inactive

Larry T Balentine MD Patient Reviews

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Review

2.8
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (+ 0.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    28%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    11%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    44%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I owe my continued health to Dr Ballantine. He has been a very strong advocate in my behalf. He gave me a medical plan to follow which gave some very positive results. When he sees me in his office it is not just a quicky face time visit, it is the most thorough visit I have found. He never is in a hurry to go on to the next patient until he has covered all bases and we have a workable plan until I see him again. He also tells me what I need to know, not what I want to hear. I feel I owe my life to his expertise!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 24th, 2016
Two separate visits
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rushed through lab results, changed diagnosis within two weeks, confused regarding treatment options, didn't explain properly, wouldn't allow questions while he spoke, rude and insensitive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had he not wasted so much time arguing with me on every answer I was providing to his questions, we would have covered more ground. The entire time I felt he did not believe much of what I was saying as to my history. I have been to 6 rheumatologists in the past 12 years ... never had seen one that was this "reactive." Will go to see him one more time to hear results of the x-rays he ordered. I had multiple x-rays of hips, knees, lumbar spine that are only 2 years old ... why would he want to have more taken? My skeleton and joints have not improved because of the progression of the disease and my age ... I felt "belittled and humiliated" enduring the long consultation. My previous rheumatologist was an "angel" but he has moved too far for me to drive/ride. This one is experienced; but next visit will be my very last one. I am exhausted from the illness and from chasing after relief.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
His practice is falling apart!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balentine is very knowledgeable but lacks in bedside manner. He is very condescending to his staff and seems to be extremely fickle. He let the one good thing going for his practice go when he ran off his office manager recently. He needs to get her back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 5th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best of all the many I have needed help for RA.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2015
See someone in Tacoma, Seattle, or on Bainbridge Island- he's not worth your time
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Abhorrent behavior toward his staff, and resultant high staff turnover. Blames problems with his practice on his staff and berates them in front of patients. Shows a tad bit too much fondness for new, shiny treatments despite their having less time on the market. Canceled or rescheduled appointments with no notice. In my experience, he initially spent a great deal of time when I was diagnosed, then the care he provided and his bedside manner declined immeasurably in quality. He is a very skilled diagnostician and would probably do great work in research, away from people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
My experience has been very good
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a doctor he is AMAZING. He hides nothing, explains everything. Has answered absolutely every question I have asked him. He dictates chart notes right in front of you so if you have any questions he answers you right there and then. He listens to everything I have to say about how I am feeling. I can't say anything negative as far as Dr Balentine goes. The only complaint I would have is that it can take a few tries to get prescriptions refilled. The office staff is always very nice. I have not had any problems scheduling or rescheduling appointments. I am very happy. I have been seeing him for almost two years now after seeing my other Rheumatologist for a little over 5 years. I switched because my old doctor was getting, well, old.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2015
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I do not recommend this provider!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2015
Terrible experience
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been to a lot of doctors and Dr. Balentine was the most rude, disrespective, and condesending that I've ever seen. I don't need a doctor to be my "pal", however, there's no excuse for the horrific way I was treated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 4th, 2015
Would highly recommend this doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr Balentine is the most informative doctor I have ever had, and I have had many. He listened to all of my issues and was more than happy to answer all of the many questions I have. Yes, getting prescriptions filled can be a problem but that falls more on the assistants.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2011
Best Doctor I've ever had
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had alot of different doctors and I LOVE Dr. Balentine, I feel like every visit is a social visit, from my first appointment his office knew me by name, I never have to say who I am and why I'm there, and its obviously something that practice at. I never wait long and I never leave with unanswered questions because I felt rushed, I've had doctors before where I had sat with a notebook full of questions but they were so eager to get out the door I would never ask them. I can tell Dr. Balentine anything and I feel completely comfortable with him as a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No