Dr. Lana Boter MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology New York, NY

Overall Rating

2.9
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.9)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    31%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    38%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 9th, 2017
The worst staff working at front desk and answering phone calls
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It's really unfortunate that Dr. Lana Boter has such rude and lazy people working for her at the front desk. Every time I've called to make an appointment or to ask a question the call goes to voicemail the first few attempts. When someone finally picks up the phone they're extremely rude and make it apparent that your call is an annoyance to them. Per usual, while trying to make an appointment this morning, I was put directly on hold for several minutes and then was continuously cut off mid-sentence to be put back on hold. It took me almost 10 minutes to schedule a simple annual exam as an existing patience. This is literally my experience EVERY time I have to call Dr. Boter's office. Dr. Boter is great but the stress and hassle caused by her rude and unprofessional staff is enough to make me look for a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 11th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lona Baxter is an excellent doctor, she is very open to talk, very honest , I like the way she explained to me the problem that i had. I am very greatful find her, after God she gave me back my health. I highly recommend gynecology lona Baxter. Excellent doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2015
The receptionist was very rude.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 14th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Something just didn't feel right about her, so I switched out only to find out she missed my hypthyroidism despite my telling her my family history of it and it only taking one simple blood test. If I had stayed with her, there would have been serious complications for the baby (just look at any published medical journal). Wow! Close call. I mean, she was so nice, but it was almost too nice, I didn't trust it and sure enough, I found a real doctor elsewhere. This is Manhattan afterall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2012
Aweful
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrifying experience with Dr Lana Boter. She is rude and catty and it's completely uncalled for. I am still disturbed by her initial sweetness and then sudden turn in personality. She is frankly quite psycho - stay away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2011
Great experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a wonderful experience both times I saw Dr. Boter. The first time was for my annual exam. I had been sexually assaulted a few months before and had some initial damage and wanted to follow-up on it. Dr. Boter was incredibly supportive and gentle with me--she was thorough, supportive, and exactly what I needed. I came back to her office to get a record of the date of my exam so that I could get birth control from my primary doctor (she was booked up and I couldn't get an appointment before I needed it). When her office staff realized what I wanted, they asked me to wait, checked in with her, and she managed to squeeze me in between appointments. I was pleasantly surprised and was able to get my prescription before I had to leave town. I will definitely continue to see her and highly recommend her to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
March 10th, 2011
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was not impressed with her. I found her not only impatient but also did not seem to have an interest in answering my questions versus acting in a confrontational manner when I asked question. Too add, she did not even read my chart prior to my visit, even asking me personal info. like my age and a little medical history, which is all in my medical chart. I left her office feeling very disillusioned and not comfortable with her performing surgery on me.

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2010
Best Ob Gyn in New York
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Boter was unbelievably kind and thoughtful. She got to know me first and put all the information together and talked to me like I was a human being. And she was very gentle during the exam. I daresay I almost enjoyed my gyn visit for the first time in my life !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 18th, 2010
not so nice office staff
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
The assistant asked me to pee in a cup, I asked her for a cup of water first, she told me there was no water fountain, that I should "go find tap water" myself (which probably meant the bathroom). So I asked her for a separate cup and she dismissively handed me back the pee cup and said "i can drink water out of it first". I mean, honestly, have some class. The doctor is great and all, but that kind of help is worse than no help at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Boter before and during my pregnancy. She was caring and thorough in explaining whatever I needed to know. Unfortunately, she was on vacation when my baby was born (early), so I missed out on having her at my delivery. But I was very pleased with her care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lana Boter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.