following 3 Doctors near White Salmon, WA.

  • Dr. Elizabeth Chambers

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Child Psychiatry

    Hood River, OR 2.95 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    27
  • Dr. Daniel Mccabe

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Hood River, OR 2.95 mi

    3.4
    (12)
    12
  • Dr. James Macmillan Jr

    Dr. James Macmillan Jr

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Hood River, OR 3.05 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    37