Urologists
9 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients
Mount Sinai Health System, Department of Urology
5 E 98th St
Fl 6
New York, NY 10029
(212) 241-3919
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.5
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

31

Total Reviews

13

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.6521739130435 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.3636363636364 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.7142857142857 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.3913043478261 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.2173913043478 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.3157894736842 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 24 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Truly gifted doctor and surgeon  |  show details
by Cary on Apr 29th, 2013

I have a family of medical professionals, and therefore have been very educated on my condition of prostate cancer. Dr. Badani was recommended to me by my primary doctor, my local urologist, and my neighbor who had kidney surgery with him. Dr. Badani took excellent care me, and my wife (who can be quite difficult at times) had a tremendous rapport with him. He did my surgery, I was home the next day, and stopped wearing pads after 3 days! I am now 3 months out from robotic prostatectomy, without pads, and having erections with cialis (although I may not need it much longer). I am elated that Dr. Badani took care of me and will recommend him wholeheartedly to anybody. I see him every 3 months, and he is always available to me by phone and email.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Took care of me and my twin brother  |  show details
Jul 30th, 2012

Both my twin brother and I had kidney cancer, and Dr. Badani operated on us, exactly two months apart. My brother lives out of state, but came with me to my consultation, and after he met with him and saw how well I did, changed his surgeon to Dr. Badani and flew to New York for his treatment. We are elated, cancer free, and both of us are extremely grateful to Dr. Badani for his skilled hands. He is the combination of an outstanding surgical technician, and the best personality I have ever seen in a doctor. I recommend him to anybody.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 23rd, 2012

My husband was sent to Dr.Badani for a prostate biopsy. Dr.Badani found cancer but did not report it to my husband's referring primary care physician. Two years later when the cancer began exhibiting symptoms, it had spread to my husbands liver and was untreatable.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  honest and objective ! elated but frustrated!  |  show details
Apr 17th, 2012

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in november 2010 resulting from a high psa and confirmed by a biopsy. Never having any prior surgeries did not help my anxiety level! The biopsy was performed by a urologist whom i felt was insensitive and didnt give me any treatment options he wanted to railroad me into getting the beam therapy and didnt give me any other options. It was at this point that a family friend suggested that i consult with Dr Badani.Upon meeting Dr Badani at his 60th st location I felt that he was sensitive and discussed all the different traetment options both pros and cons especially the long term benefits and seemed very knowledgable and confident. I felt very comfortable with him. I did some research on his medical background and was impressed with his credentials and the fact that he authored a book on prostate cancer led me to have a favorable decision on him being my surgeon. At this point I released my prior urologist in writing and scheduled a follow up with Dr. Badani. I did a series of blood work and had to do several tests to get medical clearance for the surgery which included a stress test with a nuclear tracer and clearance from my cardiologist. At the follow up with Dr Badani we scheduled the date for surgery once everything was set. I was given several papers on how to eat prior to the surgery and what i should avoid also info on kegal workouts. My next contact with Dr. Badani was in the surgery room the operation was a sucess my psa has been 0 to this point which is over a year! Since then my exposure to Dr. Badani has been limited to a quarterly followup. My aftercare limited and my recovery slow I still struggle with incontinence on a daily basis so i continue to wear pads for this purpose. Doing my own research i have been to an incotinence specialist who wants to fix my incontinence problem through prostetics. Ive also been to an erection specialist who says my only alternative is a penile implant to achieve an erection as a result of the nerve damage incurred from trauma of the surgery. I am currently 46 yrs old and these issues pose a real challenge for me. Dr.Badani did discuss the cons with me however i just wish that there could have been more candid communication with him in terms of my aftercare. I am elated at my psa results but disappointed at my quality of life reality. then again maybe it stems from the kind of insurance which was used to perform my surgery??? Would a better insurance coverage have ensured me better aftercare on the doctors part? Truth be said! It just makes me wonder! Peace and blessings

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Does not return calls with results of tests  |  show details
Feb 23rd, 2012

i had a 3d color doppler ultra sound and an mri performed by outside specialists. the results were sent to dr. badani. i called for the results several times and he never called me back. i was very concerned and his lack of concern was horrendous. he would not tell me anything over the phone. i live 2 hours away but he would not tell me anything unless i made an appointment to come in. he wanted to do a biopsy, but it was already established that i had pc from a previous biopsy. the mri and ultrasound showed exactly where the cancer colonies were located. why was another biopsy needed? i think this behavior is totally unprofessional and shows a total lack of concern for the patient (me) who was wondering for months how serious my condition was. i was persistant but got involved in an accident and broke several bones so i got sidetracked for awhile.this doctor seems very uncaring and motivated by money and not care for his patient in that he wanted me to come in so he could charge me for a visit rather than spend a few minutes on the phone to tell me what he thought of the results of the tests.i will not get a biopsey from this doctor and will look for someone else who cares about his patients.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Wonderful experience  |  show details
Jan 28th, 2012

I was not looking for a surgeon with a personality, just one with excellent skills. I found both in Dr. Badani. He did my robotic prostatectomy, and my neighbors kidney cancer surgery. We are both well and extremely happy. Would recommend without any reservation.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great outcome  |  show details
Apr 24th, 2011

I just had my robotic prostatectomy by Dr. Badani in March 2011, and had a terrific result. By mid april, I was pad free and started having almost normal erections. Much earlier than even he had counseled me for. I do believe a lot of these outcomes are based on individual patient factors, not just surgical factors. I am a healthly person and had a very positive attitude. Thank you Dr. B, you're the best!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  good manner but poor surgical result  |  show details
Feb 12th, 2011

I liked him personally but ended up with very poor surgical result.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  flew from florida was grateful i made the trip  |  show details
by David on May 19th, 2010

It is a an incredibly complex decision deciding who is the best surgeon to do your radical prostatectomy. Having a medical background I thought I was well prepared. I met with several surgeons in my state and my coworker recommended I see Dr. Badani in New York. He, among other top surgeons, is very experienced and his confidence made me feel much more comfortable about my situation. I can't say I know who the best surgeon is because nobody does but my decision comes down to excellent outcomes, trust, and bedside manner. I instantly knew I wanted him to be my surgeon. I'm glad i made the trip and will have my procedure next month.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Undeniably excellent bedside manner  |  show details
by John B. on Feb 28th, 2010

I am a patient of Dr. Badani's for almost 2 years. I was referred to him by members of my community, all of whom said he has an excellent bedside manner, and explained issues surrounding prostate cancer in a way nobody else did. After I met with him, I agree wholeheartedly. He spent a lot of time and effort to make sure I understood all the issues and questions I had, and he did it in a very clear and informative way to a "lay" person. I can't imagine anybody would think otherwise.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 1st, 2010

Dr Badadini is arrogant, willful and the worst doctor I encountered in terms of explaning to his patients what are the problems involved. He may be talented but he has to work on his people skills.Andrew G.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Can't say enough good things  |  show details
by AP on Jan 3rd, 2010

I have given Dr. Badani the best rating I possible can on this evaluation, but it does not do him justice. I would like to highlight the areas of bedside manner, spending time, and excellent follow up care as 5 STARS if I could.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Truly Gifted Doctor  |  show details
by Gary on Apr 23rd, 2008

Had a consult with Dr. Badani for my recent diagnosis of prostate cancer after seeing 4 other surgeon and it was the best meeting I could ask for. He was the most patient and compassionate doctor and explained everything clearly to me and my wife. We are planning to have surgery with him in May and feel extremely at ease now. Anybody with this diagnosis should meet with him and learn as much as possible about their condition.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse