The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karen Porte Is this you?

Filter Reviews

27 Ratings • 8 Comments

4.0
  • 19
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
23 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Porte?

Showing 12 of 27 Ratings

One Star

Posted on January 16th, 2016

I,too like some of the others listed here was told by Dr Porte I had adult growth hormone deficiencies! I had to give myself injections EVERYDAY of this crap! After she left Joplin Missouri I ran into her head nurse. She informed me almost EVERYONE was told they were deficient in Adult growth hormone !! ( smells like a kick back to me) Her exact word were " I am surprised that someone in this office did not die!!" She is a very nice and friendly doctor, but that alone is not what you are paying her for! I started seeing her in 1996, my initial OFFICE visit was $1500.00...Thought I had finally found a doctor that would listen to me and she promised me she would make me feel better! Wish I had NEVER gone to her now! Hind sight is 20/20. Please be careful....

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 23rd, 2015

I wish I could find out where she is located at now. I really loved having her as my doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Doctor ever

Posted on June 2nd, 2012

After seeing many other doctors, Dr Porte spent the time necessary to listen to my concerns and actually diagnose my underlying condition. She is an amazing and caring physician who goes the extra mile to help her patients. I really appreciate her!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Misdiagnosed with growth hormone deficiency

Posted on May 24th, 2011

Dr. Porte said I have adult growth hormone deficiency. The pituitary stimulation tests came back normal but she insisted me hormone levels were too. low. I had no symptoms, I was in good health just coming in for a cold but she talked me into an expensive pituitarty function test done in her office. Weeks later I began shooting up growth hormone shot. Dr. Porte kept increasing the dose. I had edema and hair falling out and my menstrual periods became irratic. I went to another endocrinologist who had taken me off the growth hormone. He said I never needed it.My bones still hurt.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 28th, 2011

Great doc! Listens to me and takes care of my illness.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

long time patient

Posted on November 24th, 2009

Thanks to her my diagnosis of hypothroidism was made and proper treatment was done. My only issue is that I cannot find her. She has moved from Chicago Heights and Parsons, KS :(

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

misdiagnosed

Posted on March 28th, 2009

This doctor misdiagnosed me with growth hormone deficiency. The side effects of a hormone I didn't need was awful.Dr. Porte is nice but she overdiagnosis HGH deficiency.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Endocrinologist Ever!!!

Posted on October 29th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on May 23rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on May 13th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 8th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 20th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karen Porte is similar to the following 3 Doctors near O Fallon, MO.