Dr. Kathy Karamlou MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.6
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 0.3)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    86%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Wait Time 13.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I changed my rheumatologist after 25 years with my previous doctor. So far I am no sorry at all. Dr. Karamlou has a great bedside manner and spent almost an hour with me on my first appointment. I am looking forward to having her as my doctor for years to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is an incredibly thorough diagnostician. She is also kind, caring and she follows up with her patients. My experience has been very positive. The only problem is that it took several months to get my initial appointment with her. I suppose it is because she is an amazing doctor. After my first appointment, it was very easy to schedule follow up appointments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Blessed to meet Dr Karamlou
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank you Dr Katamlou for diagnosing me. I was very concerned, you spend south time helping me. I also appreciate the wonderful office staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very scared when I discussed my condition with Dr karamlou. Her calm demeanor put me at ease. She is kind, caring and considerate. I am so grateful to her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 19th, 2015
Misdiagnosed
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came in with a tentative fibro diagnosis from my PCP. She had a high opinion of Dr. Karamlou and I was hopeful as I was really sick. She was not a great listener and interrupted me frequently. I told her several times that exercise (her main emphasis for fibro) was making me feel worse, but she blew me off. She finally told me she couldn't help me, implying that it was likely psychological. Luckily the next doctor diagnosed me properly ( adrenal insufficiency). All doctors make mistakes sometimes, and I would not hold it against her if she hadn't made me feel like there is no such thing as a condition that is made worse by activity. Doctors who stereotype or judge their patients rather than listening miss important details, as do doctors so focused on their specialties that they never consider the rest of the body.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2012
Great Doc
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doc. Have to agree with other patients. A little hard to get an appointment, but she is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2012
As a new patient not worth the long wait for an appt. the staff will on you.
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Don't wait the months for an appt. which may be canceled on you at the last moment!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2012
Nortiz
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love Dr. Karamlou. She took the time to talk to me and hear about my symptonsand did comprehensive examination. Also, educated me on how to take care of my condition. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 8th, 2011
Topnotch Dr.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I first went to see Dr. Kathy because my GP Dr. said that the Prednisone my old Rheumatologist had me on was not good for me and that I should seek a 2nd opinion. He gave me a name, and I called to get an appointment, but that Dr. wasn't taking any new patients, but the staff said that there was a new Dr. sharing the office, would I like to see her instead. I said sure. From the first visit Dr. Kathy (at that time, a very young gal who was just starting out in private practice) said "We need to get you off Prednisone and get you onto newer much more effective drugs that are available... That was years ago, Dr. Kathy is great. She strikes just the right balance of keeping a good Dr. \ patient relationship, and I highly recommend her. My only grump is with getting appointments, and sometime the length of waiting but shes a busy gal. Her office staff is always helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2011
Brilliant Rheumatologist
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely worth the wait to get a first visit if you are able to do so. Dr. Karamlou is an awesome Rheumatologist and Internal Medicine physician. She takes whatever time your office visit needs. She calls a patient after receiving test results and returns patient calls promptly. Communication is incredibly better than most doctors. She also communicates as needed with any of your other physicians and copies them as appropriate. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2011
Best Rheumatologist I have found
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went through many Rheumatologist before i found Dr. Karamlou. She is a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 7th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Takes thorough history. Communicates with my other doctors. Empathy, top notch doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kathy Karamlou, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Andrea Stebel

36 years experience

4.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Maria Rizza

41 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Darel Benvenuti

38 years experience

4.5 of 5