Dr. Karen Kolba MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.6)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    53%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Wait Time 27.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 13th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kolba is one of the best doctors I know. She takes the time to listen to what is going on with each patient. She is very knowledgeable in all areas and gives the best advice ever. She has helped my husband through several difficult diagnosis. We love her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Of all my excellent doctors, she is my most caring. I trust her completely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 25th, 2015
Mean spirited person
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not well liked, from what i can tell. As a patient she treats us very nice, but the way she is when she is not seeing patients is what, I think, turns people off. Overly critical person? I can see it. Psychological issues? I wouldn't doubt it. Mean and abrasive towards others? Definitely. My question is can you find a very good Rheumatologist that doesn't exhibit any of that? Highly likely and probably beneficial in the long run.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 7th, 2015
englishman
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
cruel, cranky, old, and did i say not very nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 31st, 2015
Yikes...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She may be board certified in medicine but I think this doctor needs to be board certified in people skills. She may be bipolar or has some sort of personality disorder.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She always gets you in no matter what. She's terrific!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 9th, 2013
Best Rheumatologist in 35 years!
My husband has had RA for the past 35 years and saw 5 different doctors in 5 different areas prior to having the good fortune of discovering Dr. Kolba when we moved to the Central Coast. She is, by far, the most caring, intelligent and competent doctors my husband has seen. She treats the person, not the disease. We feel so fortunate to have found her, even if it did take 35 years!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 5th, 2013
Mr
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't believe the negative reviews! This is one of the best Rheumatologists you will ever see. Dr Kolba is very knowledgeable and will take the time to listen to you. Her dogs are wonderful and CLEAN and so is the office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2013
Excellent doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After reading some of the negative comments here, I felt compelled to tell my experience with Dr. Kolba. I have had severe RA for 36 years and have been seeing her for 15 of those, so I feel I know her and her office very well. She turned my life around by figuring out the best program of treatment and striving to keep me pain-free, something that had not been possible with my previous doctor. Not only has she been compassionate toward me, she has also advised me about assistance in obtaining some of the most expensive medications. I’ve spoken with other patients and have heard similar viewpoints as mine. Never have I heard a patient complain about Dr. Kolba or her dogs or her office staff or her political views. Even if I didn’t like her staff or dogs or views, it would not prevent me from seeing a doctor I consider a brilliant physician. I believe her medical knowledge is the most important aspect, not these other things. By the way, her dogs are seen in the office only periodically, and patients I know love them and even bring them treats. I have to believe that the reviews here that exaggerate the dogs’ presence are only from transient patients who are making quick judgments, not long-term established patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2013
Help u if go here
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Malicious physician. Will do anything and everything to screw you over.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 28th, 2013
Hate to say it
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The most memorable thing about my visit was the physician's dogs running around the clinic. I don't mind it. But that's where the good stops with this physician. She definitely has a chip on her shoulder when it comes to the male gender. She seems knowledgeable, but her ego is a huge turnoff. She treated me with methotrexate and I don't feel like it's controlling my arthhritis. I couldn't shake the cold and unwelcoming feeling stepping into this clinic. Can't explain it but it felt the whole set up made my skin stand and want to leave my body. Or maybe that was the methotrexate. I can't tell.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 9th, 2013
HORRIBLE OFFICE GO TO DR. EIBUSHUTZ!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office was very unprofessional with dogs roaming in the office and dog hair trailing behind. Unclean office! Triple check your insurance is contracted with this doctor before visit. Office makes big mistakes told be that they take my insurance then realized someone made a mistake in their office and now expects be to pay over 300 dollars, after double checking about my insurance. Unethical practice of stating that they accept your insurance and then turning around and billing you for full amount. After long lengthy conversation with office the doctor offered to cut my bill but no where near what I should of paid in reality. The office doesn't even deserve one star! OFFICE STAFF IS RUDE AND NASTY UNPROFESSIONAL! I had to turn the volume down on my cell phone because an office employee was "speaking" too loudly at me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Karen Kolba, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Maria, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Atul Vachhani

24 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Eric Jahnke

37 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kishor Popat

43 years experience

3.1 of 5