The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kevin Mays Is this you?
  • 39
  • 2
  • 8
  • 5
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Mays?


62 Ratings with 16 Comments

1.0 Rating

January 20th, 2016

Sue this guy for malpractice

Things went good for couple years then I got laid off from a job and frantically searching for where to go in my life. I guess I was too much of a pain in the a$$ for him so he sent me a Dear John letter releasing me from his service. He got me hooked on Xanax and the withdrawal was life-threatening. Despite his efforts - I still survive.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2015

Simply The Best

I had seen 3 Psychiatrists prior to Dr. Mays. I am extremely sensitive to antidepressants and had a reaction, it seemed to everything I had tried in the past. Dr. Mays listened well and got me on a routine that has worked well for years. He is kind, empathetic and very smart. I trust him immeasurably!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2015

I have been seeing Dr. Mays for several years now and I can say with certainty that his is #1 in his field!! His Major in college I was told was Pharmaceuticals. That in itself is Great for me because he has been able to "tweek" my med's so that they most effective. I must say, about myself, that I am a hugger. It took me a little while before I tested the waters, but then one day I gave him a hug and he gently hugged me back. That might not mean much to some people but it meant the world to me!! Awesome Doctor, Amazing Results, ect.. You should defiantly consider him as your Physician!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

Good doctor

Listens well, very educated in field, prompt, great communication system

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 24th, 2015

Best Psychiatrist in KC

Has help myself and my family immensely. Listens very well and hears what you are trying to convey.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 21st, 2014

A wonderful doctor and a great man...the very best

My daughter has been a patient of Dr. May's for 9 years and he is the very best of all things one looks for in a mental health professional. He is extremely knowledgeable, kind & caring, and he takes time to listen and provide constructive feedback. In all these years I have only had to wait longer than 5 minutes for my appointment one time. I am also a patient of Dr. Mays and can't recommend him as a Dr. highly enough. My daughters case is very complex and Dr. Mays has bent over backwards to meet our needs even if I called late in the evening and had to have him messaged.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2013

Very helpful

Dr. Mays is a kind, compassionate doctor who listens and asks all the right questions. He makes helpful suggestions and he's different from other doctors because you can tell he's really listening and will help you any way he can. "Bedside manner" isn't a good enough word to describe his practice because he really cares about his patients.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 1st, 2012

Dr. Mays is very good at what he does. However, it took (him) his office 4 days to return a call and this is the SECOND time he changed medications AFTER I filled a prescription (due to the delay in returning the call). This last prescription cost me over $300! Time to move on ...

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 15th, 2011

Doesn't Care, never returns calls

I can't get him to return my phone call. Frustrated!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 11th, 2011

patient since 1996

I have been a patient of Dr. Mays, since 1996. I 100% trust his accuracy in diagnosis as well as medication to use.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2011

very good care

Dr. Mays is a very smart doctor. He listens and then explains how he thinks is the best way to help you. In the beginning he likes to see you frequently, and then after improvement fewer appointments are necessary. He's always available 24/7 and I love that.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 24th, 2011

Patients don't matter to Dr. Mays.

Dr. Mays' methodology for alerting patients that they need to see him is to deny their prescription refill requests and hold them hostage to their illness until they pay him. No alerts of refills remaining. No calls about the need to schedule an appointment. He just waits until his patients are out of medicine and in crisis. When he does see us, he only asks one question; How's the medication working? We say fine and he writes his name on a new prescription. For this service he charges $180 a visit. My son is currently out of medication and Dr. Mays will do nothing but offer to schedule another visit. No regard for the urgency of the situation nor the patient. We're looking for a new doctor and suggest you look elsewhere.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kevin Mays is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Leawood, KS.

  • Dr. Christopher Van Horn

    Dr. Christopher Van Horn

    Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.7
    (25)
    20
  • Dr. Irfan Handoo

    Dr. Irfan Handoo

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.5
    (27)
    12
  • Dr. Ely Tamano

    Dr. Ely Tamano

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Leawood, KS 0 mi

    4.4
    (54)
    15