ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Larry Herron Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Larry Herron?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
8.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 9 Comments

4.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

Excellent surgeon - No bedside manner

I do not know how accurate his diagnosis was - I haven't yet consulted with another surgeon. However I would say he is well educated and knows what he is talking about. if you want no non-sense minimally invasive approaches he is the guy to go to. if you want to be coddled and told the fact that you are 75 pounds overweight doesn't effect your back pain go to some 30 year old fresh out of school who will tell you anything.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

April 8th, 2015

He has his own views on the procedure I came to him to inquire about, sure he is a fine surgeon, just not great or even good bedside manner.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2013

Run don't walk

Run, don't walk from this office. This doc is offensive to say the least and spends no time, says he never got the MRI report and kissed it all off with a phone call that said, "You don't need surgery, you just have some arthritis".

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 15th, 2013

Dr. Herron saved my life

I went to Dr. Herron with such back pain that I could barely function. I had tried PT, shots, acupuncture, chiropractic to mitigate the pain with no success. Dr. Herron came highly recommended and I was willing to do anything he suggested. He and Dr. Phillip Kissel performed surgery, a laminectomy and fusion and at last I found relief. I have total faith in his expertise and followed his after-surgery directions to the 'T' including wearing a brace for six months. He is very strict and does not abide his patient not following his rules, which I felt was reasonable. Today, after 18 months, I am a new person, pain-free, and able to function well. He has followed up my case every step of the way for 18 months. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone who wants an excellent orthopedic surgeon who gets results and does not need to be babied.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 5th, 2012

lower back problem

I went to this Dr and have never been so shocked at the way this he spoke to me in my life. He was very, very nasty. Wouldn't answer or even talk about my lower back which is so bad I can hardly walk. His answer was get a gastric bypass and your back will be healed. I couldn't believe, I'm not the only one he has said this to. I read his reviews. It sounds like he just tells everone the same thing, I know he never looked and my xrays or my MRI. What a Jerk.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2012

Horrible Bedside Manner

I was referred to Dr. Herron after a lumbar MRI showed degeneration and other problems at one level. Dr. Herron would not discuss my back. He told me to have gastric bypass to lose 75 pounds and maybe then my back pain would go away. When I tried to discuss specifics, he said "I'm not here to debate." He makes you strip down to you underwear for the consult. After Herron, I went to on to see two other surgeons, both of whom were very kind, spent time with me discussing the MRI, my pain level, and treatment options. I wound up at Stanford for minimally invasive fusion and was told that my condition is congenital, was not caused by being overweight, will not go away from loss of weight, and will only get worse if I don't have surgery. A friend of mine had the same experience with Herron and later, after consulting with another surgeon, found out he has stage 3 bone cancer. Herron also told him weight was to blame and loss of weight would solve his pain troubles. Good thing he got a second opinion from someone who cares. If he'd listened to Herron, he'd be dead.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 17th, 2012

a waste of time and in much pain

After being diagnosed with Degenerative disc disease for 15 plus years trying everything to avoid surgery I went to Dr Herron to discusss the possibilties. He said surgery was not the answer and sugessted I get an spinal epidermal. I explained that I am 60 yrs old and want to dicuss surgery options. I also mentioned that I have been doing some research on line about the options available. He said 90% of online information is false. He would not go over the MRI report or give me a copy of the report. He was not interested in explainiong an MRI report I had from 6 months prior or xrays I had with me. He was disrespectful to me and my request and gave my all of 10 minutes of his time.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2011

I can function

I would recommend any one to have Dr. Herron for and spinal problem. Following his advice I was able to return to work with a better understanding of why I had injured my back in the first place. I am not an easy patient. But this time I listened. Up until the time of another incident I had no troubles with the surgery.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2011

Excellent spine specialist

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

November 29th, 2016

4.0 Rating

November 24th, 2016

4.0 Rating

November 24th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Larry Herron is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Luis Obispo, CA.

  • Dr. James Lawler

    Orthopedic Surgery

    San Luis Obispo, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (26)
    43
  • Dr. Kenneth Baldwin

    Orthopedic Surgery

    San Luis Obispo, CA 0 mi

    2.3
    (7)
    40
  • Dr. James Carr

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    San Luis Obispo, CA 0.32 mi

    4.0
    (34)
    21