Overall Review

4.3
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 13.8 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Bedside Manner

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2016
Great surgeon
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had two surgeries where Dr Tanabe removed tumors from my liver I am so thankful that I was referred to him. I could not have asked for a better ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Could not have asked for a better Surgeon So thankful I was referred to him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My mother died in his care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2014
awesome
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Tanabe in consultation for my liver cancer. He and his team were incredibly thorough in their evaluation of me, as well as their explanation of my condition, how I contracted it, and my treatment options. The MRI scan at MGH showed much more detail than the one that I brought to him from my doctor. Although I was initially reluctant to have the MRI performed again, I am so glad that I did. The whole cancer thing is extremely frightening, and I found Dr. Tanabe to be amazingly compassionate. He and his team spent over and hour with me (and my very extended family) discussing my options and prognosis…and that was just the first visit. We ultimately chose liver resection. I had heard that he is the best, and indeed from the very beginning to the very end, it showed. He and his team in the hospital were outstanding. I found the quality of my care to be nothing short of over the top. Incredibly competent, helpful and polite young men and women. You will absolutely not make a mistake choosing Dr. Tanabe.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 7th, 2013
great physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Tanabe and I am so pleased that I was. He explained everything to us in a way that we could understand. He has a good sense of humor, which helped calm us down. His team was fantastic. The operation went well, and I feel that owe my life to him. If you need a cancer surgeon, I highly recommend that you seek him out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2013
Son
Wait time
5 minutes
5 months ago my mom (may she rest in peace) went to this person as a referral from Mr murphy. My mom knew her diagnosis was dire. Was told she had stage 4 liver cancer. First thing mr. tanabe said to my parents was, I don't know why you were sent to me. At one point as I was on my moms speaker phone, due to the fact that they don't have the capability to conference call with out of state family members. I asked the question why wasn't she tested for liver cancer, Mr. tanabe's response was that the only time they test for liver cancer was when applying for life insurance. First do know harm, yeah right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2013
A life saver
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think he is a great surgeon. He explained everything thoroughly He was extremely easy to talk to. He answered my very long list of questions. The scar from my operation looks great. I have recovered well and I am cured (4 years later).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 12th, 2013
Good experience-but his assistant is a ditz
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His assistant (Marie) is nice enough yet so unorganized and a ditz. Otherwise good experience with Dr Tanabe
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2012
Excellent surgeon
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very pleased with Dr.Tanabe, and very grateful that he saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2012
Great cancer surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Explained everything thoroughly. Has a great team. Though a very complicated operation,it went smoothly and I recovered well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 4th, 2011
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Tanabe from my General Practitioner. He not only made a timely appointment he and his Staff helped calm my fears. I would certainly recommend Dr. Tanabe to anyone. He also took time with my husband and answered all his questions of what to expect. Thank you Dr. Tanabe and Thank You to his wonderful Staff and Mass General Hospital.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am here today to write this because of Dr. Tanabe's extraordinary medical care fourteen years ago. I found Dr. Tanabe to be not only an outstanding doctor, but a wonderfully compassionate human being. He always took the time to explain my medical situation in a manner I could comprehend - a trait fey few surgeons of Dr. Tanabe's talents are able to do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kenneth Tanabe, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Boston, MA.

Doctor

Dr. Satish Javali

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Timothy Jackson

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Ward

be the first to rate this Doctor