ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karl Schmitt Is this you?
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 15

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
51.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karl Schmitt?


25 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2017

Excellent Surgeon!!

Dr. Schmitt recently performed surgery on my 79 yr old mother with a C2 fracture. He did an excellent job repairing the odontoid fracture with placement of a large titanium screw through the front of her neck. She is completely ambulatory, no deficits, and feeling good. Her fall was only one month ago! Dr. Schmitt is fantastic!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 24th, 2015

Misdiagnosed problem UNNECESSARY surgery

He misdiagnosed the problem as severe spinal stenosis, assuring that it would correct the partial paralysis in both legs and restore the ability to urinate normally. Instead the deterioration in the leg muscles has continued to where standing is impossible and a Foley catheter is a necessity.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 28th, 2011

Never Ending Nightmare

Dr Schmitt performed a discectomy/laminectomy for radicular pain from a herniated disc. The surgery made my pain much worse and has destroyed my life. Dr. Schmitt abandoned me when things started going bad. He now works in Houston and I would avoid him like the plague. I'd give up my life savings to be able to go back in time and choose another doctor (it is already costing me a fortune). Once the surgery is over and your spinal nerves are permanently damaged, there's nothing you can do about it for the rest of your life.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 1st, 2010

HORRIBLE

Avoid at all costs. Abandons his patients who don't recover well from surgery.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2010

The Worst

Avoid at all costs. Nice to your face before surgery. After surgery when things go wrong, he's avoid you. It's a joke he gets paid for surgical procedures that destroys people's lives. He wasn't careful during my surgery and severely damaged two of my spinal nerves.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 6th, 2010

Heartless

My life has been utterly destroyed by his failed surgery and he couldn't care less. Went in to surgery to remove a disc piece from one spinal nerve and came out with problems still and that nerve another nerve damaged (which is causing my life to be ruined- and there's nothing that can be done for it).

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2010

The BEST... when one one elce could help....

Having once been paralyzed (C5-aisa-D) I now stand and walk because of his intervention.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 7th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 12th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

November 25th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karl Schmitt is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Wesley Jones

    Neurological Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
  • Dr. Joseph Hsieh

    Neurological Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (9)
    13
  • Dr. Ryan Kitagawa

    Neurological Surgery

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10