Dr. Kofi Sefa-Boakye MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology San Diego, CA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.8)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    47%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    37%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 42.2 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
January 6th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In 2008, Dr. Sefa performed an Unnecesarean on me. I was not a high-risk pregnancy by any means but he felt it was necessary to perform one. I should've been alert when every time for my prenatal visits he was NEVER available due to performing a cesarean procedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 6th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Let me start by saying Dr. Sefa has 3 offices which means he is a very busy man. He has little time for patients and little patience for patients. Not at all a warm visit. I waited for over an hour after my appt. to see Dr. Sefa only for him to see me in his office for 2 minutes tops and failing to stay in the room long enough for me to get out a question. Me and my husband were very confused and actually had to chase him out of the room to ask a few questions. He is not recommended at all if you're looking for a genuine doctor. His office etiquette is TERRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 11th, 2013
very bad experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I started going here because I was pregnant with my daughter and just to start they double book a lot of people so there's a super long wait in the waiting room and in the patients room. The staff dress code is very un-professional and do not look like doctors . you wait there for so long for dr.sefa to see you for like 3 minutes tops he does not seem to care much about the pregnancy or myself the patient. I went here my whole pregnancy and did not receive one ultrasound from him he stated that he only gave out ultrasounds for "high risk pregnancy's" I couldn't even get a gender determination from him I had to go to a 4d ultrasound place and pay 60$ to find out I was having a baby girl !!! He never measured my tummy or checked me vaginally and maybe once or twice checked her heartbeat. and last but not least by the time I was 8 1/2 months pregnant they realized that I never even was given a tb test. I had such a horrible experience never will I recommend this doctor you can tell he is only in it for the money nothing else .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 31st, 2013
The office staff really let this clinic down.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr Sefa- Boakye's staff to be incompetent, uncaring and sometimes down right rude. My first appointment was cancelled (which is understandable seeing as Dr Sefa-Boakye is an OBGYN and has babies to deliver etc) but no one from the office contacted me to inform me of the cancellation, when there had been plenty of time to do so. It is such a inconvenience when you have to organize child care or time off work to go to an appointment. Dr Sefa-Boakye himself appeared to be an OK doctor. One nurse that assisted him was quite delightful, caring, professional and seemed to know her profession well. She was the one gem in the place. I found it difficult to get my results over the phone (even though my results were thankfully clear). I made multiple phone calls to the clinic and was given promises of call backs, which i never received. One staff member told me i had to make another appointment with Dr Sefa-Boakye to get my results regardless of whether they were clear or not (CRAZY!) This went on for weeks. Every time i spoke to someone in the office I received conflicting information. Dr Sefa-Boakye really needs to organize some serious professional development for his staff. I will not return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2012
staff is terrible
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
One of the staff members who we thought was a doctor could barely speak english.We could not understand her. We never saw the doctor and were told to come back at another time. We decided to look for another Ob doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 21st, 2011
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible place. My wife and I visited this to do our first appointment after finding out that she was pregnant. She made the appointment with Dr. Kofi, but we never got to meet him. Instead, another Dr. who never introduced herself saw us. She asked only the standard questions in a small observation room, never sat us down at an office to talk about the pregnancy or any questions we might have. The ultrasound was a disaster, their equipment doesn't work well, we couldn't hear the baby's heart because she didn't know how to use it. The room was dirty and smelled. Her appearance was unkempt and was chewing gum the entire time. Very unprofessional. We will never go back there.

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2011
The Best Doctor..
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Best OBGYN Doctor in San Diego..I recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 11th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kofi Sefa-Boakye, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.