Dr. Langston Holly MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Los Angeles, CA

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 1.1)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    55%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Wait Time 35.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2017
Complicated surgery
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw 3 surgeons before finding Dr. Holly. None of them wanted to operate on me, due to the complicated surgery required, but did not say that, just scared me to death by telling me what they might do. Dr. Holly inspired hope and confidence right away. I had a schwannoma - a benign tumor composed of nerve cells - that had grown inside my 5th lumbar vertebrae and eroded that bone from the inside, leaving me at high risk for a fracture/collapse. Dr. Holly and an associate performed a 10-hour surgery, first posterior then anterior approach, to remove the vertebra and tumor, then re-engineer my spine with a "spacer" to replace the vertebra and rods/screws to stabilize with 2-level fusion L4-S1. I am so thankful to have found Dr. Holly! There are never any guarantees with these complex cases, but Dr. Holly is an excellent surgeon and up to the task. I have also found him to be very caring and compassionate, and his assistant Carrie has always been truly great in the customer service department. I appreciate and have highest respect for them both. I live in Nevada so must travel to UCLA Santa Monica to see Dr. Holly but for me it has been so "worth it."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2017
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was suffering from sciatic pain due to lower back issues. I had several other neurosurgeons tell me that I needed to have major,surgery with at least a,Year recovery and significant risk. Due to my high level,of activity Dr. Holly suggested with attempt a much less invasive outpatient procedure. That was music to my ears. I had the procedure and I am 80% better. Dr Holly assured me that I will continue to improve as my nerves continue to reginerate. I was very happy with my decision!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 16th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went in for spine surgery. Spent 5 minutes with me. After the surgery still in pain. A year later the surgery needs to be redone. Going to see another surgeon who can explain things to me better and spend more time answering my questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Incompetent !!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Aloof and unavailable and poor bedside manner!! Feel much worse after my back surgery and am on more pain meds!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a second rate surgeon and my outcome was horrible!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Holly twice performed very difficult and time consuming surgeries on my daughter, greatly improving the quality of her remaining life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 4th, 2015
Not enough time
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I like Dr. Holly's bedside manner, and from what I understand, he's a top notch surgeon. But after two "consultations" I had to write a review. This might be more a problem with the Spine Center than with him personally, but here goes. It took me 3 months to get a morning appointment with him( he only sees repeat patients on Tuesday). He was running more than an hour late( yes, at 9:30 am!) Then, after a three month wait, then an hour wait, he spent LESS than 5 minutes with me. Did not go over my MRI's, just told me I'm not a surgical candidate. While I'm happy to hear he doesn't believe I need surgery, I would have LOVED to have received a little more info than that. This is what I waited for?? Why bother?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 12th, 2013
Extraordinary Doctor
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't say enough positive things about Dr Holly. I just went through a surgery with him that could have been very difficult. He made it easy as he was totally present and walked me through the issues and possible outcomes. Due to my increasing pain, we decided to go ahead with the removal of a growth on a nerve in my lower back inside the dura. The surgery was totally successful, all my pain gone, and I'm totally healed with no ill effects. I told him I thought he was a miracle worker....but in truth, he's just a highly qualified and competent surgeon in an area of surgery that requires extensive training and careful approach. He was conservative in his recommendations initially, didn't rush me into surgery. But eventually, with an MRI and increasing pain, we decided together to go forward. Thank God for such a surgeon! His bedside manner was great, big smiles, high energy...he just exudes confidence that spills over to the patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2013
Performs unnecessary surgery without patients consent
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Holly has outrightly permanently altered my spine and performed a life altering surgery on me in the most outrageous way, In interest of the titanium and the residents he is in charge of training. The incision he made on my spine was over 10 inches long, and jacket. I was stapled shut with 33 staples. He did not obtain my informed consent. He cut into my body like I was a piece of wood, Disrespecting all the muscles, ligaments and functional and stabilizing Parts of my spine. I sustained a wound infection and my fascia split open. My spine was sticking out of my upper back like dragon scales, And I couldn't hold my head up. This was all because of a trauma to one cervical vertebrae, he cut open my entire neck and my upper back. When I brought all this to his attention numerous times he failed to answer any of my questions or concerns. His bedside manner is terrible. He is hedonistic and chauvinistic and arrogant. He acts afraid of being sued. The first time that I met him was three weeks after the two fusion surgeries he and his residents Performed on me without my consent for 10 hrs. I was hospitalized for a week and lost 20 pounds In that week. I was bleeding and bags of pus and blood but they change daily. He's a very cold person who doesn't have a heart. His interest is in training the resident doctors that he teaches, Not in treating the patient and the best interest of the patient. I had so many questions about why they performed that surgery, why the incision was jacket in so long, why my spine was sticking out of my body, why he fused for bones and why I was in so much pain. Why I couldn't move my shoulder. He never answered any of my questions, and as a matter of fact, he abandoned care for me because I was asking too many questions. He advertises himself as minimally invasive surgeon. Well he did a maximum invasive surgery on me. He should know to never underestimate those who he scars and injures, because Karma will come back to him hard three times more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 9th, 2010
A good doctor when you need one.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was the doctor when I needed a second opinion.He is very knowledgeable and carried himself with a professional manner.He described his finding clearly, suggested multiple optios, and example each optioal rationally. At the end I chose him as the doctor treating me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2008
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Holly is an extremely kind and friendly doctor. He is very patient and has an excellent bedisde manner. He is a very conservative and skilled surgeon, whose patients do very well following surgery. His office staff is attentive and courteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2008
Do not ask this doctor questions
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Very arrogant and has to be totally in charge at all times. Insensitive bed side manner. Appears so lawsuit adverse that he allows that and his insecurities to dominate which is reflective in his need to be in absolute control. His surgical skills are good, but this man needs some sensitivity training.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Langston Holly, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Anthony Wang

10 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Murisiku Raifu

9 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Vikram Udani

9 years experience

5.0 of 5