ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kathleen Massop Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kathleen Massop?

Urinary Incontinence

Urinary Incontinence

Learn about the symptoms and causes of urinary incontinence or urge incontinence.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kathleen Massop?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2013

Female Young Professional

I'm pretty shocked that Dr. Massop has low ratings :(. I recommended her to a co-worker who then wanted to research dr. Massop n saw the bad ratings. I'm honestly still shocked. I've had nothing but a pleasant experience and I've seen her 5 times now. She is very polite, smiles a f is friendly. If I ever had a worry she hugged me n told me it was going to be ok and she always personally called me when needed to follow up. She is great. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I'm sure not every patient doctor relationship can be perfect but I would let the negative comments affect your decision to see her. I think she is great and this clinic in general it well run polite and. Friendly. I have had a lot of problems in the past with clinics running extra lab tests without asking costing me more etc, Dr. Massop and the clinic is wonderful :) I'm glad I go to Dr. Massop and I recommend her to all.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2013

Caring Physician

After 15 years of seeing my gyno, he retired. I decided to stay with his clinic and after a couple of visits there for issues, I ended up seeing Dr. Massop. Prior to seeing her I had avoided female gyno docs because they are typically very harsh in their exams but I needed to be seen so I settled for whomever was available. She was very compassionate, she listened to my concerns and was extremely personable. When I came back for my follow-up she even asked about my husband who had attended the last appointment with me. She is the second doctor I saw in that office after my normal doc retired, the first one was AWFUL; rude, distant and unsupportive. Massop was the complete opposite, like a breath of fresh air. She listened to my concerns and took steps to help ease them. My husband and I are trying to get pregnant before my biological clock expires. The first doc in that office basically told me at 38 I was too ancient and too fat to consider it. (I was maybe 30 lbs overweight but still in very good shape.) Massop assured me that I had plenty of time and was healthy enough to conceive. I am glad that I found her and will be even more grateful when I deliver in six months!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 15th, 2011

See anyone else at this office

I saw her when I was a teenager and didn't have a lot of experience with gynecological appointments. She was shockingly disrespectful towards me. I can look past a poor bedside manner if the "doctor" side is good. Hers was not. The procedure I had performed by her was incredibly painful, and generally a terrible experience. I had the same procedure done a few years later, and it was a completely different. Painless, efficient, I would have never known it was the same thing. I ended up with Massop because I wanted a female and she was the one I could get in to see easily. It turned out there was a reason for that. Once my doctor group joined in to the office that she is now in, I was very tempted to switch practices but I have liked the doctors and nurse practitioners I have seen there so much. Once I became pregnant I was going to switch to another office if there was any chance she would deliver my baby, so I finally asked and was assured that she doesn't work the OB practice. She is someone who should never see patients, perhaps she's better suited to work in a lab.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 25th, 2010

Uncaring bedside manner

I found Dr. Massop to be uncaring in her attitude as I described my problem. She made me feel as if she thought I was making it up and she spoke sharply to me. I felt like she was bawling me out. She called me by the wrong name and she seemed unaware of any of my past health issues I had discussed with her at previous appointments. Even when I have gone to doctors that couldn't solve a problem, they treated me with respect. I felt she acted in a very unprofessional manner. I have gone to this office for 34 years, and now I am finished. I won't be back.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 29th, 2009

Take a class on bedside manner!

Please consider another doctor within the Iowa Clinic. I LOVE my nurse practitioner at the Iowa Clinic, and had always been happy until I had the "Massop Experience." I have never been so completely unhappy with a doctor in my life. Apparently if you're 22 she assumes that you're sexually active, and therefor "jams" the tools into you as though you are a lab rat. When I voiced my concern and pain, she coldly stated "I'll be done in a minute." Dr. Massop was in the room for as short a time period as possible. I was getting married in a few months at the time, so I asked for her to advise me about birth control, as I had never taken it before. Instead of acting remotely like she cared, she rolled her eyes and left. A NURSE then came back in with a sample of a birth control and a photocopied "advice" sheet that looked like it came from the internet. The rub? That birth control made me extremely "dry" and my first few months of marriage were very painful. I went back (requesting NOT to have her) and saw another doctor who was shocked that I was given that prescription. My point? The staff and other doctors and professionals are GREAT. As for Dr. Massop, she needs to go back to school and take a class on "human relations." Also perhaps realize that not all women are exactly the same.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 5th, 2016

1.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

January 13th, 2015

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2014

1.0 Rating

October 1st, 2012

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kathleen Massop is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Des Moines, IA.

  • Dr. Therese Tran

    Dr. Therese Tran

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10
  • Dr. Gregg Polzin

    Dr. Gregg Polzin

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (7)
    33
  • Dr. Stephanie Morgan

    Dr. Stephanie Morgan

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (11)
    20