Dr. Karen Allen MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Huntsville, AL

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.9)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2017
Great !!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
my family have been patients of Dr Allen's ever since she came to Huntsville. She is caring honest band knowledgeable. She does not like to give narcotics which is the . Way she should be. I have had her call me at home to check an office visit. Excellent Dr. Allen is a. Wonderful doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Allen is a caring and attentive physician. She listens and is very knowledgeable and accurate on diagnosis. She always takes time to answer all my concerns and questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2016
One of the best ever
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the best doctors I have ever had. Our who family sees her. Caring, concerned and confident, as well as cautious. Doesn't just throw drugs at things...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm not sick often, luckily for me, and I do not run to the doctor for the sniffles. As a result, I haven't been to the office for myself in more than 2 years although I have taken my young daughter, who is also a patient, several times. I called today to schedule well visits for the both of us and was informed that I had been "released" as a patient for not visiting. After the staff checked with the doctor, they informed me that I could not be readmitted because she had no openings. The courtesy of a letter would have been nice. How long have I had no family doctor, all the while thinking I did? And why would you release me, without warning, when I'm visiting on a semi-regular basis with my child? You know I haven't moved out of town. It makes no sense. Neither of us will return to this office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2015
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Allen has been my family doctor for 10 yrs. or more. She has gone the extra mile to help me and my husband with our medical problems. I have experienced her compassion for her patients with 2 of my friends who had Very Serious problems. She has always been great referring us to specialists when it was needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 18th, 2015
Mrs.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent , carrying a wonderful Dr. Have been a patient for over 10 years. Ha ave been for my family always.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
Unprofessional and Uncaring
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Unprofessional, Uncaring, Discriminatory against overweight patients, Rude, and I do not recommend her at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2013
Happy Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Finding a new doctor after my old one moved away was a hard thing for me. I hate change. But I found Dr. Allen to be a very pleasant surprise. She really listens, is very thorough and she seems to really care about her patients health. She gave me copies of all my blood work without my even asking and discussed each item in detail on my follow up visit. I am a very detail oriented person and she covered all of my concerns even before I asked. I am very pleased with her as a physician.

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is nice and will listen to you. That's the only positive. Went for knee issues and she tries to push antidepressants! If you are hurt your better off at the e.r. Because your only getting aleve and antidepressants. She must be getting major kickbacks from pharmaceutical reps. NEVER AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2011
Very Nice and Thorough
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Asked detailed questions about my family history and spent more time with me than most. Let's you talk. Is knowledgeable about the side effects of medicines. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2011
Beverly
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
All patients should have a doctor like Dr. Allen. I have been her patient for over 10 years. Since moving my parents down here in 2009, she became their doctor too. She guided us through my Dad's illness (until his death)with professionalism and kindness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2010
Does not listen to patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Allen for a few years now and am not impressed. I recently went for my yearly visit to refill meds. Dr. Allen asked me a few questions but never physically even touched me. My previous doctor (who would still be my doctor but she moved)always listened to my heart and lungs, checked lymph nodes, listened to artery in neck, looked in ears and throat etc. on my yearly visit. I asked for the Shingles vaccine and she gave me a prescription and said to get the pharmacist to give it to me. My insurance will not pay for it this way (cost is $200). I had blood work done and when the nurse called me with the results, I asked for a copy of the report. She said it would cost me $2 a page to have her fax it to me. I went to the lab myself and got a copy for free. I think I am pretty intune with my body but Dr. Allen does not listen to me when I make suggestions. I don't find this acceptable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Karen Allen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.