The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karen Mead Is this you?
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 12

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
44.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Mead?


15 Ratings with 8 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2016

The worst

I agree with the other reviewers. She is a horrible doctor. Heartless. Cold. More interested in trying to get family to allow patient to die than to help patient improve. Our experience was some years ago. Sorry that other people were subjected to her care and lost a loved one as we did. Hope she is retired so she can't harm more people. Assigned to us by head of critical care who was also heartless and incompetent. They should call her Dr. Death.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 24th, 2013

heartless horrible doctor

our parent was under her care while critically ill and died. she was more interested in trying to convince us to let our parent die than anything else. she was assigned to our parent's care due to her supposed expertise in working with critically ill patients. she was cold, heartless and incompetent. she displayed a horrible bedside manner to our parent and was disrespectful to our ill parent and our family. do not entrust your loved one's care to her. you will be sorry. I was saddened to read that other families had the same experience with her as our family did.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2012

She should retire

She was in charge of my Son's care at MCH and he died under her care. He had poor nursing care as well as he lax attention to my Son when he was very ill and needed help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 10th, 2011

Mead and her staff on the 5th floor at Highland Hospital don't care about their patients. They leave them in bed soiled with themselves..staff is too lazy to change them..its just easier to medicate them to make them sleep..Mead doesn't order the proper test and is too busy to talk to you..Retire Mead..its time!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 31st, 2010

Beware!

Beware!!!!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2010

Uncaring, rude doctor with a lack of human touch. Lacks the time to spend with patients and their family members.Dr. Mead...do the Rochester community a great service...RETIRE !

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 15th, 2010

The previous review is so inaccurate.

Dr. Mead is an outstanding physician. She takes care of the sickest and most complicated patients and does so with thorough dedication and professionalism. She has always had nothing but a lovely demeanor with me and I am pleased to have her.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 4th, 2010

terrible doctor bedside manner stinks

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 7th, 2015

4.0 Rating

February 27th, 2015

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

February 5th, 2015

3.7 Rating

December 10th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karen Mead is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Rochester, NY.

  • Dr. Alexandra Adams

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Rochester, NY 0 mi

    3.0
    (2)
    10
  • Dr. Ummara Shah

    Internal Medicine

    Rochester, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    9
  • Dr. Richard Farmer

    Internal Medicine, Gastroenterology

    Rochester, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    57