Dr. Katarina Allman MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Huntsville, AL

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 53 patient ratings
  • 26 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

53 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    64%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    17%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 31st, 2017
Fantastic doctor, horrible staff.
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor and nurse practitioner are fantastic, the office staff is the entire problem. No one working in the office has any idea how to complete paperwork in a timely or accurate manner. Zero customer service skills, I would not recommend this practice to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 14th, 2016
good doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have seen both Dr. Allman and her nurse practitioner. Both seemed very concerned with my medical conditions. Wait can be a little long but otherwise I am very happy with the care I receive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Ms.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went in with multiple issues, because I'm not the best at going to the doctor and was looking for a family doctor who would be as invested in my health as I am. I assumed I would be seeing Dr. Allman, yet was told when I got back to the exam room that I'd be seeing her CRNP, Davis (I think is his name?) Anyways, he was abrasive, fast talking, rude, and didn't seem to give one crap about me or what I was dealing with. He rushed through the whole thing and told me that we couldn't fix all my problems today. And I understand that, but I'm there to let you know what all is going on and that I think it may all be related and wanted to feel like for the first time in years we could get a handle on things, but he made me feel like I'd interrupted his day and was a waste of his time. Unfortunately I have to go back for my lab results and ekg findings, which were both bad news, but after that, I will be looking for another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2016
I will recommend Dr. Allman
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't like invasive medical screenings or procedures unless I deem them necessary (colonoscopy, mammograms, immunizations, etc). She discussed each with me and then said it was my decision, my body. She said she'd give me health information with each visit, then it was my decision which to proceed with. For instance, as an alternative to a colonoscopy, she recommended a stool sample and a DNA test (I don't know the exact name of it) that costs about $500 (covered by medicare, but not most insurance companies she said) that was good for about 3 yrs, and non-invasive, that would identify colon cancer risks - she said this was probably the wave of the future. She is very healthy looking, very pleasant, and has a well-organized office and staff, that keeps to her schedule. She spent a long time with me getting to know me, asking questions, giving advice, and inspecting me. All their records are electronic, and as we spoke, another person typed everything that was said, and followed her to and from the room with the lap top. Anyway, I am just sharing because I am always looking for a good doctor that isn't trying to intimidate me into doing things I refuse to do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 4th, 2016
Has appointments every 3 months and blood work done each time. When there is not really an issue to be concerned with. Running unnecessary tests just to get you back in there for the money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
December 4th, 2015
Staff needs a lot of improvement
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really like Dr. Allman. She's very thorough and will leave no stone unturned when it comes to assessing your medical condition. Her staff can be a little more professional, and more responsive to the needs of the patient. I've gone over to the lab in preparation for my visit and the orders weren't there after being promised that they would be there. Incomplete lab orders required multiple visits to the lab. No one other than a registered Nurse should contact the patient with lab results; medical assistants can't answer test result-related questions. Things happen and I get it, nothing's perfect. But too many minor mistakes, built up over a period of time, will solicit mixed or negative reviews for the "staff" of a Dr that is an excellent doctor in my opinion. I hope these reviews are taken seriously and I notice improvements in the future. Reviews are generally favorable towards Dr. Allman but not so much for her staff; they don't represent Dr. Allman very well.

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2015
Similar experience to the negative reviews below.
Three times in a row the wait has been 1.5 hours. I also agree that there seem be an excessive amount of follow up visits. I have also had similar experience with the staff. Example, not scheduling test at off site facilities. Once, they used a lab that didn't accept my insurance and I ended up paying $500 out of pocket. I trust Dr. Allman provides competent medical care, but the staff alone and the excessive wait times are enough for me to switch to another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office never calls you after you have had tests done. I am still waiting for results 2 weeks later. Their response when you are sick is "go the emergency room". Why do I have this lady as my doctor then? Only to see when I am well?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yes, I would choose Dr Allman again. Very thorough and spends adequate time each visit. I would recommend her to my friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 8th, 2014
Nope
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been to Dr. Allman several times, each time I have had wait at least an hour before being taken back and then its still another 30+ min before the Dr. comes in. There have 2 occasions in which the wait was 2 and 3 hours. The diagnosis are occasionally on par but usually requires multiple follow up ($$) visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2014
Patient
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited for over an hour. She suggested all kids of tests including stress test. I am not sure where this came from since I came for a refill. It is a shame that she is trying to make extra money from unnecessary tests.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 28th, 2013
Torn about the doc but her staff is horrible
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I will forever be thankful to Dr. Allman for discovering a nodule on my thyroid (wasn't having any symptoms even) which was later diagnosed as cancer. However, when my husband went to her asking her to run specific bloodwork, she went ahead and ran what she wanted to-not what he requested. The only advocate for your health is yourself and if you can't find a doctor who will listen to you and run what you request, there is no point in going back to that doctor. Her staff is horrible and partly because of this, I will not be going back to her. I was having a reaction to a medicine that I went on and the nurse never bothered to call me back. Thankfully, I am my own advocate so I knew to stop taking the medicine. When I told Dr. Allman about this, she said oh. Hmmm....... Also, if you have any tests done, don't plan on getting results without first having to call and call and call and beg for them. It was pretty ridiculous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Katarina Allman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.