Overall Review

3.4
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

2.3 (-1.1)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    28%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 35 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

2.0 of 5
August 5th, 2015
Factory Medicine
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long time patient 2+ with the Dr Kaplan. He is a great guy however he is showing signs of burnout with Lakeside. It take 2 months (no joke) to see him and unless its literally life or death, his assistant Tabitha is rude and snarky, and he is very quick to refer out for almost everything. Bottom line go elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2012
Great Family Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife and I have been going to Dr Kaplan for the last five years and he has proven to be an outstanding family physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2011
This experience still haunts me.
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not only did the doctor always want to look at my 'hearts' (and yes, he actually said that!) whenever I came in for whatever reason, he misdiagnosed my hypothyroidism even though the LAB TECH CIRCLED MY ELEVATED TSH on my last. Basically he told me the gaining 65 lbs, the lethargy, the hair loss, poor memory, exhaustion and dry skin were because I was depressed. He gave me prozac and sent me home to cry in my bed. Luckily a friend referred me to another doc who looked at my symptoms and labs and got me on the correct protocol. This guy even had the nerve to call me after I requested my records be transferred and ask why. He's an idiot at best and dangerous at worst.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2011
Great guy all around!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr karl kaplan is a good hearted md!....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 30th, 2011
He is a good Doc.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience has always been good with Dr. Kaplan. He is a willing listener and has always tried to help me. Most importantly, he spends a lot of time with me. He genuinely has concern for his patients. I give four stars to my Dr. Kaplan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2011
MY favorite Docter in the San Fernando Valley!!!!!!..since my old friend/Docter passed away..RIP A"
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ware to start!...Docter kaplan" is a awesome humanbean" /md/Friend!!.......When ever I have a appt with DR.Kaplan.He makes me fill, so comfortable.I just can open up too! Like a friend! haha! Seriouse.he likes to know everyting.due to your health"humor...emotions". To really get a fill what is going on with your inner self".He helped me find my inner self".because b4 dr kaplin .I had a few docters who really couldent help me find my self. Now ,I am able to proceed with life"in a possitive out look"...befor ,I was really deppressed" with my life....my mind was like a maze.notinhg made sence.....but ,he helped me figure out the important things to due with my time and life"....excerise/sports/art to paint"my emotions.and anger...............I still have my lower back issues/legs/caves,but the exercise really helped me in ways".Ican't x-plan till this day!!...but my pain will always be a 8"....but it was a 10...so dr kaplan.I am very thankful!!!!for all you have done for "the pations and my self christopher Rojas"...and my panics. I Travel frm palmdale to visit you ,because i can trust you and beleve everything you tell me. Well, i need to cme in 4a chec k up dr kaplan. Ok!!! Thank u!!!! For all your advice n help...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 8th, 2011
PLEASE READ THIS!!
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Easily one of the worst experiences I've had with a doctor. I called to request a prescription to deal with a case of pink eye, and the rude individual who answered the phone informed me that it's their policy that a pharmacy has to fax a request to them before they can write a prescription. I argued that it was a ridiculous policy to force a patient to A) figure out which medication they need and B) trust that a pharmacist in a busy drug store will take the time to send such a fax in a timely way. She basically said take it or leave it. I have a new doctor now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 6th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff at Dr. Kaplan's (Lakeside) are unprofessional, don't pay attention to what they are doing, very untrustworthy, rude, seems like most of them are there for a paycheck only, just waiting to go home. Dr. Kaplan is a nice knowledgeable Doctor but not honest or trustworthy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 1st, 2010
If you like the factory approach to medicine
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No doubt Dr. Kaplan has a good clinical skills as an Internist. That said, his office staff needs a lesson in professional courtsey/friendliness to the patient. For example, it took me 9 days to get the result of an X-Ray. Good luck trying to get a call back from anyone including Dr. Kaplan. Bottom line -- too many patients for one provider. The place is a factory. Referrals take an act of God to get pushed through...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Karl Kaplan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mission Hills, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Ali Farrokh

7 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Shahe Garabedian

9 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kenneth Tam

28 years experience

3.0 of 5