Dr. Kim Burchiel MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Portland, OR

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.4)

40 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 4th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Egotistical, rude, condescending and absolutely no bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 21st, 2015
No Complaints
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Burchiel and his team performed my MVD surgery at OHSU and it has been a long term success. I have been pain-free for many years. I got along with him fine. He was courteous and took plenty of time to diagnose and explain everything. He's not a "cold doctor" - but just the opposite - friendly and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I had two surgeries for Trigiminal Neuralgia one in 1997 and another in 1998. I was pain free until now and it suddenly hit me like a bomb. I have been fortunate enough to be able to get an appointment with Dr. Burchiel within to weeks of calling. I immediately felt comfortable in his presents with regards to discussing my symptoms. Unexpectedly he had me have my pre-op that day and scheduled me for surgery (radiofrequency ablation) in one week. His office is 1 1/2 hours from my home. I really appreciate the promptness of scheduling my surgery. I felt he really understood the pain that I am going thru.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2013
Dr. Burchiel saved my life
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In my opinion Dr Burchiel and his team up at OHSU are outstanding!!! He is very skilled and precise. A straight shooter which what I like in doctors. This was my first major surgery he performed MVD surgery for my Tregeminal Neuralgia I had. I am just over two weeks out from having this surgery and I am feeling great. He has saved my life and has given me the hope for a future with out excruciating pain. I felt that he spent accurate amount of time with me along with his team of Doctors that assist him. I felt very cared for under his supervision and my incision site looks amazing and probably not even noticeable once my hair grows back in. I would absolutely him and his team to any one in the world especially my family and friends to see him. He is extremely skilled, caring, patient, approachable and very talented. Thank you Dr Burchiel you are amazing and I am grateful for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 8th, 2013
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He may not have been the most polite dr that spends time listening, but the brain surgery that he gave me was successful and changed my life. He did an excellent job at what he does, but could use some polite/patient classes. I got what I wanted to happen which is no seizures and that's the bottom line.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2013
Honest & Scientific (i.e. a quality Medical Professional)
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've never done an online review for a doctor before making at least 5 visits, but I made an exception in this case. Based on my personal experience with Dr. Burchiel, I just can't see why several of the previous patient evaluations are in the average to below average range. He was very honest about what is known about my condition versus what is unknown at this time, and seemed to have a genuine interest in investigating further to find more answers. He also gave a good explanation of the possible risks and rewards for different management strategies. From previous ratings, it appears several patients weren't thrilled with his bedside manner, but I thought he was excellent. He spoke to me in a scientific/investigative (sort of like a detective) tone and refrained from displaying positive or negative emotions. I would think that this is a characteristic that every patient would want to see in their doctor; someone who sticks to the facts and uses the visitation time as efficiently as possible in an attempt to move towards a proper diagnosis. Dr. Burchiel also spent a significant amount of time with me in order to perform physical assessments, ask about my symptoms, review MRIs and other test results, answer questions, and give recommendations.

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very poor communicator and listener. Arrogant tool. Technically, very good by reputation, but in all other respects the worst I've ever seen
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
July 30th, 2012
Worst Dr I've ever had and do not recommend him to anyone!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overall expeience the 2 times I did go see him was not a very pleasant experience. the first time I waited for over an hour to see him, once I was able to get a room it took about another hour for him to come in however he first sent in one the interns. Once I was done with the intern eventually the Dr came in and gave me a diagnosis which no one has ever heard of which was ok with me and gave me what little options there are for treating what I have however the majority of the visit with him was him telling me how he is the only specialist in the entire world and he is the top speicialist as well which is why he is the only one who trains others from all over the world. I did go back a second time as the other side of my head was having same symptoms as the first. I waited for 2 hrs before I got a room, waited another hour for not the Dr to see me but an intern who did not understand what I was telling him. The issue I was now having was on the right side of my head and all the intern would say was we know about your left side and there is nothing we can do. He then left the room for 45 minutes and when he came back in he had food all over his face and told me I needed to see a pain specialist since I'm still having issues with the left side. I again repeated I know about the left side and I'm here for the right side and wanted to see the Dr at which point I was told he's too busy to see me and they are sending a referral to my primary for pain management. I would not recommend Dr Burchiel to anyone since the one visit was mostly about him and not what was going on with me and the second visit appointment was set up with him and all I got was an intern who did not speak or understand English very well. I left the office both time crying. To this day I still suffer from the pain of not just the left side which I expect due to the diagnosis I got (extreme nerve damage due to multiple surgeries)but suffer from pain (almost same symptoms as the left) and this issue was not addressed and I was told the Dr (who I had the appointment with) had no time to see me. I'm sure he is a great Dr and has helped many people however in my opinion he should not be in the field of medicine as he is not really there for the people but to remind people how great he is when/if you can see him. He was not only rude to my but also my husband who was with me and would not answer any of our questions we had because he did not have time, well the way he acted was he had no time, to even see us. I hear people say they have an appointment with him all the time and I do not tell people my experience but I do tell them I do not recommend him for anything no matter how great he thinks he is. I wasn't there for more medications or pain medications, I was there to find out what was wrong with me and I was treated as if I was dirt on his shoes. If he had treated me as a human then I know I would think highly of him but what scares me the most is he is training others who have obviously picked up his attitude that patients are not humans and therefor should not be treated as such. I have always heard how OHSU are and because of this one experience I will never go to any Dr associated with OHSU and I will never let any of my family or friends go either. It's a shame the Dr's do not read these reviews though I'm sure with Burchiel he would not even care what people thought of him because in his words "he's the only Dr in the world who could diagnose and treat people with these kinds of issues and because of this no one else is even remotely qualified".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 24th, 2011
biggest issue when residents in charge
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2011
Mysterious priorities
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2011
Competent and Caring
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Establised excellent rapport, gave meaningful and comprehensive explanations in easy to understand terms, gave all the options and risks associated with each. Follow up by doctor and staff was excellent with little wait. Great experience with a fine physician and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2011
Stay Away!!!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy is terrible! Treats people like garbage. I would not even recommend him to my worst enemy. Stay away! Wish I would have never let him operate on me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kim Burchiel, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.