Dr. Kavita Kongara MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Atlanta, GA

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (+ 0.3)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    66%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Wait Time 17.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2017
OUTSTANDING GASTRO DOCTOR!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had my first appointment with Dr. Kongara for issues I developed after 1/2 of my colon was removed last fall. The surgery was successful but my digestive tract has not adjusted as well as I had hoped it would so I could return to work. I've seen 2 other gastro docs for this and felt like: I was not heard - they didn't have over 5 minutes to spend with me - it's more complicated than usual so it's more than they want to deal with. NOT this doctor - Dr. Kongara is FABULOUS! She spent at least 45 minutes with me, truly listened to all of my symptoms. Then she explained to me in great detail her thoughts on what is likely occurring to cause this and how we'll tackle the problem. She outlined several ways we will go about finding the right fix. She even made it a point to have her assistant get me samples and coupons for 2 Rx's for me to try. WHAT A FIND SHE IS! Wish I had seen her first!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2017
OUTSTANDING GASTRO DOCTOR!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had my first appointment with Dr. Kongara for issues I developed after 1/2 of my colon was removed last fall. The surgery was successful but my digestive tract has not adjusted as well as I had hoped it would so I could return to work. I've seen 2 other gastro docs for this and felt like: I was not heard - they didn't have over 5 minutes to spend with me - it's more complicated than usual so it's more than they want to deal with. NOT this doctor - Dr. Kongara is FABULOUS! She spent at least 45 minutes with me, truly listened to all of my symptoms. Then she explained to me in great detail her thoughts on what is likely occurring to cause this and how we'll tackle the problem. She outlined several ways we will go about finding the right fix. She even made it a point to have her assistant get me samples and coupons for 2 Rx's for me to try. WHAT A FIND SHE IS! Wish I had seen her first!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Loved Dr. Kongara!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kongara is one of the best doctors I've ever seen. Very caring, very knowledgeable about her speciality. She gave me options that no other doctor has suggested. Plus she has a fantastic personality and is fun to talk with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2015
Fantastic!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent bedside manner and compassion. Thorough & open-minded to multiple treatment options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
dissapointed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Its been 3 weeks and I still don't have my medication. The office staff drops the ball with the insurance and their followup. Things get lost. Verry inefficient practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2014
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH RUDE, INEXPERIENCED DR.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Kongara for severe stomach pain and diahrrea. I told her that I had had parasites several years before that had gone untreated. She said it couldn't be this. She instead ordered thousands of dollars of hospital procedures that came up neg. She then said I had an ordinary case of IBS. I asked if she was sure and she said, "You act disappointed that it isn't something more serious". I asked her how to treat IBS and she haughtily said, "The same way millions of other people do" and walked out of the room. I endured 6 more mos. of pain before being admitted to the hospital with diahrrea, dehydration & severe stomach pain. Tests came back positive for parasites and antibiotics cleared it up in days. The Dr. there said only a very inexperienced Dr. would make the mistake Dr. Kongara made. Her office staff is the rudest I have ever met. I wonder where they get it from.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2014
Want the DMV experience @ the doctor's office? Go here!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
"Horrible listener, arrogant and insulting. Sadly disappointed and left there no better off. I didn't find the compassion, care or skill that I am looking for. The staff was less than cordial." (This is an accurate description by another reviewer. I couldn't have put it any better.] I'm pretty sure she hired her staff from the DMV. The last straw was her staff emphatically informing me that before an endoscopy, I must stop eating and drinking (even water] at midnight the night before, regardless of whether the appointment is at 8:00am or 2:30pm. I tried to explain the difference between 8 hours and 14.5 hours, but they weren't hearing it... MIDNIGHT!!!! I know it might seem petty on the surface. Just take the 8am, which would be more convenient, but they had a 2:30pm available significantly sooner. It was really how rude and ignorant the staff was that bothered me. I almost overlooked the doctor's flaws, but decided that I didn't trust her judgement, because of the combination of the events, and so I cancelled the endoscopy and went elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 17th, 2013
Better experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She took her time, explaining what she was thinking. And treated the cause rather than just the symptoms, as another gastroenterologist had done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2013
She's the BEST!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not only was Dr. Kongara thorough in evaluating my worsening GI problem, accurate in diagnosing the cause, and effective in treating it, but she was also personable, surprisingly generous with her time and knowledge at each appointment, and interested in learning about me as a person. She is warm, energetic. and passionate about her work and the well-being of her patients--a real gem, and I'm thrilled to have her as my new GI doctor!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2013
Wonderful Dr - The world needs more like her
Wait time
15 minutes
Dunno why someone posted a negative review, but she is a fantastic doctor and a great listener. I plan on making her my permanent GI doc
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2012
A waste of my time and money
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Based on internet patient reviews, I went to this Dr. Bad choice for me. Language barrier, horrible listener, arrogant and insulting. Sadly disappointed and left there no better off. I didn't find the compassion, care or skill that I am looking for. The staff was less than cordial.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2012
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kongara is an excellent, caring doctor. She took the time to listen to my issues and diagnose them accordingly. She did not rush my appointment and showed a general interest and concern for my concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kavita Kongara, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

Doctor

Dr. Gregory Smith

14 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Randolph Patterson

47 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alvaro Velasquez

30 years experience

5.0 of 5