ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karen Porte Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Porte?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Porte?

Ratings and Reviews

27 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    19
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
23 min

Showing 27 Ratings with 8 Comments

1.0 Rating

January 16th, 2016

I,too like some of the others listed here was told by Dr Porte I had adult growth hormone deficiencies! I had to give myself injections EVERYDAY of this crap! After she left Joplin Missouri I ran into her head nurse. She informed me almost EVERYONE was told they were deficient in Adult growth hormone !! ( smells like a kick back to me) Her exact word were " I am surprised that someone in this office did not die!!" She is a very nice and friendly doctor, but that alone is not what you are paying her for! I started seeing her in 1996, my initial OFFICE visit was $1500.00...Thought I had finally found a doctor that would listen to me and she promised me she would make me feel better! Wish I had NEVER gone to her now! Hind sight is 20/20. Please be careful....

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2015

I wish I could find out where she is located at now. I really loved having her as my doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 2nd, 2012

Best Doctor ever

After seeing many other doctors, Dr Porte spent the time necessary to listen to my concerns and actually diagnose my underlying condition. She is an amazing and caring physician who goes the extra mile to help her patients. I really appreciate her!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2011

Misdiagnosed with growth hormone deficiency

Dr. Porte said I have adult growth hormone deficiency. The pituitary stimulation tests came back normal but she insisted me hormone levels were too. low. I had no symptoms, I was in good health just coming in for a cold but she talked me into an expensive pituitarty function test done in her office. Weeks later I began shooting up growth hormone shot. Dr. Porte kept increasing the dose. I had edema and hair falling out and my menstrual periods became irratic. I went to another endocrinologist who had taken me off the growth hormone. He said I never needed it.My bones still hurt.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2011

Great doc! Listens to me and takes care of my illness.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 24th, 2009

long time patient

Thanks to her my diagnosis of hypothroidism was made and proper treatment was done. My only issue is that I cannot find her. She has moved from Chicago Heights and Parsons, KS :(

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 28th, 2009

misdiagnosed

This doctor misdiagnosed me with growth hormone deficiency. The side effects of a hormone I didn't need was awful.Dr. Porte is nice but she overdiagnosis HGH deficiency.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 29th, 2008

Best Endocrinologist Ever!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

May 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 8th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karen Porte is similar to the following 3 Doctors near O Fallon, MO.

  • Kevin Weikart

    Internal Medicine

    O Fallon, MO 0 mi

    3.8
    (12)
    33
  • Dr. Matthew Meier

    Internal Medicine

    O Fallon, MO 0 mi

    3.8
    (12)
    29
  • Dr. Paul Hinton

    Internal Medicine, Pediatrics

    O Fallon, MO 0 mi

    2.9
    (17)
    11