ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kenneth First Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

39 Ratings • 10 Comments

4.1
  • 26
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 12 of 39 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on April 27th, 2016

Great doctor and a great surgeon.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on July 26th, 2015

Great doctor!!!! Tells it like it is.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The surgeon

Posted on August 13th, 2013

I read the reviews and must say, they're all over the place. Bottom Line: "Great doctor, Excellent surgeon, good person and he is active in the community" (that guy on the sideline during highschool football games...yes, that's him). He can treat anyone in my family needing help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 26th, 2013

I tried to look past his arrogance, as I too had been warned about it. However he is over the top! After tossing papers he didn't consider relevant out of my file at me, saying he doubted my test result diagnosis, but giving me no other one, never calling in my prescription(I have a condition with undeniable severe pain), not returning a call, he left me without helping me at all. After a month, I found out he had lost all of my records-X-rays, CT scans, and MRIs. I had to show up in person to get office to address the problem. All the while, I was still in severe pain and without medical care for a very serious problem. He couldn't care less.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Glad I found him

Posted on June 24th, 2013

I would recommend Dr. Kenneth First to anyone needing orthopedic care and /or surgery. Family members and friends told me about him when I tore my meniscus. Post-surgery, I understand why. He knows his practice well. If you don't mind that his bedside manner is a bit rushed (but thorough), he's your doctor. I am glad I found him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good Surgeon

Posted on May 15th, 2012

I went to Dr. First for a torn meniscus, I had heard he had a tough bedside manner, but I am more interested in getting back on my feet than worried if we become friends. He is a very busy man, but what surgeon is not... especially when you are trying to run a practice and operate 3 days a week. He was actually very nice to me and did a great job cleaning out my meniscus. He is professional and one of the best at what he does as a surgeon, I highly recommend him for knee issues.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good surgeon, rushed when comes to office visits

Posted on August 11th, 2011

Great surgeon, did the job correctly. Got miffed when asked questions, had to catch him going out the door several times before my questions were even asked. I started taking a voice recorder so I could replay questions/answers. He seems to always be rushed and uninterested in giving information unless specifically asked (if you can keep him in the room long enough). A little more time with the patient and a little less rushed would rate him 4 stars on all accounts.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on May 31st, 2011

As long as Dr. First doesn't consider you OVERWEIGHT, you may do fine. I've had a weight problem for yrs. & take several medications, including having the Lap Band placed which had to be removed 2 yrs. later due to complications. I take thyroid meds., have sleep apnea & I'm physically disabled due to ortho issues. I've had 3 falls on my left knee, but he was cleraly not interested in hearing about them. I was referred to Dr. First so this was my 1st visit. Once he saw my weight he told me "it's your weight, that's your problem & I'm not even taking up my time to look @ your MRI rpt.". Just that blunt. He knew nothing of my medical history or weight problems. He just looked at me, stereotyped me & assumed all I do is lay in bed & eat all day. He offered me no physical therapy, no meds., nothing !!! No hope, no encouragement, nothing. He offered absolutely nothing !!! After bringing me to tears from humiliating me about my weight he just stands up, tells my husband to have a good day & that was that. Needless to say, I will be reporting his discriminating tactics to both of my insurance companies & the Board !!!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr First is awesome

Posted on August 16th, 2010

Dr First performed surgery on both knees - several years apart (1998 & 2006). He is candid, honest, treated me like an adult explaining the issues with each knee and did not molly coddle me - he is exactly what more physicians and surgeons in particular should be like - he is NOT knife happy, he gives you the pros and cons and lays out the risks. He also pulled no punches when reminding me that for every l lb of weight I carry, my knees carry 3 lbs - which is a large reason I've been able to maintain an 80 lb weight loss. Unfortunately I am no longer in Houston, but I highly recommend Dr First to anyone who expects/demands honest medical advice followed with phenomenal surgical expertise if surgery is the route you elect to follow

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 9th, 2010

Dr. First is a great surgeon. I had total knee replacement and was back on my feet (not even a cane) in a couple of weeks.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on January 12th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on January 12th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kenneth First is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.