The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kevin Murphy Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Murphy?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kevin Murphy?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    7
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    7
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Easy Appointments
Promptness
Wait Time
15 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 23 Ratings with 11 Comments

2.0 Rating

September 27th, 2016

Obnoxious

I don't think this gentleman enjoys his profession any longer. His frustration with political influence in healthcare has clouded his compassion for people. He's the type that seems to believe that the majority of people are stupid. While I don't entirely disagree with him, it's not the best view to have as a healthcare provider. Inappropriate political statements and stories implicating the ignorance of the patients are best reserved for a more appropriate setting than the clinic during a patient visit.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

January 17th, 2016

Rude and Hates his Job...

When I first started going to Dr. Murphy, I loved him! He was funny, made you laugh, and I thought he through job during my checkups. After a few months I was being treated for high cholesterol and ADD, and suddenly without warning he said I shouldn't be on any medications, I didn't need them. My lab results showed my cholesterol levels were through the roof, and without my ADD medication my blood pressure soared. He also would complain about how awful his job. Maybe he should prescribe himself some depression meds, he went from happy cheery to down in the dumps bad!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 10th, 2015

Very rude lately

Afters years of seeing this doctor with no problems he is suddenly rude, insulting and clearly has strong beliefs about certain types of medications he doesn't even seem to have thoroughly researched in recent years.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2015

Great doctor-4 star. Best, quick and timely service I've ever seen.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 12th, 2014

$164.00

wanted $164.00 for a office visit since i am self pay.

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 8th, 2014

I've been going to this doctor for many years. I liked him, at first, but have gotten very tired of having to listen to his political beliefs every time I go there. Also, the joking around is fine, but NOT when a person is feeling miserable from something and asking for his help, only to be brushed off like he doesn't want to be bothered. I don't come to the doctor for politics. I come because I need medical help, and he is unwilling to listen or help with anything anymore. If anyone can recommend a compassionate, caring FamDoc, I'd really appreciate it.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2013

Will never go see this person again

This person is very rude and is a bully. Does not listen and monopolizes the conversation talking about his political beliefs. Actually pinched his fingers together at me when I tried to ask a question. He has been this way with each member of my family. We're going to another family doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 29th, 2011

Awesome

I think he is a great doctor. I have been going to him for over twenty years. He has always took time to listen to me. He has always been right on his diagnosis. If I didnt have money for the meds he gave me samples until I could get the meds filled.He does tell a lot of jokes so if you dont like jokes then go to a boring doctor. He is just trying to make you feel better.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2010

Great Doctor!

I have been going to Dr Murphy now for several years and he is a fantastic doctor. He always does everything very speedily but also manages to be incredibly accurate. He does his best to make you laugh, cause no one likes to be sick! So if you cant handle a couple jokes while you're feeling down, then stick to your boring doctors! Dr Murphy is very caring and passionate about what he does, and does a extraordinary job at being a physician.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 8th, 2010

Great at Diagnosing Problems; Tries to Be Too Funny

Dr Murphy is fantastic at diagnosing problems, even issues that other docs are perplexed by. But he is very difficult to interact with because he is constantly telling jokes, mostly that insult the patient. He also is not very gracious with working with patients when issues arise.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 4th, 2008

Stress

He does not believe in Stress related issues.He laughed at me and said "You Don't know what stress is until you have followed me around and listen to people complain about Nothing all day." WOW I'm impressed,I just met the only person on earth that has to deal with Stress.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kevin Murphy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Shreveport, LA.

  • Dr. Elizabeth Hudnall

    Family Medicine

    Shreveport, LA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    5
  • Dr. Michael Fleming

    Family Medicine

    Shreveport, LA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    41
  • Dr. Clifton Hamic

    Dr. Clifton Hamic

    Family Medicine

    Shreveport, LA 0 mi

    4.6
    (24)
    10