Dr. Larry Horton MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 13 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.3)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    16%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 21.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No longer in practice After 6 mos. stop advertising like you are !!! your retired !!!!Not even a phone call, or letter leaving me know leaving me with out my seizure meds. Hope you need medication and your Dr does the same to you!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Horton to be Professional, however, personal as well. He Found a couple of things wrong that no one else came across. So for that I am very grateful to him and will always be..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 24th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Horton vacillated between two diagnoses, never being definitive. And his explanations were too technical for the average patient, perhaps a way of showing off. Despite being symptom free for over three months, Dr. Horton wanted to see me again in six months. My response was, "Do we have to?" He backed off and said to call if the problem recurs. Yes, I will see Dr. Horton again if the problem recurs (since he's treated the situation already). At that time I'll ask him for an explanation in layman's terms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 14th, 2014
Doctor who takes his time
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor takes time to lisen, will talk to patient and family members at the office or by phone if necessary. He does not care if your 15 minute appointment is over. You can find that he stays in his office late at night trying to catch up on requests and phone calls. He is very intelligent and if he does not know the answer, he will reseach it. He will not push prescriptions just because. He investigates on how other people are doing with drugs just released. He looks at tests ordered and will call you immediately if he finds something negative. If you are looking for a quick fix and something that favors your wants not your medical needs. He is not for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2013
Kind and Caring to a Scared Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Horton saw me after being in the hospital for 3 months, 2 mos of which I was in a coma. I was scared and did not know what happened or what the damage may have been. Dr. Horton spent a considerable amount of time with me, sent me for an EEG, and a member of his staff also performed peripheral neuropathy tests on my arms and legs. At the conclusion of all this testing, Dr. Horton sat down with me and explained the results of all tests, reassured me that all was fine with the EEG, but that I had peripheral neuropathy in both arms and legs. He recommended and implemented physical therapy at my home. He was kind, gentle, understanding, and thorough. He eased my mind so much during this stressful time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 13th, 2013
Bad experience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Awful experience. Dr. Horton wrongly diagnosed me with epilepsy, a serious disorder. In so doing, he relied on a 20 min EEG, done at a local hospital. During the visit when he actually made the diagnosis, he quickly gave me "anti-seizure" drugs which were samples he received from his drug marketing reps. He told me not to drive and take the medication and he would see me back six weeks later. After seeing a true epileptic specialist in Tampa, I was told that there is a protocol for diagnosing epilepsy, which Dr. Horton did not follow. After going through a battery of tests and the true protocol, and spending thousands of dollars, I was told I did not have epilepsy, nor did I fit the profile. Truly disappointed in this doctor and I, personally, question his abilities to make a proper diagnosis. Fortunately, I was smart enough to seek a second opinion from a specialist in epilepsy. In retrospect, Dr. Horton should have referred me to one, before turning my world upside down.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 4th, 2012
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horton didn't seem to care how I felt. He seemed condescending and made my entire experience unpleasant. Also he closes so early it's difficult to get an appointment if you work standard business hours/days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 8th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Unresponsive staff, Doctor/office is often closed during stated business hours with no explanation. Doctor and staff non-responsive to emergencies and when visiting in hospital, he could not blow through quicker. I do not yet have an opinion in the accuracy of his diagnosis. In his defense, he gets favorable reviews from his peers that I trust.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 18th, 2010
Pill Pusher
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Came to Dr. Horton with vertigo problems,,said take pills,,come back later...didn't help with the problem,found anothe Doctor who did help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2010
Long-Time Patient
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read a review saying that he leaves you without your meds for weeks which is certainly untrue, my husband has been seeing Dr. Horton for eight years, my husband takes medication that he requires on a daily basis, and he has NEVER went without a refill, it's a simple as calling the office or going in for an appointment as necissary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
GREAT DOCTOR AND THE BEST OF BEDSIDE MANNER. DR. HORTON IS FOCUSED AND VERY PROFESSSIONAL. HIS ACCURACY IN MAKING MY DIAGNOSIS SAVED MY LIFE. I AM SO VERY THANKFUL OF DR. HORTON'S CARE AND CONCERN.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2010
office visit
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
on my appt days Dr and staff are friendly, professional, and I have been coming for a few years. Dr. addresses my problems and takes good care of me
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Larry Horton, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tarpon Springs, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Irene Nickolakis

32 years experience

2.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Enrique Galura

41 years experience

2.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jairo Libreros-Cupido

35 years experience

4.0 of 5