The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kevin Welch Is this you?
  • 26
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Welch?


30 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 3rd, 2016

Sinuses are much better now. I can finally sleep again without using decongestants.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2016

Breathing again!

I broke my nose about 20 years ago during a rugby match. Tried sprays for years because I didn't want to have surgery. Finally decided to do it and it's unbelievable what I've been missing. Just about everything Dr. Welch told me to expect happened. Spoke to his P.A. Liz over the phone a couple times after the surgery. Excellent care all around. Thank you.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 14th, 2015

Good doctor, interesting personality

Medically sound (he's at Northwestern so this is to be expected), but I didn't like him based on first impression. His first words to me were "what do you need?" Yikes, not even an introduction??? He was also running about 30 minutes late which the office staff failed to tell me. I don't mind physicians running late - and certainly appreciate it when I need the extra time from them - but at least give me a ball park figure of how long I'll be waiting. Bedside manner aside, I felt his diagnosis was accurate and followed his recommendations. Will I go back to him? Yeah, probably.

Doctor's Response

Thank you for the feedback. Being late is one of my biggest pet peeves, and I work hard to try to stay on time as much as possible. There are many factors that cause doctors to get behind: patients showing up a few minutes late (adds up!), front desk staff inefficiencies, medical assistant delays and doctor delays. Sometimes I need to spend more time than I anticipated with patients for their problems. However, I always strive to make sure that all questions are answered before I leave the patient. I admit to being a pretty stoic person, but making a diagnosis and treating patients is what I'm there to do. So, doing what I can to make sure I'm accurate is the most important thing to me. Sometimes it's easy to forget the human side of medicine. Nevertheless, I invite you to come back and let me know what I need to do to improve upon things. BTW: I find it hard to believe that the *first* thing I said was "what do you need?" I wouldn't say it's impossible, but I have trouble agreeing!

SHOW
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2015

Fixed it.

Brief and efficient visit with Dr. Welch. Got to the bottom of my sinus problem and treated it effectively. Not an over the top personality, but he took care of my problem. If it comes back, I'll make sure he's the first I see.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

June 26th, 2015

In my opinion, he is a surgeon performing miracles. Beyond blessed he successfully removed a JAF tumor from my son. 7 hr surgery. No reoccurrence after 5 yrs.

Doctor's Response

He had a very large JNA (juvenile nasopharyngeal angiofibroma), and it was a very technically challenging and trying surgery. He's done great!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2014

Excellent doctor

More excellent than I can say. He's saving my life. Thank you, Dr. Welch!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 21st, 2010

Relief ....

After having a bilateral nasal polypectomy done in 1985, which proved successful for over 20 years, I had a recurrence of nasal problems over the last two years.Fearing that the pain and difficulty would be akin to what I suffered back then, I was reluctant to seek help, and decided to just live with things.All that was for naught, since Dr. Welch assured me that things were vastly improved over the last 25 years and while there was discomfort and some pain involved,it was nothing like it was then, the surgery went smoothly and I am the happiest camper you can find. And one that can once again breathe through my nose.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 17th, 2010

Dr Kevin Welch

Dr. Welch did a fabulous sinus surgery on me....basically I did not suffer pain or discomfort after the first day. He is compassionate, takes time to talk, a definite expert in his field. I can now breath and get sleep, plus I'm off of antibiotiecs. It was such a good experience that I would do it again if required.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 25th, 2017

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 25th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 8th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kevin Welch is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.

  • Dr. Edward Applebaum

    Dr. Edward Applebaum

    Otolaryngology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    49
  • Dr. David Hernandez

    Otolaryngology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Jose Dutra

    Dr. Jose Dutra

    Otolaryngology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    4.7
    (50)
    33