The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kenneth Shapiro Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kenneth Shapiro?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kenneth Shapiro?

Ratings and Reviews

12 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
13.8 min

Showing 12 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2016

Poor health provider

Missed a diagnosis that could have been cancer and was very casual about it. Did not send a description of my injuries (broken ribs) and estimation of recovery to SLO County human resources so I could pass my pre-employment physical. The county extended the time to submit a doctor's report 2 times, but Dr. Shapiro's office never sent the information to SLO human resources. The job offer was rescinded after SLO HR waited over 10 weeks for a response. Also, after an auto accident did not follow through with a physical therapist even after I went back to his office to remind him. It feels like he could care less about his patients.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 25th, 2014

Better than any other doctor in this area.

I had swollen legs after a long flight that would not dissipate. The doctor who I had been seeing prescribed dangerous diuretics and sent me away without follow up. Dr. Shapiro conducted a thorough exam, including EKG and heart studies and took me off the diuretics. His recommendation was to simply to hydrate as much as possible and move around the plane. It has never happened to me again. Needless to say I stopped seeing the former quack.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 7th, 2011

Smart

Good Diagnostician, practical doctor.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 26th, 2011

Okay for HMO primary care

Dr. Shapiro is fine for an HMO primary care doctor. He has been my primary care physician for many years now and is happy to refer to a specialist with any significant issues. He diagnoses me accurately about 80% of the time for minor issues and quickly sends me to a specialist for anything significant. Misdiagnosis is usually 'close' and follow up usually gets it, about par for the doctor business. His manner is a little abrupt and direct but some folks like that over someone that coddles. Staff is very nice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 6th, 2009

Dr Duck

This guy is a quack. Long story. Conjured up bogus concerns. Since I've met two other people he did the same thing to. Stupid too. Told me my athlets foot was exema! Not to long after I wanted my records and he is no longer at the same place with no forwarding contact info. He's a quack. Stay away.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 19th, 2009

This doctor does not even want to get close to his patients especially if they have a cough of some sort. I've been to him three times for an upper respiratory problem and all he can say is that it will go away on its own. He spends less than three to four minutes and he's completed his initial finds. That's the fastest job I've ever seen. I wish I was as fast in my job as he is in his.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

1.0 Rating

March 9th, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

September 24th, 2015

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2014

1.0 Rating

September 30th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kenneth Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Templeton, CA.

  • Dr. Steven McAllen

    Internal Medicine

    Templeton, CA 0.03 mi

    3.9
    (12)
    27
  • Dr. John Carlisle

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Templeton, CA 0.03 mi

    46
  • Dr. Steven Pontius

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Templeton, CA 0.03 mi

    42