advertisement
Browse Health
Internist, Pediatrician
22 years of experience
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.0
  •  
Total Ratings

19

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 22 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 22 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
Write a Review
  •  
Nice, But Dangerous! show details Nice, But Dangerous!
Jul 13th, 2015

I used to love Dr. Fong and believed she was an excellent doctor, but I think perhaps she has lost her focus on medicine, and is making errors in judgement. She prescribed a medication for me that made me very ill and refused to acknowledge the correlation between my symptoms and her prescription. Here's the story... When prescribing the medication, she did not discuss any of the side effects, and I ended up having all of them, except one. I shared the debilitating symptoms I was having, and she never made the connection between my symptoms and the medication she prescribed-despite me repeatedly asking if there was a correlation. Instead, she told me it was anxiety and my symptoms were panic attacks. She prescribed anxiety medication and referred me to another doctor. That doctor confirmed I was having an allergic reaction to the medication she prescribed, and once I stopped taking it, all symptoms disappeared. When I returned to Dr. Fong to tell her the good news about the other doctor's report, and discovering why I was so ill, she continued denying her prescription was the cause. I am a very healthy person and I have never had any prior health issues, so the symptoms I was having were very atypical and, in my opinion, should have warranted at least a little research on her part. Furthermore, I learned from a specialist that the other medication options she gave me in lieu of the one that I was obviously allergic to were not appropriate medications for my situation. Her lack of acknowledgement and the inappropriate medication alternatives she gave me seem to demonstrate a lack of focus/effort in medicine, incompetence or pride in the belief she could never be wrong-all of which make her unsafe for her patients. Her bedside manner is great, but I don't think she is the doctor she used to be. Be careful and pay close attention if you decide to continue seeing her!

Mar 17th, 2015

Very nice office staff, and love the doctor. Spends time and makes you feel comfortable

Feb 2nd, 2015

I had a routine check up. She was very thorough and easy to talk with, answered all questions.

Mar 4th, 2011

Dr. Fong has been an excellent diagnostician and is very conservative in prescribing medications for me. She takes her time to listen, question, and work on a game plan that fits my lifestyle and family situation. I have great confidence in her remaining quite current re: recent research, medications, and lifestyle options. I am comfortable referring friends and family to her.

  •  
Dr. Karen Fong show details Dr. Karen Fong
Jan 6th, 2011

Long wait time in office (over an hour). Long wait time just to get an appointment (2 to 3 weeks). Likes to prescribe pills even when you make lifestyle changes to avoid medication. Prescribes medications that are contraindicated with medications currently taking. Office staff very uncooperative. Phone calls not returned for days. Don't criticize or you will not be able to get an appointment with her again ... and the PA is not worth seeing.BUT ... she is personable and if you like taking medication without regard to possible adverse interactions/side effects, and don't mind an incompetent office staff, then she would be a good doctor for you.

  •  
Quality Care show details Quality Care
Dec 1st, 2010

Started seeing Dr. Fong this year as our family's primary doctor. She has been nothing but professional, cordial and thorough in her exams in my opinion. She also has a great bedside manner and my two year old son loves her!I do have to admit that it is kind of hard to get appointments in a timely fashion but I assume that due to her quality of care she is in high demand. Her staff does seem a bit stretched thin in their duties but in this economy who isn't suffering from that a bit.Overall I would highly recommend Dr. Fong to anyone who was looking for a great internist or pediatrician.

Nov 16th, 2010

Dr. Fong is caring and committed. She has always responded to my needs and has been excellent. I highly recommend her

  •  
Lousy Service show details Lousy Service
Aug 31st, 2010

Seems no more interested in the patient than giving a prescription. Office staff is clueless and doesn't take any time to actually look at records. Does not keep up to date. Needs constant push from patient to do their job - poorly. Karen herself might be ok, but her office sucks. Does not follow up on anything. No problem with renewing prescriptions, just doesn't follow up on anything.

  •  
Overall, awful. show details Overall, awful.
May 10th, 2010

Dr. Fong rushed in 45 late, gave me a very cursory examination, was rude, condescending, and worst of all - half-way through told me she'd be right back, then sent her assistant in who couldn't answer my questions and sent me on my way. UNPROFESSIONAL. Also - after switching doctors, I find out she was wrong. So also inaccurate.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse