Dr. Karmela Chan MD Patient Reviews

  • Rheumatology New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 1.4)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan consults with my other doctors to ensure that I receive the best care. Without her intervention my insurance company would never have agreed to approve necessary surgery. She is very kind, clear and focused on quality care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 16th, 2013
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I agree with a few of the other reviews. This woman has NO bedside manner. She treated me as if I was stupid (despite my college education and professional career) and actually even said, "SOMEONE has been doing too much reading..." when I asked specific questions about the rheumatological illness for which I had already been given a diagnosis. There was one visit in which she had an intern in with us. That person was a hundred times more humane than she was, even helping me get my socks on because of swelling in my legs. Chan wrote off the swelling as circulatory problems. She does NOT listen to your symptoms or try to put together all the pieces of the rheumatological puzzle, as the head of the practice Dr. Horwitz indicates is essential (in an article I read about him). She acts as if she is better than anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 10th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not ever return to this doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
No. Stay very far away. Otherwise, strange medications will find their way into your hands as she dismisses all of your concerns. Plus, the staff will try to get you to schedule future appointments so you can wait 1 hour just to see her again, so steer away while you still have the chance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 7th, 2012
Not worth it
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very unsatisfied with Dr. Chan. I actually felt like she brushed off my symptoms completely. I went to her for unexplained joint pain and swelling. She didn't have a good explanation for me (which I can understand, as neither did my primary care doctor). However, I felt like she was giving me no helpful suggestions about what could be done to possibly diagnose it and she actually suggested a sleeping pill. I don't really understand what one thing has to do with the other. Her whole demeanor just suggested that she wanted to get me out of the office as quickly as possible and that she thought I might be making my symptoms up. Completely unhelpful and I am seeking a second opinion!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 29th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chan has given me a diagnosis by exclusion, but it still has helped me address my problem. She is warm, caring and very informed on current treatments for my condition.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2012
Dr. Karmela Chan
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Unhelpful, did not diagnose my problems. I recommend seeking help elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2012
Dr. Karemla Chan
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Visiting her was a waste of my time. She provided no useful feedback, and wrote a very rude and unhelpful letter in her referral. The lab work she ran ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2011
Dr Karmela Chan
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Dr Chan was very rude to me, She was more interrested in my earings my weight and my tan. I would not recommed her to look at my cat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Karmela Chan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.