ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karl Illig Is this you?

Filter Reviews

38 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.7
  • 18
  • 3
  • 8
  • 3
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karl Illig?

Showing 12 of 38 Ratings

Husband in disbelief

Posted on November 4th, 2016

I showed up on time at 10:30 for a noon surgery. After waiting two hours, in the waiting room my husband called over a passing nurse to ask what was going on. 20 min later a nurse comes by and I ask what the problem was and she said they are falling behind. I get into pre-op and Dr. Illig comes in with an attitude telling me I was nasty to his staff. I told him I wasn't, I just wanted to know what the problem was. He in turn acted rude to me telling me he might not want to do the surgery now. My husband spoke up calmly saying I wasn't rude, I never raised my voice, I never used bad language. He said I was a little cranky because I haven't eaten in over 12 hours now, but affirmed I was only asking questions. Dr. Illig then badgered me, got me crying and upset then said well now we can't do surgery and stormed out. My husband was in disbelief. I got dressed and we walked out and filed a complaint with the hospital patient advocate and the administration. I don't know what his problem is, but he has no bedside manner and cares more for his young nurses than his patients.

Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Happy patient

Posted on June 7th, 2016

I'm happy to be Dr Illegs patient. He and his staff are very professional and truly care about their patients. My surgery is coming up next week and I feel like I'm in very capable hands.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Faultless Professional

Posted on May 10th, 2015

Warm, highly competent, qualified surgeon. We are eternally grateful to his fine care and talent.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Made me feel at ease

Posted on April 23rd, 2015

Attentive, thorough, and made me feel at ease.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Poor follow-up post-op

Posted on September 24th, 2013

Dr. Illig operated on my father ( a typical WWII vet & great guy) in Rochester, NY., my dad bled terribly a few weeks after the surgery and his local GP doctor said the incision looked infected. Dr. Illig's reply was that "a local doctor wouldn't know what he was looking at...." and referred my dad to his nurse practicioner....- my dad died subsequently from the infection.... I will forever fault myself for not bringing my dad to my home in Calif & UCLA for proper care.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

All doctors should know how to pay attention like this man does.

Posted on December 1st, 2010

Dr. Illig performed surgery on me in 2005, related to thoracic outlet syndrome. He is a busy man, functioning as head of the Vascular Surgery group at Strong Memorial, teaching, and researching. Yet, I found, that in the relative brief appointments I had with him for pre-op, day of surgery and post-op, that he bring an incredible sense of presence, concentration, focus, an attentiveness and listening skill that was a surprise, comfort, and pleasure. I wish all doctors could be understand that fine art of being "there," focused on their patient. Come prepared with your questions and accept that some things may change due to the challenging schedule this man keeps. Dr. Illig is a first rate surgeon and a compassionate human being.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great

Posted on June 11th, 2010

all i have to say about DR. Illig .... is i trust him with my life.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on September 21st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on July 5th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 9th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on July 1st, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 8th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karl Illig is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tampa, FL.