The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lance Altenau Is this you?
  • 15
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
23.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lance Altenau?


21 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 7th, 2015

Top Doctor

My son suffered horrible spinal injuries with multiple crushed vertebrae and it was not clear he would ever be able to walk again. I'm happy to say you would never know he suffered any injuries unless you see the scar on his back. Dr. Altanaue is superb not only in surgery but also in his interactions with both patients and family. I reccomend him most highly!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2015

Thank you for 24 years of my son's happiness

In 1991 my 3 month old son was diagnosed with craniosynostosis, Dr. Altenau was caring an confident. He performed corrective surgery and immediately after the surgery came out pumped up and excited, he told us how strong a fighter our son was even to the point of fighting the anesthesia. I am proud to say my son has had 24 years of a good life. He is a student attending SDSU and has a bright mind and great personality.... Thank you so much

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2013

Instructor, Retired

Dr. Altenau is the Best of the Best! I had a large subdural hematoma that would have been fatal without Dr. Altenau and his prompt intervention.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 13th, 2012

Dr Altenau did my back surgery last month, I am able to take care of my kids, and perform my duties, he change my life definitely..

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2011

Excelent surgun may need to slow down

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2010

Dr Altenau did my back surgery in 1993 when I was only 18 years old. I have not had any problems since and I owe it all to him. This is a great Dr that truly cares for his patients.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 20th, 2009

An Excellent surgeon!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 3rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 3rd, 2017

3.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lance Altenau is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

  • Dr. Richard Ostrup

    Dr. Richard Ostrup

    Neurological Surgery

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (40)
    38
  • Dr. Sohaib Kureshi

    Dr. Sohaib Kureshi

    Neurological Surgery

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    4.0
    (46)
    19
  • Dr. Donald Blaskiewicz

    Dr. Donald Blaskiewicz

    Neurological Surgery

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    3.9
    (32)
    12