ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kevin Merkes Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Merkes?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Merkes?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 26 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

March 12th, 2013

Spouse of patient

Lately have been very unhappy with the office staff. His nurse Nonica does not return calls. My husband had a test of his arteries done, we had to call and ask them to please call with results, end result Dr. Merkes gave exact time he would call my husband, we waited no phone call- my husband calls the next day and he's off. Terrible f/u.. leaving patients feeling more stress than they already are.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2013

Patient Experience

Very focused and responsive to our needs. Although I was not his patient at the time he took the time and effort to personally call forward to another physician to begin immediate treatment with an ophthalmologist for shingles that had involved my eye. The problem could have cost me my sight in that eye had it not been for his prompt action. Took the time to see my wife for a bee sting that had developed into a cellulitus infection and she was not his patient at the time.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2013

Mr.

Patient for over 5 years. I come prepared with a written list of issues/problems. Gives appropriate time for every item and listens carefully. Goes the extra mile for more difficult problems. The best doctor I've had over the years.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2012

Great Dr.

Very concerned and caring. He does not rush you in and out.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2012

Ignorant of many basic medical facts!

And he gives a very rough rectal exam, then acts surprised when you report discomfort. Does not know basic information about medicine interaction or artificial chemicals in food well-known to most laymen. Very tardy at appointments.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 25th, 2011

Dr. Merkes is always concerned about me as one of his patients. He always spends time asking about my general well being, stress levels, exercise routine...etc. I am sad to say I have to change doctors, because of my new insurance. I will miss Dr. Merkes.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 20th, 2011

So many things to tell...

He was previously the doctor for both me and my wife. We have since left his, um care. From mis-diagnoses to inappropriate follow up, I could spend a day writing up the reasons to avoid him. The last thing to leave you with is that for some unexplained reason, when you leave his office, he charges you a special fee to transgfer your medical file. Sounds illegal. Any attorneys out there care to take this one up?

Easy Appointment
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 14th, 2011

Amy B

Listened to my lungs, shined the light in my face, said you have walking pnuemonia, asked me if I wanted antibiotics?! I said I don't know you are the Dr. Sent Rx to Rite Aid. Didn't tell me a thing about any followup care or what walking pnuemonia even was or how I got it. I think I will be changing Drs. Dr. Merkes if you read this I had so many other symptoms that I wanted to tell you about but you rushed me out of your office. You didn"t even have my chart with you. Just a clip board.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 18th, 2010

Dr Merkes is a wonderful doctor. He always talks to you and not at you. He made me feel so comfortable talking with him, that I could talk with him about anything. When ever I needed to get in to see him, he has always fit me in his scheduled. I would highly recommend Dr. Merkes to family/friends.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

August 26th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kevin Merkes is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Poway, CA.

  • Dr. Roger Kornu

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Poway, CA 0 mi

    4.9
    (10)
    14
  • Dr. Akber Safi

    Internal Medicine

    Poway, CA 0 mi

    4.9
    (7)
    26
  • Dr. Stuart Klein

    Addiction Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Poway, CA 0 mi

    4.0
    (14)
    37