Dr. Kevin Merkes MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Poway, CA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.9)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    24%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2013
Spouse of patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lately have been very unhappy with the office staff. His nurse Nonica does not return calls. My husband had a test of his arteries done, we had to call and ask them to please call with results, end result Dr. Merkes gave exact time he would call my husband, we waited no phone call- my husband calls the next day and he's off. Terrible f/u.. leaving patients feeling more stress than they already are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2013
Patient Experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very focused and responsive to our needs. Although I was not his patient at the time he took the time and effort to personally call forward to another physician to begin immediate treatment with an ophthalmologist for shingles that had involved my eye. The problem could have cost me my sight in that eye had it not been for his prompt action. Took the time to see my wife for a bee sting that had developed into a cellulitus infection and she was not his patient at the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2013
Mr.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Patient for over 5 years. I come prepared with a written list of issues/problems. Gives appropriate time for every item and listens carefully. Goes the extra mile for more difficult problems. The best doctor I've had over the years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2012
Great Dr.
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very concerned and caring. He does not rush you in and out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2012
Ignorant of many basic medical facts!
Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
And he gives a very rough rectal exam, then acts surprised when you report discomfort. Does not know basic information about medicine interaction or artificial chemicals in food well-known to most laymen. Very tardy at appointments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 25th, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Merkes is always concerned about me as one of his patients. He always spends time asking about my general well being, stress levels, exercise routine...etc. I am sad to say I have to change doctors, because of my new insurance. I will miss Dr. Merkes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2011
So many things to tell...
Easy Appointment
He was previously the doctor for both me and my wife. We have since left his, um care. From mis-diagnoses to inappropriate follow up, I could spend a day writing up the reasons to avoid him. The last thing to leave you with is that for some unexplained reason, when you leave his office, he charges you a special fee to transgfer your medical file. Sounds illegal. Any attorneys out there care to take this one up?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 14th, 2011
Amy B
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Listened to my lungs, shined the light in my face, said you have walking pnuemonia, asked me if I wanted antibiotics?! I said I don't know you are the Dr. Sent Rx to Rite Aid. Didn't tell me a thing about any followup care or what walking pnuemonia even was or how I got it. I think I will be changing Drs. Dr. Merkes if you read this I had so many other symptoms that I wanted to tell you about but you rushed me out of your office. You didn"t even have my chart with you. Just a clip board.

5.0 of 5
October 18th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Merkes is a wonderful doctor. He always talks to you and not at you. He made me feel so comfortable talking with him, that I could talk with him about anything. When ever I needed to get in to see him, he has always fit me in his scheduled. I would highly recommend Dr. Merkes to family/friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kevin Merkes, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Poway, CA.