Dr. Karen Kovalow-St John MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    71%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Wait Time 12.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 11th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had to wait to get scheduled to see the doctor since I was a new patient and this took some months. She was worth the wait, she determined the cause of my joint pain when no one else could and gave me some great recommendations. My pain is manageable now and under control.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She made me feel like I was wasting her time!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2012
Caring and Compasionate
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kovolow-St John is wonderful! Initial appointment takes a while to schedule but she is worth the wait. She spends an incredible amount of time with me and I always feel better when I leave her office because of her down to earth manner and compassion. Always finds time to share a laugh! She's not in my insurance network but I refuse to change doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 7th, 2012
Horrible physician -- do not recommend
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This physician had nerve to tell me to live with my Lupus, since that is my new life. No discussion of ways to help aleviate arthritic pain or fatigue, PLUS she even yelled at me that I needed to learn to live with it. I was able to get a new Rheum. and she immediately helped me understand and CONTROL my Lupus. Now, I have a better quality of life and feel the new physician at least listens to the patients!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2012
A Godsend!
Wait time
10 minutes
Very down-to-earth, caring, knowledgeable. Sits down and truly listens to what you have to say. Unlike most doctors, she smiles and laughs along with you, puts you at ease. She is well worth the initial waiting period to see her. I wish all doctors could be more like her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2011
EXCELLENT DOCTOR
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I was initially referred to her I had to wait approximately 3 months for my first appointment. She is well worth the wait! She is a real down to earth people person and makes you feel like she really cares about you as a person and not just your medical condition. Office staff is wonderful and phone calls are returned promptly. Don't be put off by the wait for your initial appointment. She is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2011
A very good and caring Dr.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing her for over 2 years now. She ask questions and cares about her patients. Listens to her patients complaints.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 15th, 2010
Appointment Time
Easy Appointment
It took them a week to call me to make an appointment after my Doctor called their office and made a referrel. I had called twice in the mean time and left messages. When they finally returned my call I was informed that I woulnd't be able to be seen for four months. No thanks!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2010
One of the best doctors I've ever had!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is one of the best doctors I have ever had the pleasure of meeting! She is straight to the point, but courteous. She is very down to earth to the point where you can understand everything she is telling you. She takes her time explaining anything you don't understand. Very nice, sympathetic and all around a great doctor! This community is lucky to have her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2010
Excellant Doctor!!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr K for about 2.5-3 yrs now. She has helped me a lot. Whenever I have to call into the office with a problem, she is the one that calls back to see what is wrong. She is very knowledgable and actually listens to her patients. She is a godsend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2009
COMPASSIONATE WITH EMPATHY
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I WAS TOTALLY IN AWE WITH HER PEOPLE PERSONALITY.SHE MADE ME FEEL AT EASE,AND HELPED ME CALM DOWN DURING A STRESS FULL TIME WITH MY PAIN ISSUE.VALUED MY QUESTION'S,EXPLAINED THE ANSWER'S SO I UNDERSTOOD THEM.TREATED ME LIKE A PERSON AND NOT A NUMBER.NEVER MAKES ME FEEL HURRIED.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Very caring and easy to talk with
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Karen Kovalow-St John, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chesterton, IN.

Doctor

Dr. John Brady

25 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. James Hasbargen

40 years experience

3.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Sumedha Dhar

7 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor